Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If only the extras could've been the film on their own....
Okay now you may or may not have seen my review for Batman & Robin the old version (VHS). If not then it's basically nothing more than what's been said before.

However I have given this four stars and my blessing to be added to my DVD shelf because the extras are great. Although the extras are basically the same ones from the previous Special Edition versions...
Published on 8 Jun 2007 by D. Climo

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Batman and Robin: Frozen turkey
I know it's a controversial view, and I am probably inviting the opprobrium of the Burton fans upon my head, but I thought Joel Schumacher's first Batman film was a pretty decent affair, managing to blend the darkness and the campness effectively to provide a good solid entertainment. So why did it all go so terribly wrong for this, his second (and perhaps mercifully)...
Published on 15 Feb 2012 by Victor


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Batman and Robin: Frozen turkey, 15 Feb 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Batman & Robin [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I know it's a controversial view, and I am probably inviting the opprobrium of the Burton fans upon my head, but I thought Joel Schumacher's first Batman film was a pretty decent affair, managing to blend the darkness and the campness effectively to provide a good solid entertainment. So why did it all go so terribly wrong for this, his second (and perhaps mercifully) last Batman film? A film so bad that its main star (Clooney) apologised to fans for it.

First of all the script. It's just TOO campy, with too many bad jokes that make it seem more like a `60s Adam West episode rather than a continuation of Burton's dark vision. And this really hurts the film. Where there could have been great characterisation - Freeze has great potential with his devotion to his wife - it is ruined by bad jokes. Where it should have been dark, gothic horror (the creation of Bane and Poison Ivy) we are fobbed off with a third rate cartoon style that would have embarrassed the `60s series. Secondly is the plethora of characters. We now have 3 villains and three heroes to concentrate on, and as such none of them get proper screen time and it comes off as feeling like a mess and certain characters are just not used to potential (Bane is criminally mistreated here, and the whole Batgirl strand seems little more than an excuse to repeat the Michelle Pfeiffer `cute chick in leathers' role. As such no-one really makes an impression, certainly not on the heroes' side. I never thought I would say this, but Arnold Schwarzenegger walks away with the acting awards! Managing to convey some of the dark potential of Freeze. He also seems to be the only one who is having any fun. Uma Thurman as Poison Ivy is pretty dire, though that is more through bad direction than her ability.

In all a terrible effort, especially after the majesty of Burton's originals, and the good solid fun of Schumacher's previous effort. 1 star only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Batman & Robin. Is It Really THAT Bad?, 8 Feb 2012
By 
The 90's Guy (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Batman & Robin [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
That was a question posted by someone else on an Amazon forum I stumbled across once, and I myself provided an answer to that question. Anybody who has seen that forum will have likely seen my answer, but if you haven't I'll provide it for you right here. But first I'm gonna put on a surgeon's mask, grab a scalpel and dissect this 1997 movie release.

Batman and Robin (played by George Clooney and Chris O'Donnell respectively) team up to battle two more villains with sick, twisted, cartoonish plans to take over Gotham City; Mr. Freeze (Arnold Schwarzenegger) who hates any temperature above liquid nitrogen cold, and Poison Ivy (Uma Thurman) a seductive plant life lover who's always in a please-lay-me-down-on-the-bed-and-rip-my-knickers-off kind of mood. Rounding off the cast is Batgirl (Alicia Silverstone) and Alfred (Michael Gough). Having watched the movie from start to finish a few times it's clear to see why so many critics and movie-goers hated this Dark Knight offering so much.

Firstly there's not much of a plot, and what is there is super cheesy. The acting is super melodramatic, even by comic book super hero standards; it has very little in the way of emotional impact (apart from Mr.Freeze's back story); and there's a high level of "campness" in both the character costumes (with some unnecessary butt shots) and the set structures. I'd say the camp levels were about 10,000 times worse than in Batman Forever. I heard that the director, Joel Schumacher, went down that avenue because he wanted to pay tribute to the Batman 60's TV series. That's all good and well, but not everyone grew up in 60's and is familiar with that kind of thing.

George Clooney was a poor choice to play Batman. He just doesn't provide the same emotions to the character that Val Kilmer did in Batman Forever. As Bruce Wayne he just looks gormless, no emotions at all, and you usually have to go on his lines as to how he's feeling at any given time. Meanwhile Chris O'Donnell's Robin/Dick Grayson character is still young and reckless, but with the parents-murdered angle done and dusted in Forever you can't help but wonder what his purpose in this movie is. Is he just there to give Batman someone to talk to? Surely not.

Arnold Schwarzenegger is not so bad in his role as Mr. Freeze. Even though he's a villain you do feel a little bit sorry for him regarding the circumstances of how he became what he is, and why he's doing what he does; and considering that it took SIX HOURS to apply the appropriate make up each day, high respect is due for Mr.Schwarzenegger for showing so much patience with the character. Most of the one-liners in Batman & Robin lack punch, but Freeze arguably has the best ones. The best of the bunch is when he says to Bane "No matter what they tell you, Mr.Bane. It IS the size of your gun that matters."

Poison Ivy -played by Uma Thurman- is initially intriguing. But after a few lines she does start to annoy with her over seductive personality. So much so you'll be desperate to kiss the woman just to shut her up, even if it means you popping your clogs in the process. Worse still there's absolutely no chemistry between Ivy and Freeze when they team up, not like Riddler and Two Face in Forever. Jim Carrey and Tommy Lee Jones were like brothers who really understood one another. Arnie and Thurman are more like strangers on a bus who can't wait to get away from each other.

Then we have poor Alicia Silverstone. Young, attractive, still riding somewhat high on the success of 1995's Clueless...and then she walks into B&R as Alfred's niece, Barbara. She looks good in her Batgirl costume, and the fight scene with Ivy suggests that she might make a good super heroine. Unfortunately Batgirl shows up far too late to make a big positive impact on the movie.

There's so much wrong with Batman & Robin, and yet...the movie's camp nature is still amusing at times...maybe even entertaining, and that brings me back to the question of "Batman & Robin. Is it really THAT bad?" My forum answer was as follows:

"It depends on what you're looking for. If you're looking for a good laugh and don't mind a little (or rather a LOT) of camp, then it's actually a decent movie. But if you're looking for a dark and serious storyline, and tense scenes where you find yourself gripping on tightly to your armchair, then yes it is terrible."

I'm going to leave Batman & Robin with a score of 3-Stars. If you like a bit of a laugh at camp stuff then upgrade the score to 5-Stars. But if you want Oscar winning material then thump it down to 1-Star. Sorry, but that's as low as it will go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok it's bad in every cinematic way, but it is interesting to view, 21 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Batman & Robin [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Batman (Clooney) and Robin (O'Donnell) try to catch the ice man Mr Freeze (Schwarzenegger) whilst trying to trust each other.

The forth Batman film in almost a decade brought about a new Batman in the form of George Clooney (Syriana) and the return of Joel Schumacher for his follow up to the successful Batman Forever. Schumacher's first shot at the Batman was to take away the darkness of Tim Burton's genius and use the story and action in an easy approachable viewing for the entire family and whereas this is appropriate to generate profits and make it more accessible for anyone, it takes away the darkness and imagination of Burton's first two smashes and ultimately leaves the film awkward, unappreciative of realism and lacking a killer thrust, much like his 1997 picture.

Like his previous adaptation of the comic book, Schumacher uses two villains in this picture, Mr Freeze and Poison Ivy. Using more than one villain can work as evident with The Dark Knight and Spider-Man 3. So cast excellent menacing looking Schwarzenegger and manipulative Thurman for two vindictive and demoralizing villains and you have a film, well sort of.

Never have Batman villains ever been so dull and predictable. Flat, boring and ordinary there is nothing to separate them and though obviously poor it is down to a script so woeful it is almost laughable.

The characters are addressing the audience rather than the other protagonists in the scene. They are explaining every single little thing, as if we are dumb enough not to comprehend and so, we are left with some exceptionally awkward dialogue and sickly moments in the context of a film that tries to preach about trust, honour and disease.

The costumes are as comic as the ridiculous script with the depiction of Gotham equally farfetched. What is disappointing also is the fact that solutions to problems seem so easy. The weapons, gadgets and vehicles just seem so obvious and yet so unrealistic. They are as cheesy as Robin's continuous catchphrases.

However despite the bad reviews and criticism this film has received it is not all doom and gloom. Clooney is an interesting Batman, there are some finely choreographed fights, (a few not all) and there is a fine bike racing montage that is to watch out for. The Alfred sub story is also quite touching.

But these are almost forgettable once the ending roles around and you are left with memories of a film that justifies the family viewing tag with some action figures who explain everything for you, some ridiculous costumes and a plot that is simply paper thin

5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "My eyes are still sore from watching that..", 26 Sep 2005
I'm not going to lie to you.. I hate this film. I think it's an insult to the complete Batman mythology, nay, cinema itself.
But whats interesting to note is that without it, we probably would never have gotten "Batman Begins", at least not in its
current form. What this film did was show film makers how NOT to do a Batman film.
If this film hadn't have gotten the critical and commercial hammering that it so rightly deserved, then Hollywood would
most likely have hammered out another Bat-Flick, complete with the lunch boxes, socks, bed covers, etc, etc.
Another angle to look at the film from is that it is actually a great film for kids. You have your ott action sequences,
bright colours, menacing villains (for a 5-9 year old..I am not scared of a walking fridge man), and in that sense,
I'm happy this film exists, because as much as I love 'Begins', its not a film for everyone. So to have various incarnations
of a much loved character on the big screen is wonderful, as it can be enjoyed by so many age groups.
Warners really have provided a great package for this film, complete with commentary, documentares, music video's, etc.
So, I will be happy to own this film with the other 3 entry's in the franchise, and close the door on that era in the Batman Film Saga..just as another opens with 'Batman Begins'..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "Remember, everyone, this is a Cartoon!!", 30 Sep 2011
WARNING!! Review May contain spoilers...

Oh dear. I'm trying to get words onto the screen about precisely how awful this film is, without dirtying it with swear words or offensive slander. Okay, here it goes. Batman & Robin is the last in the Batman series began in 1989 with the Tim Burton directed Batman. This is film is unrecognisable in comparison. After the fun-meets serious angle director Joel Schumacher took on Batman Forever, Batman & Robin takes it too far, making audiences laugh (or cry) at it, not with it.

Three heroes versus Three villains is basically all the plot you get. The heroes are led by Bruce wayne/Batman, with George Clooney replacing Val Kilmer as the third actor to play the role in this series (The other being Michael Keaton). Clooney is good as a seemingly over his pain Wayne, but terrible as the Dark Knight. Chris O'Donell reprises the role of Dick Grayson/Robin, Wayne's partner and ward. O'Donell again does the best with what he has script wise, again playing the character well. Alicia Silverstone completes the trio as Barbara Wilson/Batgirl, who goes through the film annoyingly delivering the awful lines she's been given. The villains are headed by Arnold Schawarzenegger, who plays Victor Fries/Mr Freeze, who makes the most awful one liner's immaginable. Uma Thurman plays Pamela Isley/Poison Ivy just as badly, while the third villain, strongman Bane, played by Jeep Swenson, who has no lines and no purpose other than to growl occasionally and hit things.

Also, for the love of all that is sacred who's decision was it to put Nipples and bums on the Batsuits? It just makes film look as silly as it is. If you want a Bat-Film that is camp, funny and good, look else where and get the 60's Batman film with Adam West and Burt Ward. Still an attrocity to the genre, it's perhaps best summed up by what Joel Schumacher shouted before every scene was shot: "Remember, everyone, this is a Cartoon!!!".

33/100
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well...read the review, 22 Sep 2006
This review is from: Batman & Robin [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I understand completely why this film suffers such severe critiscm. It is entirely plotless and very stupid, and nowhere near true to the Batman comics or Animated Series or even Adam West TV show. Mr. Freeze is way too evil, even though they try to make him sympathetic. He's just too pantomime, with many crass and overly-camp ice puns(way too many to count.) You don't feel sorry to him at all, and his reformation is too abrupt. Poison Ivy is actually quite entertaining though, camp, bizarre, over-the-top and eccentric, but enjoyable. The biggest disappointment of the whole film is definately Bane, and this does NOT do justice to the character. He is really nothing more than Poison Ivy's lackey, who can barely speak, and I see no reason why he's even in it. However, despite all these faults, despite how hard I try to hate this more than anything else, I can't help but enjoy this. It just moves so fast, with many senseless but highly entertaining action sequences. It always makes me laugh when Mr. Freeze freezes someone and when Ivy uses her love-dust, and even though Bane is rubbish in this, I love it when he clobbers or breaks something. I just wish it was someone different like Killer Croc, just not Bane. And as I said before, despite all her faults, I like Poison Ivy. Robin is just annoying though, too influenced by the love-dust, and Batgirl is nothing really special. This is clearly a bad film, and obviously aimed for children, going for the lighter tone as with Batman Forever. Not a good film, complete and utter garbage, but if you can over-look the terrible plot, over-the-top acting and one too many pantomime villains, then I thoroughly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Big names, Big Flop, 8 Jan 2014
Why the studio or the actors took on this movie ! I will never know. Usually with bad movies I would give 2 stars as I can always find something watchable in the movie. However I found this movie to be like as if Disney brought Batman to ice ( tho I'm sure Disney would have done a better job ) what is even more bizzare How this movie got a special edition, blu way and a steelbook! Everything was bad about this movie from the dialogue to the suits . I collect movies so I had to buy this just to complete my Batman collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Worst Film's Ever Made, 7 Aug 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Batman & Robin [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
Batman & Robin (1 Disc DVD).

DVD Info.
Format: PAL, Subtitled
Language: English
Subtitles: English, Turkish, Hungarian, Polish, Icelandic, Arabic, Croatian, Czech, Greek
Region 2
Ratio: 16.9/1.85 : 1
Number of discs: 1
Classification: PG
Studio: Warner Home Video
Running Time: 120 minutes

Positive.
"You've hot to be kidding right"?
1)End credits as the 120 minutes running time of the movie is plain awful.

Negative.
"Blimey were do i start"?
1)Campy awful tripe.
2)Joel Schumacher direction, This set's a new low in awful movie making.
3)Arnold Schwarzenegger as Mr Freeze gives a farcical performance, Your far better than this tripe.
4)George Clooney as Batman miscast & dire.
5)Uma Thumans OTT performance as Poison Ivy, I was tempted to drink poison after watching this crap.
6)Awful fight scenes.
7)Turning the character of Bane into a complete joke.

Cast.
George Clooney as Bruce Wayne/Batman
Chris O'Donnell as Dick Grayson/Robin
Arnold Schwarzenegger as Dr. Victor Fries/Mr. Freeze
Uma Thurman as Dr. Pamela Isley/Poison Ivy
Alicia Silverstone as Barbara Wilson/Batgirl
Michael Gough as Alfred Pennyworth
Pat Hingle as Commissioner James Gordon
John Glover as Dr. Jason Woodrue
Elle Macpherson as Julie Madison
Vivica A. Fox as Ms. B. Haven
Vendela Kirsebom as Nora Fries
Elizabeth Sanders as Gossip Gerty
Robert "Jeep" Swenson as Bane

Trivia.
1)This was Joel Schumachers Second & final Batman film thank god as this put the franchise on hiatus for 8 year's.
2)George Clooney double banked filming Batman & Robin with E.R if only he could've seen the end result he wouldn't have bothered.

What's The Story.
Batman & Robin have to stop the vengeful Mr Freeze from taking over Gotham City by using his new ice weapon, To make matters worse, the venomous Poison Ivy decides to join forces with Freeze, making an almost undefeatable team.

Luckily for the caped crusader & his rebellious ward, they are able to team up with a tough & courageous new partner - Batgirl.

Timelord Thoughts.
I loathe this movie with a passion, Why?

Well because I'm a huge Batman fan & this film makes a complete joke of the franchise turning it into one big campfest.

Ok, so the Batman tv series with Adam West & Burt Ward was campy but it was intentional for that tv series to be made campy & it suited the era it was filmed in the 1960's.

Batman is supposed to be a dark & traumatized character not some camp dude carrying around a Batman credit card which made me cringe at the cinema.

The plot sees both Mr Freeze & Poison Ivy attempting to bring Gotham City to it's knees but i couldn't even explain what the plots about it's that bad.

Arnold Schwarzenegger is awful as Mr Freeze churning out dire one liners wearing polar bear slippers for God's sake, "Your not sending me to da cooler" he says at one point, no mate your just sending us fan's into hell as we watch this nonsense.

George Clooney the third Batman in four films is the worst of the lot showing no charisma or brooding darkness that Michael Keaton did so well in the Tim Burton movie's, Hell even Val Kilmer was better than this in Batman Forever.

Uma Thurman is so OTT in this film as Posion Ivy that the following year she made the Avengers which was another turkey best not mentioned, I would have been ashamed to have accepted payment for turning in such an dire awful performance & the less said about Alicia Silverstone portrayal of Batgirl the better.

The fight scenes are ridiculous lacking any grit or tension that made Tim Burtons movies so great, Here there just being played for laughs.

The script is incoherent & dire lacking any drama or tension & turning the character of Bane into a comedic figure is a big mistake, This is the character that broke Batmans back in the Knightfall saga & now in this film he's turned into a complete & utter joke.

The only competent scene in the whole film is between George Clooney as Bruce Wayne & Michael Gough as Alfred when Bruce realizes Alfred is dying they show a tender moment of reflection, This scene is the only decent one in the movie & really belongs in another film completely.

Joel Schumacher hascompletely ruined the Batman movies for me but blame should also go to the films producer's for allowing Joel Schumacher to direct this movie in such an awful campy tone, Why didn't the producer's step in & evaluate what was being shot & do something before things got out of hand?

If you have a wailing noise throughout this movie it is the sound of the late Bob Kane turning in his grave at what Warner Bros have done to his wonderful character's.

It would be 8 year's before the excellent Christopher Nolan rebooted the Batman franchise & directed 3 outstanding Batman films that delivered the true nature of the Batman character & a superb performance by Christian Bale as Batman/Bruce Wayne.

Don't waste your money buying this tripe it's dire & depressing to watch, if your a Batman fan it's best to avoid if your not a fan it's still best avoided.

Timelord Rating.
1/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simply awful., 2 Mar 2013
By 
T. J. Heywood "Tom Heywood" (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman & Robin [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I'll get to the point here and simply say this isn't a bad Batman film, but a bad film full stop. The script is as clunky as a Soviet era estate car, the plot is rubbish and the acting is dire. Arnie utterly fails as Dr. Freeze, Uma Thurman is completely dull as Poison Ivy and George Clooney is the worst Batman since Adam West. Just avoid this film, even if you are one of those 'completists' that gets mentioned every so often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just plain awful!!, 17 Aug 2008
By 
J. Grant "Jimiblob" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman & Robin [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I am life long Batman fan and this film made me feel physically sick and almost brought on tears of despair. There is no redeeming features in this movie and should be deleted from existence. Thank goodness the new films have shown how to really do Batman. I feel I may have wasted my time even lowering myself to comment on this piece of trash. Just don't ever buy this film. It deserves negative stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman And Robin - Limited Edition Steelbook [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
£10.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews