Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars french charm meets english gardener
Monty Don takes you on a tour of different kinds of french gardens, but it was the people he meets who make this so interesting and charming. There is lots of information for the keen gardener and lovely french scenes and also food as ordinary french people eat it.
well worth the money and best garden dvd I have ever watched.
Published 16 months ago by Mary Larman

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Before I write anything else I want to state I'm a great fan of Monty Don, both his writing and broadcasting. However, this series was a disappointment in comparison to Monty Don's Italian Gardens [DVD] and especially Around The World In 80 Gardens : Complete BBC Series [DVD].

The biggest problem is that it's a confused series. Is it about the gardens of...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. R Robertson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars french charm meets english gardener, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Don's French Gardens [DVD] (DVD)
Monty Don takes you on a tour of different kinds of french gardens, but it was the people he meets who make this so interesting and charming. There is lots of information for the keen gardener and lovely french scenes and also food as ordinary french people eat it.
well worth the money and best garden dvd I have ever watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully done, 4 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Don's French Gardens [DVD] (DVD)
After Monty Don's Italian gardens, I could not wait for the French gardens to be put on DVD. Hope Mister Don will continue this series in other countries as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To be watched over and over, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Don's French Gardens [DVD] (DVD)
I couldn't wait for this Monty Don series to be released on DVD after seeing it on television. There is such a wonderful contrast between the very formal French gardens and the softer, inspired gardens of the artists, especially Monet. Having visited Giverny in 2000 and been astounded by Monet's garden, watching these DVDs has made me want to revisit. It will be watched over and over again. Monty Don is a national treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monty Don's French gardens, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Don's French Gardens [DVD] (DVD)
We loved the TV programme and decided to have a peermanent record of Monty Don's exciting visits. Brilliantly done. Thank you for a great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't go wrong with Monty Don !, 27 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Don's French Gardens [DVD] (DVD)
As usual an excellent , well produced , sensitive, and very interesting garden walk with Monty Don. He makes us all want to improve our gardens, and also to rush off and see for ourselves the gardens that he has shown us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars French Gardens, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Don's French Gardens [DVD] (DVD)
I found the DVD very interesting and the book which went with it also not only for the information about the gardens he visited but for his inclusion of family history .Although that part of it made me wonder how he has managed to work with the perameters of the BBC for so long especially within the very restricted 30 minute time frame he has to operate under these days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Monty Don. French Gardens, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Don's French Gardens [DVD] (DVD)
Hi
What an amazing orator, entertainer and presenter! To think some unknown hairdresser recd an MBE or whatever recently!! Mr Don deserves one for all his contributions to gardens and gardeners in the UK and the world - so does his production team.
Yes, you guessed it - i like the DVD. It isen't just a re copy of sections from 'around the world in 80 gdns' it has its own theme and more in depth details and photography. I have (recently) bought quite a few 'world garden' DVDs from various sources and presenters, NONE can compete with the Monty Don series. It is so relaxing (great music), interesting, informative and natural, with a compelling and notable oratory from the presenter. This is a MUST! enjoy Sayonara
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always a high standard., 12 Aug 2013
This review is from: Monty Don's French Gardens [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed the series very much, with one caveat----wish it had been longer, ie more gardens visited and also more depth with each one. He is very good at this genre and I hope he returns to France again for a further look at some of the treasures here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally love all Monty Don's presentations, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Don's French Gardens [DVD] (DVD)
So very informative. One feels as though you are walking with this wonderful presenter.He has such a lovely manner and imparts his knowledge to the viewer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treat for gardeners, artists and travellers, 2 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Don's French Gardens [DVD] (DVD)
Even if you never get to visit the gardens shown on this DVD, you will feel as if you have been there with the best possible companion. The three episodes are organised interestingly into Gardens of Power, the Potager, and Artists' Gardens. While this last is my favourite, all episodes are engaging, entertaining, informative and memorable. I enjoyed Monty Don's "Italian Gardens", and this is even better; a bit more personal, and evidence of Don's love of France. If there was a 6-star rating, I'd give it to this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monty Don's French Gardens [DVD]
Monty Don's French Gardens [DVD] by Monty Don (DVD - 2013)
£8.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews