Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling - An excellent read!
The Past Lies Waiting is a thriller with a really good sense of place and atmosphere, and with more than a touch, a hint and a scary threat, of the supernatural.

A true-crime-story writer comes across the sudden and rather suspicious deaths of a couple, Jeff Castle and his wife, who'd moved from England to renovate an old property and live the Tuscan idyll...
Published 11 months ago by Cassi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfair to the reader
This is clearly not finished. It's also unfair to the paying public, to just stop. It needs a bit of sharpening up, as there are some waffling passage and over long descriptions. The sequel will obviously clear up any missing details. In some ways it was a very good story, a lot of variation in the settings etc to keep it interesting, but I wanted some involved action in...
Published 1 month ago by J Corrigan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling - An excellent read!, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Cassi (Donegal, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Past Lies Waiting (Kindle Edition)
The Past Lies Waiting is a thriller with a really good sense of place and atmosphere, and with more than a touch, a hint and a scary threat, of the supernatural.

A true-crime-story writer comes across the sudden and rather suspicious deaths of a couple, Jeff Castle and his wife, who'd moved from England to renovate an old property and live the Tuscan idyll. Jeff kept a journal of their increasingly troubled lives at the house, and, following their deaths, a man is picked up and charged, without much evidence, of murder.

As part of his research the crime-story writer reads Jeff's increasingly worrying journal, and visits the scene: an isolated, run-down, possibly haunted - and definitely chilling - old house, deep in the Tuscan countryside. Gradually the writer's true-crime-story, which was meant to be about Jeff, his wife, and their possible murderer, Vardy, becomes more than that. It becomes personal, about him: his story.

I liked the characterisation of this novel, Jeff Castle and his wife are very believable characters, and its easy to empathise with them. The crime-story writer is a down to earth narrator, and makes some really nice observations. The novel flows easily, the style is generally quick and sharp, making this an easy read but without me ever feeling I was being spoon-fed - and it is definitely hard to put down.

To quote from the true-crime-story writer himself, this is a 'whodunit with the promise of supernatural overtones . . . '
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, Compelling and Downright Chilling...., 14 July 2013
By 
Darren Lysenko (Colchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Past Lies Waiting (Paperback)
This fantastic first novel from David Treanor is an extremely gripping read, filled with twists and turns which keep the reader guessing right up until the very last line - and beyond!

I think that my overwhelming admiration of this book stems from how easily Treanor seems to build up a palpable sense of unease, menace, and - I'll be honest - dread in the first few chapters - casting a tantalising and unsettling shadow across the whole novel. Sometimes a crime thriller, sometimes a ghost story of sorts, the author intertwines these two genres to create a tale which sends one's imagination into overdrive - leaving readers to cling on for dear life as its hard-nosed, crime-writing protagonist, Lee Armstrong, fights to uncover the truth of a series of grisly and tragic events.

Tightly plotted and brilliantly written, it careers from one plot development to another without a word wasted or any superfluous indulgence. Treanor's previous journalistic experience shows clearly in his narrative, telling what often feels like a factual account, at times bringing to my mind Capote's 'In Cold Blood'.

The story powers towards a fantastic twist at the very last, a twist which calls into question everything we have presumed about the events we've shared and witnessed on our journey. One thing is for certain though: I doubt that we've seen the last of Treanor's intrepid true-crime writer, Lee Armstrong - or at the very least, I certainly hope we haven't!

A thoroughly enjoyable read and highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tuscan chill, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Past Lies Waiting (Paperback)
this is a real page turner. although it's set in the deep heat of the tuscan hills passages in this book are so well written that the hairs on the back of your neck stand up and salute the prose that you are reading. the initial plot device of introducing the narrative by way of a 'dead man's diary' echos the traditions set by edgar allen poe, bram stoker and others. but there's nothing old fashioned about this tale as our hero seeks to unravel the truth. if this is his first book, the man has a future, let alone a past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping ghostly thriller, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Past Lies Waiting (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the best thrillers have read in a long time. The story toys with the reader right from the beginning - is it a murder mystery? A ghost story? A crime novel? Actually, I think it's all of those and it's gripping from the first page to the twist at the end. The characters are engaging and well drawn, the descriptions of the Tuscan countryside are evocative and atmospheric and the author has the knack for a quick witted humourous line which lifts the mood. The narrator is not someone we're supposed to 'love' but he feels 'real' and we like him all the more for it. And I really did like this book very much- highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Past Lies Waiting by David Treanor, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Past Lies Waiting (Kindle Edition)
Truly gripping read, couldn't put it down , now l wish l was back at the beginning ! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. J. Allen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Past Lies Waiting (Paperback)
A fascinating combination of ghost story and thriller. The worlds of the known and the unknown bump into each other, creating an atmospheric and entirely believable set of circumstances. The author makes the most of the Tuscan countryside, creating almost an additional character. And a great sting in the tail. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspense to the end, 31 May 2013
This review is from: The Past Lies Waiting (Kindle Edition)
What a good read this was. The story is multi-dimensional, there are some great characters and the suspense builds slowly. I would love to say I had guessed what the final twist would be but I got nowhere near it. This novel stays with you after the final page as your reflect on human relationships, assumptions and judgements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full marks!, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Past Lies Waiting (Kindle Edition)
I thought it was an incredible story and had to keep on reading it. Full of suspense and very well written. Maybe wouldn't want to read it late at night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific first novel from David Treanor, 7 July 2013
This review is from: The Past Lies Waiting (Paperback)
Inspired by Treanor's Hitler-based promo video [...] I want to recommend very highly The Past Lies Waiting. The hero Lee Armstrong is a crime writer and investigator who can walk down a mean street with the best of them, and thriller readers can - I hope - look forward to meeting him again soon.
In his first outing Armstrong investigates the mysterious death of a Brit who is doing up a Tuscan villa as his retirement paradise. Armstrong gets on the case after reading the Brit's diary, which forms chapter two of the novel. This gripping chapter makes clear Treanor's talent for menace - glimpses of which we saw in his travel book Mission Mongolia Mission Mongolia Two Turning Back But in crime fiction Treanor seems to have found his métier; this is a genuinely chilling thriller with convincing characters, many good lines, wonderful descriptions of Italian food, wine, landscapes and people. It is also tightly plotted, with a good twist. And one more thing. Treanor can actually write properly. He has a standard of literacy of which the likes of Dan Brown can only dream. Download The Past Lies Waiting now - it would be an asset on any beach, and on the verandah of any holiday villa - haunted or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Past Lies Waiting (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book.I thought the plot was well constructed and always kept me guessing.
It was written with an easy flowing style which kept my attention all the way through.It had everything, good characterisation ,a good story, the sinister,some humorous touches and a portrayal of the Tuscan setting which brought it all to life.A great read,highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Past Lies Waiting
The Past Lies Waiting by David Treanor
0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews