Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars31
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2013
I really enjoyed this book, it is really well written and paced, a page turner for sure.
Betsy the main character has not only warmth and charm but a real strength of mind too, you can really identify with her, which pulls you right into the story and into the house itself. The house is NOT a place you would want to be in, ever!
A genuinely terrifying ghost story.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
I enjoyed Charlie Revelle-Smith's first novel 1888. The idea of taking actual happenings from the Victorian period and weaving fiction around them is not new but this author managed to make a familiar story fresh again. In this book, however, I think he has more firmly hit his stride. The annoying typos which spoiled 1888 have been ironed out here, and this novel is more fully rounded and a satisfying read. His characters are not just stereotypes but are real people and engage our attention. The house in Berkeley Square really exists and this clever weaving of fact and fiction is very enjoyable. I shall certainly buy the next book in the series.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
I bought this story for obvious reasons - to be scared. However, I found it to be much more than just a creepy tale. It gives a wonderful insight into life below and above stairs in Victorian London. It has drama, humour, and tenderness alongside the obvious ghost story content. Recommended to all who want an entertaining read rather that just a depressing, shock/horror experience.
Well done Charlie, I`m now about to buy another one !
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When Betsy is made redundant by her former Employer, she finds work at 50 Berkeley Square a well known haunted house.

She is taken on as a Parlour Maid by her new Employers. Readers will be surprised on finding out that one of her Employers is a character from another of Charlie Revelle-Smith's books.

Her Employer is a cruel cold hearted woman who takes pleasure in humiliating her Servants. She has 2 children the obnoxious Hugh and the younger Percy who had contracted Polio a short while ago and now wears a Caliper. Percy is never allowed out and is not even allowed to have any books. Betsy takes pity on him and together they make a series of stories up. Percy gets to be very fond of Betsy and tells her he has seen a Man dressed in black on the stairs.

Betsy shares her attic bedroom with Molly the other maid who never stops telling her about ghosts as her Mother is a Medium. It is not very long before the ghosts start to appear. Archie the Butler has worked in the house for 50 years and has seen the faceless man and the wailing woman.

The culmination of events at Berkeley Square comes to a head in the last few chapters and I have to say that it chilled me to the bone.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
A truly great read that keeps you enthralled and wanting to keep turning the pages right from the start. Goes at a good steady pace all the way through and is hard to put down. This book is a real credit to the author.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
Excellent book. Could not put it down. I heard about Berkeley square when I was a child and the ghost stories. A great read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed this. Characters and the role they played were believable. Very dark story. Page turner. The story explores the evil that pervades in both the living and the dead residents which heightens the tension. Social commentary also adds to the sense of hopelessness which again adds to the chill factor of this excellent ghost story.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
What a fabulous read. I loved everything about this book from the era it was set in down to the class difference between master and servant. A gripping story which kept attention until the very last word. A definite must read.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
I was interested in reading this book after seeing 50 Berkeley Square on a ghost walk and listening to the spine tingling ghostly tales. But what an utter disappointment this was. It felt as if the writing was aimed at younger readers - short paragraphs, very little description, not at all frightening and totally lacking in atmosphere. A shame, as there was a lot of good material there to work on. Gave up a quarter of the way through due to lack of interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
this book gives alook at the upstairs downstairs life style although i am not sure servants were treated this well or had the power these servants enjoy.it is set in a different era and it does convey this very well. the characters are interesting likeable.not very scary. it has its moments,but not the stuff of nightmares,still worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.