Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Moving Picture That Moved Me
I'm ashamed to say that in his early days, i never really noticed Devlin. It wasn't until he hooked up with Labrinth on the hit single 'Let it Go' that i decided to plump for it and buy 'Bud, Sweat and Beers'. And i was pleasantly surprised. And ever since his campaign for 'A Moving Picture' began with 'All Along the Watchtower', i have been eagerly anticipating his...
Published 19 months ago by Jan Mulder "Jam"

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special
Nothing that will blow you away. If you really liked his first album, then this is probably more up your street. I do have his first album, but I wasn't a massive fan of it. I do like a few songs on here though that he released as singles, like Watchtower ft Ed Sheeran, Rewind ft Dianne Birch and Off with their heads ft Wretch 32, I like these songs more than all the...
Published 17 months ago by Thoughtshepherd


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Moving Picture That Moved Me, 8 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: A Moving Picture (Audio CD)
I'm ashamed to say that in his early days, i never really noticed Devlin. It wasn't until he hooked up with Labrinth on the hit single 'Let it Go' that i decided to plump for it and buy 'Bud, Sweat and Beers'. And i was pleasantly surprised. And ever since his campaign for 'A Moving Picture' began with 'All Along the Watchtower', i have been eagerly anticipating his return.

SUN GOES DOWN FT. KATY B: The album opens with a strong musically layered anthem, making use of the eerie, yet sophisticated hook from Katy B to the best possible advantage, and the addition of some lyriclly mastered verses to the mix cement this as the album's finest opener. (5/5) REALLY COLD: Produced by Rizzle Kicks' chief producer Ant Whiting, this simple, yet effective number screams a return to Devlin's roots, without trying to bury him beneath a layer of unsatisfying production. It's simple, but does the job required of it. (5/5) ALL ALONG THE WATCHTOWER FT. ED SHEERAN: If you thought the radio version was awesome, then the album version cranks it up just a notch. The full length 4:42 version really lends highly upon the fantastic bass line and sensitivity of Sheeran's voice, linking up the fantastic hook with a powerful instrumental arrangement. (5/5) OFF WITH THEIR HEADS FT. WRETCH 32: Despite not making use of a hook, this clustered arrangement of in and out verses from Devlin and Wretch 32 is one of the album's highlights for me. It's not really friendly for radio play, due it's unstructured nature, but the instrumental heavy arrangement behind two of Britain's finest rappers is nothing to cry about. (5/5) GHOST SHIP: Devlin decides to make a welcome return to his roots on a track which sounds like a painful homage to 'Bud, Sweat and Beers'. Drawing on his lyrical ability to flow it through, the track is able to fall into both modern and classic categories, and for that, should be acclaimed. (5/5) LETTER TO MY BOYS: Apart from 'Rewind', this is perhaps the second most mainstream piece on the record, but that shouldn't detract from the fact that like every other track on the album, Devlin has worked extremely hard and put in alot of effort to ensure it's not just a filler, and has the ability to work as a possible single in the near future. (5/5)

A MOTHER'S SON: Thinking back to the sheer brilliance of 'Let it Go', 'A Mother's Son' is a fitting sequel to the Labrinth-produced masterpiece from 'Bud, Sweat and Beers'. It continues the lyrical genius of it's predecessor, but manages to take the production one step further. (5/5) REWIND FT. DIANE BIRCH: 'Rewind' sticks out like a sore thumb on the album, as it's the most mainstream style track Devlin has ever written and released. However, despite that, the track is so musically pleasing in it's own right that it deserves a place amongst the highest of rap masterpieces, and proves that Devlin can take on any musical challenge and win. (5/5) LOVE CARDS FT. ETTA BOND: It took me a while to get to grips with 'Love Cards', simply because it has a very estranged direction, and doesn't really fall into any other category on the album. But despite that, it still flows very well, and keeps you listening in anticipation to see what Devlin will reveal next. (4/5) A GIFT & A CURSE FT. CHASING GRACE: Devlin enlists the help of some rising superstars for his next effort, and while he's managed to flush the mainstream influence out of his system, something resembling 'chart hit' springs to mind. It's dark, gloomy, yet somehow powerfully moving. (5/5) THE CAST: You know those pieces of music that you hear at the start of films, and think, 'what is that? that's brilliant!', well this is what this is destined to be. The use of eerie sound effects, combined with a layered and darkened vocal makes for the ideal opener for the next horror slasher to grace our screens. (5/5) THE GARDEN: Devlin closes the album with what he does best - freestyling. Pick a classic beat, add some bars overtop, mix it a little bit at the end, and there you have the perfect swansong for another classic British album. Devlin keeps it flowing from the start to the end, and doesn't dissapoint. (5/5)

So there you have it. 'A Moving Picture' is a fine example of what a decent modern British album should be. No doubt, 'A Moving Picture' will go down in history as one of Devlin's finest works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but Bud, Sweat & Beers is better., 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Moving Picture (Audio CD)
Its a great album, however in my opinion Bud, Sweat & Beers is better.
A Moving Picture still has some songs that are really good and catchy songs though.
Its well worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 3 May 2013
This review is from: A Moving Picture (Audio CD)
Some very good songs on this album. A must buy for devlin fans. Only bad thing was that although the music and style is unique throughout his style is constant from first to last song. Could have done with changing it up a bit but an excellent album still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars devils in my head, 12 Jun 2014
By 
TREVOR SIMMONS "GNASHER" (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Moving Picture (Audio CD)
Great album love devlins aggressive tone don't hesitate this is one of the best British rap stars out there and probably will be for years to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Goooood., 22 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Moving Picture (Audio CD)
Good rapper, good album, good collabs, overall a GREAT lp. dont hesitate to buy if you like rappers like Professor Green, Katy B & Wretch 32. Would recommend to a friend... twice :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Moving Picture (Audio CD)
Nothing that will blow you away. If you really liked his first album, then this is probably more up your street. I do have his first album, but I wasn't a massive fan of it. I do like a few songs on here though that he released as singles, like Watchtower ft Ed Sheeran, Rewind ft Dianne Birch and Off with their heads ft Wretch 32, I like these songs more than all the others on the album. Not knocking his other songs, but I don't think they're as good as the featuring songs. I would still recommend this album though, worth a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Devlin has done it again, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Moving Picture (Audio CD)
One of the best rappers I have listened to. This album has some great tracks and unlike other rappers, Devlin is sticking to the grimey rap that he knows best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Moving Picture by Devlin, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Moving Picture (Audio CD)
I bought this album for my Daughter, who absolutely loves it, and Devlin we had to wait awhile for release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars devlin's 2nd album, 5 Mar 2013
This review is from: A Moving Picture (Audio CD)
I was a big fan of Devlin's first album and hoped this would be as good. I wasn't disappointed. This is a truely awesome album with great beats and amazing lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars niceee, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Moving Picture (Audio CD)
devlins a great artist so unique well worth the buy and amazons very good for there prices on cds as say hmv this cd would be something like 15
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews