Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent design and good value for money
For less than £20 you don't really get a better computer case than this. It's got ample ventilation (with a foam filtered front panel), with the option to attach up to 3 chassis fans. One really good feature is the ventilation holes right where the power supply sits - something you don't see often enough. The individual side panels are a bit flimsy, but this all adds to...
Published 16 months ago by Rudi N.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for Novices
If you have never built a PC (or two) I would NOT recommend this case, if you have then it will be just about worth the money.

Observations:

The standoffs for the motherboard are a disaster waiting to happen, the screws are next to useless, Source alternatives.
The mb tray is made from "engineers cheese". Be careful tightening standoffs...
Published 11 months ago by David


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for Novices, 26 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AvP Defender 100 Mesh Front Mini Tower Case for PC - Black (Accessory)
If you have never built a PC (or two) I would NOT recommend this case, if you have then it will be just about worth the money.

Observations:

The standoffs for the motherboard are a disaster waiting to happen, the screws are next to useless, Source alternatives.
The mb tray is made from "engineers cheese". Be careful tightening standoffs all you will end up with a spinner that you can neither tighten or loosen.
The motherboard is a really tight squeeze, there are only microns of clearance between it and the corner of the drive cage and it takes a lot of careful teasing to get it in place
There is only 1 x 5.25 inch bay. Looks like 2 from some internal shots, but the top one cannot be used due to the front panel switches/ports.
The 3.5 inch bay below these is useless for mounting a hard drive, You have to attach it flat to the front of the case (!?) below the drive cages, and the way it fits wouldn't be obvious to the novice.
The inner protrusion of one the case feet encroached over the edge of the mb I used, interfering with the audio header. The foot had to be modified ever-so-slightly to enable connection.
There are no instructions provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent design and good value for money, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AvP Defender 100 Mesh Front Mini Tower Case for PC - Black (Accessory)
For less than £20 you don't really get a better computer case than this. It's got ample ventilation (with a foam filtered front panel), with the option to attach up to 3 chassis fans. One really good feature is the ventilation holes right where the power supply sits - something you don't see often enough. The individual side panels are a bit flimsy, but this all adds to how light it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAAZZINNNGGGG !!, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AvP Defender 100 Mesh Front Mini Tower Case for PC - Black (Accessory)
For a £20 case, don't expect you're fancy tool-less features, fan controllers and integrated stuff that nobody has ever heard of...

Pro's:
-Compact
-Cheap
-Well built
-Good looking
-Base 2.5" hdd mount

Con's:
-Hardly any cable management room behind the motherboard panel (Can fit a sata cable, maybe some PSU cables at a push)
-USB 2.0 (Not expected anyway on a £20 case)
-Non grippy feet so slips all over your desk or floor when inserting things.... wow...anywaaay...
-No included accessories (comes with mb stand-offs, hdd/drive, mb and psu screws)

Overall:

Very neat, tidy looking case (on the outside), ideal for small desktops and maybe a custom NAS case (if you have huuggee hdd's). All the various screw holes are good and hold the screw well... Shame about the lack of USB 3.0 on the front, but a USB 3.0 hub for the front of your PC could be cheaply obtained (if your mb supports it). The top of the case has venting over the psu for exhausts.

5/5 from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small, compact, Potential!!!, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AvP Defender 100 Mesh Front Mini Tower Case for PC - Black (Accessory)
Ill start by saying, this is a small case! A micro/mini will fit in here no bother. But! You're going to have to be a ninja at cable tidying to rout cables in this! Basically theres NO clearance space at the back to rout any cables!(its 17cm wide) Okay...maybe a few fan cables!
Okay, here are the facts about this case;

Theres space up front for a 1 x 80/120mm fan and room at the back for a 1 x 80/90mm fan...but it doesnt give you any fans.... Plus the airholes front and rear seem to be sparse, this would restrict airflow(l intend to rout out and install a 140mm fan up front! trust me a 140mm fan does fit!) There's a front filter in the mesh up front. The i/o cables are long enough to stretch to the bottom of any board. The front panel is easily removable using the gap at the base to pull open with a snap tug!
Inside theres 2 x 5.1/4 in drives, 1 x 3 1/2 drive. What ever position you put your hdd/sdd in, it WONT be cooled by the front fan, unless you buy an icey box. The psu sits up top, with the fan facing upwards so it sucks air down into its circuits. Oh dear.... This is kind of a big no-no, as its draws air AND DUST in. So I wouldnt advise this, not without a wire-mesh filter(the best kind!) screwed into place first! I suppose you could turn the psu round to face down and draw air from inside and out. But it kind of ruins the nice idea of having a grill ontop. The insides are drab. Bear Grey metal. 3 routing holes(?!?!) and a gap in the m/b tray to access the back of the motherboard to remove and replace any cpu cooler(Unusual on a £16 case!)

Ok, why did I give it as much as 4 stars with so many defects? Well, if you're after a case to transplant the inner workings of your old pc world/currys pc(which, lets face it, most of them are old intel core 2 duo) Then this is the case. With even ONE front 120mm fan(Sharkoon/artic cooling fans are REAL good! Make sure its the silent type! Dont forget the dust filters!!!) you can improve the life span of your pc many folds, just never, ever upgrade to windows 8.....thats only for mobiles and tablets folks! Face it!
Also, I was after a project to house my old(back-up pc)water cooled intel core 2 duo. I bought this with the intention of severely modding the chassis! Its was £16!! I saw this and though...potential!
For folk who want a new basic chassis, its good, for modders its potential. for enthusiasts.... look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars looks smart and good value for money, 12 Feb. 2014
This review is from: AvP Defender 100 Mesh Front Mini Tower Case for PC - Black (Accessory)
I bought this on another website but Amazon is the best place to write reviews:
This is a good case, as long as your expectations are realistic for the low price. I have built and repaired about 10 PCs in my lifetime and this case has the thinnest and weakest metal yet (its main flaw), but it is to be expected for the low price and is quite acceptable as long as you are careful. General construction quality is 'mediocre but acceptable' (there were a few minor cosmetic scratches etc), nothing to serious, and good considering the price.
So, this is probably the best (and certainly best looking) mATX case for the price,... unless you can find the Casecom CM-431 case for a similar price. I have also used that one and it has heavier construction and better build quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For a budget gaming PC case its alright, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AvP Defender 100 Mesh Front Mini Tower Case for PC - Black (Accessory)
Bought this for my new PC I was building (i3 and a 560ti).

With all the fans on max and my PSU drawing out air this case performs well and keep temps under 75 for the GPU and under 65 for the CPU while gaming. This makes it very loud.

However with all 3 fans on low its quiet and barely within acceptable temperatures so that's what I tend to keep it at.

Case looks good and feels fairly solid, and it is not of awful quality as the price would suggest. It didn't include case fan screw which irritated me a bit.

Overall i'm satisfied but I would recommend that for even a budget PC that people look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok - But you get what you pay for, 5 Dec. 2013
By 
Timothy Jones (Northants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AvP Defender 100 Mesh Front Mini Tower Case for PC - Black (Accessory)
Small cheap and cheerful mATX case. I used this to build a basic office PC for my brother and he loves it - looks good, small footprint, not too fancy etc. However he didn't see how difficult it was to get the overly short wiring connected in some sort of tidy way, especially front panel audio which needs to go diagonally across the motherboard to reach the location of most audio headers. Also all front panel wiring is connected directly which means you will neeed to rewire the case if you ever need to remove the panel - not too clever. However at just over £16 it does the trick just don't expect Silverstone, Lian Li, or Corsair build quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the price, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AvP Defender 100 Mesh Front Mini Tower Case for PC - Black (Accessory)
This case has just been delivered after being ordered last night and at first looks after getting it out of its packaging it looks really great for the price, wasn't expecting these features for the price. Outside looks very nice with the black finish and the mesh front looks premium. There are thumb screws for both sides of the cases which is a nice touch and also a cutout for the CPU back plate so you can easily change out the cooler. You can fit a 120mm fan on the side panel to help with airflow and one on front behind the mesh and also the rear. There is a ventilation whole in the top but this is just to help with airflow. Lastly as far as i can see good amount of wholes for cable management. Cant go wrong for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the money, 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AvP Defender 100 Mesh Front Mini Tower Case for PC - Black (Accessory)
This is a great case for the money, I've had almost exclusively cheap cases for my PC's except a couple of expensive ones on my two servers. Its not up to Chenbro standard but it's better than most.

It looks pretty cool and understated once setup, and it was easy to plug in my PSU and mATX board. Like most these mATX cases they a small enough to tuck out of the way, this sits behind my little girl's TV/Monitor and you hardly know its there.

This would suit anyone building a modest system for general use, but obviously not really for a gaming rig or media PC.

I liked it so much so that I looked to buy a second one recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good case, 14 July 2013
By 
Jeremy Ward (Whitfield, Dover) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AvP Defender 100 Mesh Front Mini Tower Case for PC - Black (Accessory)
For £16.99 this isn't a bad case. Small size and nice mesh front panel. Mine came with the back panel pushed in(Dented) so I returned it for a refund. You may be lucky and get one that isn't dented!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews