Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Warm Feeling Inside
Diana Jones has a fine voice and a keen instinct for a good tune.
Her new album, recorded with two sympathetic fellow musicians, Shad
Cobb and Matt Combs, in Peter's Cabin at The Museum Of Appalachia,
delivers eleven songs which reflect the craft she has been quietly
honing over her past four splendid releases. This is honest, stripped-
down...
Published 22 months ago by The Wolf

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hard going
Not immediately accessible but I am very fussy these days. The fact that I have persisted with it shows it must have something but I think it will need several listens to really get into it.
Published 20 months ago by Stephen Liddiard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Warm Feeling Inside, 13 July 2013
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Museum Of Appalachia Recordings (Audio CD)
Diana Jones has a fine voice and a keen instinct for a good tune.
Her new album, recorded with two sympathetic fellow musicians, Shad
Cobb and Matt Combs, in Peter's Cabin at The Museum Of Appalachia,
delivers eleven songs which reflect the craft she has been quietly
honing over her past four splendid releases. This is honest, stripped-
down songwriting of the finest caliber. There's really nothing which
could be either added or taken away which might make it more perfect
than it is. Some might think that having a log fire crackling away in
the hearth is a bit of a hokey idea but for me it adds another layer of
charm and authenticity to the project. It serves to further warm our hearts.

Ms Jones' voice is a distinctive instrument; a tad hollow and dry in tone
but utterly unaffected. With songs such as these there is no room at all
for fussy decoration and she certainly doesn't need any added reverb to
cover up the cracks like so many performers these days! It's a pure and
beautiful thing. She captures the spirit of Appalachia with joyful aplomb.

From the restrained call for forgiveness of opening number 'O Sinner'; the
subtle mixture of humour and pathos in the lyrics of 'Drunkard's Daughter';
through the delightful vocal harmonies filling up the gently bouncing
arrangement of 'Orphan's Home' and the sublime final acapella duet 'The
Other Side', the world she creates is never less than totally believable.

An album to save up for long, dark Winter evenings.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best., 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Museum Of Appalachia Recordings (Audio CD)
Diana Jones is without equal in her field, her voice is a wonder in itself.
All the songs are quite superb, she is one of the very best songwriters around.
I did not think she could top her last album easily, but she has done it with this.
Buy it, enjoy it, and spread the word about this remarkable talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple beauty, 8 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Museum Of Appalachia Recordings (Audio CD)
A simple stripped down collection of hauntingly beautiful music. Raw emotion is evident in every note. All records should be made this honestly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diana sings the genius of the hills, 8 Nov. 2013
By 
James Maroosis (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Museum Of Appalachia Recordings (Audio CD)
This album is has the feel of love laughter and strife. Diana Jones has a wonderful voice that sings the genius of the mountains. There is sanity and sense in the way she sings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sit down and listen, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Museum Of Appalachia Recordings (Audio CD)
Sort of Bob Dylan and a myriad of others of that genre. Absolutely loved this album. Bought after hearing on a Mojo promo. You listen once and put it on repeat. I felt really content listening to this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Museum Of Appalachia Recordings (Audio CD)
CD arrived in good time, singer is new to me but I instantly loved her voice and I have listened to it a lot, a wonderful rich sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diana Jones more should hear her, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Museum Of Appalachia Recordings (Audio CD)
Had only heard 'If I had a gun' up until this cd. Have played this many times since it arrived and continue to be rewarded from listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, 25 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Museum Of Appalachia Recordings (Audio CD)
Diana Jones has created a beautful, traditional sounding album of songs. If you enjoyed her first album you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Appalachia here I come, 24 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Museum Of Appalachia Recordings (Audio CD)
Wonderful atmospheric album, needs late night careful listening. Diana Jones who was new to me plays informally in a mountain shack with 2 other musicians playing acoustic instruments in front of an open fire so we are told.
You can feel the atmosphere the songs are strong and the approach to the Appalachia Music style is great.

One of those wonderful, if you like this try this moments, I did and was delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hard going, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Museum Of Appalachia Recordings (Audio CD)
Not immediately accessible but I am very fussy these days. The fact that I have persisted with it shows it must have something but I think it will need several listens to really get into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Museum Of Appalachia Recordings
Museum Of Appalachia Recordings by Diana Jones (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews