Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but annoying problem
Very high quality and works well BUT the non-adjustable balance system means that when using a lightweight camcorder, when you tilt up or down and then let go the handle, the head tries to return. This can be reduced by delicate adjustment of the vertical clamp but of course this means the tilt is much stiffer. Pan is great with no spring back so it's a pity the same...
Published 10 months ago by S.J.Hutchinson

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars jerky start
Dissapointing. I'm thinking of returning it. I cant get a silky smooth start to a pan...it seems to stick very slightly. Not necessarily a design fault....perhaps a one-off Friday afternoon job?
Published 17 months ago by everymanjan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but annoying problem, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto MVH500AH Lightweight Fluid Video Head with Flat Base (Electronics)
Very high quality and works well BUT the non-adjustable balance system means that when using a lightweight camcorder, when you tilt up or down and then let go the handle, the head tries to return. This can be reduced by delicate adjustment of the vertical clamp but of course this means the tilt is much stiffer. Pan is great with no spring back so it's a pity the same can't be said for the tilt.
The other major problem is the cost of additional 500 PLONG camera plates. £65 even on Amazon is disgusting and almost stopped me from buying this head. If you need extra plates, this is not the head for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars jerky start, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dissapointing. I'm thinking of returning it. I cant get a silky smooth start to a pan...it seems to stick very slightly. Not necessarily a design fault....perhaps a one-off Friday afternoon job?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great lightweight video tripod for the money, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto MVH500AH Lightweight Fluid Video Head with Flat Base (Electronics)
Very smooth action for such a lightweight tripod head
Great value for money, I'd recommend this to anyone from amateur to pro'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic head especially for DSLR shooters, 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto MVH500AH Lightweight Fluid Video Head with Flat Base (Electronics)
This head is fantastic due to it's smaller size and weight compared to other models such as the 502. The best feature has to be the new drop in quick release system. This head is definitely more suited to the DSLR shooter, especially if your using a rig with rail rods. The fluid system works very well and when compared to the 501, i'd say it's about half way on the pan and tilt adjustment. I've bought a few these heads for my monopod, tripod and slider as I prefer the drop in quick release system when compared to the slide in system. The locking knob on the right hand side is also a fantastic feature as it no longer hits the bottom of the camera when locking the quick release plate into place. This was definitely an issue when using a DSLR with older heads. Overall a highly recommended product with solid construction and well worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not cheap but worth it, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto MVH500AH Lightweight Fluid Video Head with Flat Base (Electronics)
I have always used monfrotto heads. My previous one 324rc2 had an easy to use grip device rather than a series of butterfly bolts making head adjustment a breeeze. I would still be with that one if it wasnt foor its lack of ability to shoot straight up for taking astrophotography / lunar shots. This one does it perfectly and fels rock solid so you know your 400mm prime lenses is going to be knocked off. I have dropped it one star as i did notice a weird phenominum on my copy. If you adjust the angle slightly, it has a slightly spongy feel to the movement and it tries to creep back to the previous position but as soon as you lock down the buuterfly bolt it stays in place. Would definately recommend this head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy, 25 April 2014
This review is from: Manfrotto MVH500AH Lightweight Fluid Video Head with Flat Base (Electronics)
Love the new "drop in" system instead of the sliding in from the back as I had a lot of problems with my video rigs on previous types of Manfrotto heads.

This was brought primarily for my Konova K5 Slider as its light and small. Very happy indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bit heavy but excellent performance, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto MVH500AH Lightweight Fluid Video Head with Flat Base (Electronics)
I use this for scoping and digiscoping. Very impressed with how smooth it moves. Slightly heavy but then that is a sign of the build quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good head, poor compatibility with older Manfrotto products, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great video head at an affordable price. The top loading design is actually very good. However, the lack of backwards compatibility with other Manfrotto plates is a big problem. This has gone on my slider and does a great job, but is a real pain when I want to change setups quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The head replaces Manfrotto 701HD, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto MVH500AH Lightweight Fluid Video Head with Flat Base (Electronics)
It's a small head like 701HD, which Manfrotto doesn't produce any more, so if you want to buy a light head for slider or a small crane, you can go for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant construction, super smooth and no resistance at the ..., 27 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manfrotto MVH500AH Lightweight Fluid Video Head with Flat Base (Electronics)
Absolutely brilliant construction, super smooth and no resistance at the start of a pan. Bought from Amazon's warehouse deals for cheaper and it said it had slight cosmetic damage at the front and I've examined it extensively and I can't see any at all! RESULT. If you're like me and looking for a replacement video fluid head from something like a rubbish velbon one, aren't fussed about drag adjustment (It's really how good you are behind the camera that makes a smooth pan or tilt) and don't want to break the bank I would highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews