Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional
I decided on this ice cream maker after reading some very good reviews about it but could not really pay 90. It is a great deal at 30. The spare bowl is also really useful. I have put my spare away but would certainly use it if I needed to make a few batches. However, one day I made some sorbet, cleaned out the bowl, put it back in the freezer for 45 minutes and then...
Published 5 months ago by C. Seibert

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good basic
As a basic simple ice cream make this product was good. It does however have one very major design fault. There is no way to remove the bowls from the outer housing container unless you tip it all upside down. If the ice cream is still in the bowl, this becomes and incredibly messy situation. To tip the ice cream out while the bowl is still in the housing container makes...
Published 1 month ago by Jacqui Warren


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 8 Nov 2013
By 
C. Seibert "Clare" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James Ice Cream, Sorbet and Frozen Yoghurt Maker Machine 1.45 Litre With Additional/Spare Freezable Ice Cream Bowl + 128 Page Recipe Book - As voted "Best Buy" Ice Cream Maker By Which Magazine
I decided on this ice cream maker after reading some very good reviews about it but could not really pay 90. It is a great deal at 30. The spare bowl is also really useful. I have put my spare away but would certainly use it if I needed to make a few batches. However, one day I made some sorbet, cleaned out the bowl, put it back in the freezer for 45 minutes and then made ice cream. The bowl had frozen really quickly and made the ice cream easily.

Very easy to use. The ice cream is lovely. You can really experiment using the recipe book as a starting point. The only thing I seemed to struggle with, but then I am quite clumsy, is pouring the mixture into the chute of the lid. To remedy this, I put a small funnel in and poured the mixture directly into the bowl.
Also, remember to use a wooden or plastic utensil to scrape the ice cream from the bowl. A metal one will scratch it!

I have used up loads of fruit that, I am ashamed to say, may have gone into the bin because it had gone squidgy but I cut it all up, made the ice cream mixture and put it in. I have also made a few recipes using half cream and half yogurt to make the recipe a bit more healthy. Using this maker, you certainly notice the other ingredients added into commercial ice cream. This is a very clean, fresh flavour. The recipe book is good because it contains loads of different recipes using lots of ingredients so you can start to work out what will work and what won't. The recipes in the book make enough for 2/3 people unless I am really greedy so if there are more of you I think you could quite easily make double the mixture and it would all fit in the bowl but would probably need longer to work.

Also, the ice cream maker really does need at least 15 - 20 minutes to do it's magic. I watched it for ages thinking it would never be the consistency of ice cream but suddenly it just started to take form. When it is finished, I would say it is the same consistency as Mr Whippy ice cream from an ice cream van. My friend preferred harder ice cream so I put my made ice cream into a plastic tub without the lid and froze for 30 minutes and it had just hardened enough to spoon nicely into bowls.

I also made some ice cream that no one was allowed to eat because one thing I cannot stand is the frost that forms on ice cream or sorbet. I put some in the freezer and left it for two days. It was hard when it came out that I had to leave it to stand for 10 minutes but there were no ice crystals.

The sorbet is a little more difficult to master. The recipe book explains to add the egg whites to the liquid I found that it needed to be the other way around otherwise the egg white floated on the top.

This is a great little product. I know some people have said it is noisy. I can see that. However, I can put it on the worktop and leave the kitchen closing the door and cannot hear it but I have also been in the kitchen whilst it was working and did not by any means find it unbearable. I do not think it is as noisy as a food processor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab value/easy use, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James Ice Cream, Sorbet and Frozen Yoghurt Maker Machine 1.45 Litre With Additional/Spare Freezable Ice Cream Bowl + 128 Page Recipe Book - As voted "Best Buy" Ice Cream Maker By Which Magazine
I bought this to try making my own ice cream. What a fab thing we tried ginger and honey ice cream it was easy to do and fantastic tasting so quick 20 mins to soft servable super fresh ice cream. It makes a bit of a mess but this was our fault we were a over vealous with the ingredients. The bowl which you have to pre freeze needs a standard size freezer draw. As this needs to be frozen with the bowl level. I purchased 2nd bowl so I have one ready at all times.it comes with a basic instruction manual with some recipes so I purchased the Andrew James book too which has ice creams, sorbets and ices of different flavours,swapping suggestions for lower calorie options. Overall good deal and great activity with yummy end product - get one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Produces wonderfully smooth no fuss ice-cream, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James Ice Cream, Sorbet and Frozen Yoghurt Maker Machine 1.45 Litre With Additional/Spare Freezable Ice Cream Bowl + 128 Page Recipe Book - As voted "Best Buy" Ice Cream Maker By Which Magazine
Attracted in particular by the price and the spare bowl. Also found the recipe book helpful though it could be printed on better quality paper. Only real criticism of the machine is that's it's difficult to get the inner bowl out once the ice-cream is made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good basic, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James Ice Cream, Sorbet and Frozen Yoghurt Maker Machine 1.45 Litre With Additional/Spare Freezable Ice Cream Bowl + 128 Page Recipe Book - As voted "Best Buy" Ice Cream Maker By Which Magazine
As a basic simple ice cream make this product was good. It does however have one very major design fault. There is no way to remove the bowls from the outer housing container unless you tip it all upside down. If the ice cream is still in the bowl, this becomes and incredibly messy situation. To tip the ice cream out while the bowl is still in the housing container makes the housing container very messy then as well. Just needs a little hook or handle attached and it would be a fantastic product. Such a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes fantastic ice cream & sorbet, 21 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James Ice Cream, Sorbet and Frozen Yoghurt Maker Machine 1.45 Litre With Additional/Spare Freezable Ice Cream Bowl + 128 Page Recipe Book - As voted "Best Buy" Ice Cream Maker By Which Magazine
Fantastic machine for making brilliant ice cream & sorbet. You know all the ingredients that have gone in to it and experiment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Andrew James Ice Cream Maker, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James Ice Cream, Sorbet and Frozen Yoghurt Maker Machine 1.45 Litre With Additional/Spare Freezable Ice Cream Bowl + 128 Page Recipe Book - As voted "Best Buy" Ice Cream Maker By Which Magazine
Arrived promptly. Nicely made machine and very useful having spare bucket. Only used it once so far to make chocolate ice-cream which was delicious, very smooth, but definitely needed to go into freezer to firm up for a couple of hours. Very easy to use provided you plan ahead to freeze the bucket (but always keeping one bucket in the freezer alleviates this problem) and chill all the ingredients. Little bit fiddly to clean but no real problem. On the whole very pleased and looking forward to trying more recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So simple to use, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James Ice Cream, Sorbet and Frozen Yoghurt Maker Machine 1.45 Litre With Additional/Spare Freezable Ice Cream Bowl + 128 Page Recipe Book - As voted "Best Buy" Ice Cream Maker By Which Magazine
I can't recommend this ice cream maker enough! The quality of the ice cream is head and shoulders above shop-bought products. It rates as the best Christmas present ever. I've waited until I have used it several times with different recepies and each is as good as the last. Lemon meringue is probably the family fave. You know exactly what ingredients have gone in to it and whilst they tend to be very calorific, the richness of the ice cream means that usually one scoop is enough rather than 2 or 3 scoops of normal ice cream. Tip - buy a second freezer bowl so you always have one ready to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James Ice Cream, Sorbet and Frozen Yoghurt Maker Machine 1.45 Litre With Additional/Spare Freezable Ice Cream Bowl + 128 Page Recipe Book - As voted "Best Buy" Ice Cream Maker By Which Magazine
I decided to buy this particular ice cream machine after reading reviews on it and compared to other brands of machine, this one comes out on top for value, ease of use, quality. The spare freezer bowl is brilliant as you can always have one in the freezer ready. Easy to follow instructions and recipes. If you're thinking of buying an ice cream machine I definitely would recommend this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal ice cream machine, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Prof. Margaret Cox (Guildford, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James Ice Cream, Sorbet and Frozen Yoghurt Maker Machine 1.45 Litre With Additional/Spare Freezable Ice Cream Bowl + 128 Page Recipe Book - As voted "Best Buy" Ice Cream Maker By Which Magazine
Arrive punctually and works very well. It is an ideal machine maker and makes excellent ice-cream, not yet tried making Yoghurt with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ice cream maker, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew James Ice Cream, Sorbet and Frozen Yoghurt Maker Machine 1.45 Litre With Additional/Spare Freezable Ice Cream Bowl + 128 Page Recipe Book - As voted "Best Buy" Ice Cream Maker By Which Magazine
The Ice cream maker arrived promptly. Have used it once. It is a very simple product, which produced very nice ice cream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac654a5c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews