Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Ghost Story
I really enjoyed this book, it is really well written and paced, a page turner for sure.
Betsy the main character has not only warmth and charm but a real strength of mind too, you can really identify with her, which pulls you right into the story and into the house itself. The house is NOT a place you would want to be in, ever!
A genuinely terrifying ghost...
Published 20 months ago by Mr. D. Lloyd

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars No atmosphere
I was interested in reading this book after seeing 50 Berkeley Square on a ghost walk and listening to the spine tingling ghostly tales. But what an utter disappointment this was. It felt as if the writing was aimed at younger readers - short paragraphs, very little description, not at all frightening and totally lacking in atmosphere. A shame, as there was a lot of...
Published 11 months ago by Rossi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Ghost Story, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Monster of Berkeley Square: A Ghost Story (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, it is really well written and paced, a page turner for sure.
Betsy the main character has not only warmth and charm but a real strength of mind too, you can really identify with her, which pulls you right into the story and into the house itself. The house is NOT a place you would want to be in, ever!
A genuinely terrifying ghost story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard To Put Down, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Monster of Berkeley Square: A Ghost Story (Kindle Edition)
A truly great read that keeps you enthralled and wanting to keep turning the pages right from the start. Goes at a good steady pace all the way through and is hard to put down. This book is a real credit to the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old ghost stories made new, 6 July 2013
By 
Mrs. C. A. Mikolj "Carol M" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Monster of Berkeley Square: A Ghost Story (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed Charlie Revelle-Smith's first novel 1888. The idea of taking actual happenings from the Victorian period and weaving fiction around them is not new but this author managed to make a familiar story fresh again. In this book, however, I think he has more firmly hit his stride. The annoying typos which spoiled 1888 have been ironed out here, and this novel is more fully rounded and a satisfying read. His characters are not just stereotypes but are real people and engage our attention. The house in Berkeley Square really exists and this clever weaving of fact and fiction is very enjoyable. I shall certainly buy the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative ghost story. Very chilling read., 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Monster of Berkeley Square: A Ghost Story (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed this. Characters and the role they played were believable. Very dark story. Page turner. The story explores the evil that pervades in both the living and the dead residents which heightens the tension. Social commentary also adds to the sense of hopelessness which again adds to the chill factor of this excellent ghost story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Monster of Berkeley Square: A Ghost Story (Kindle Edition)
What a fabulous read. I loved everything about this book from the era it was set in down to the class difference between master and servant. A gripping story which kept attention until the very last word. A definite must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Monster of Berkeley Square: A Ghost Story (Kindle Edition)
I bought this story for obvious reasons - to be scared. However, I found it to be much more than just a creepy tale. It gives a wonderful insight into life below and above stairs in Victorian London. It has drama, humour, and tenderness alongside the obvious ghost story content. Recommended to all who want an entertaining read rather that just a depressing, shock/horror experience.
Well done Charlie, I`m now about to buy another one !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good traditional ghost story with some slight original twists, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Monster of Berkeley Square: A Ghost Story (Kindle Edition)
Well worth a read. Servants characters were well delineated and the nature and origin of the "monster" was a most interesting concept.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spooky!, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Monster of Berkeley Square: A Ghost Story (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book. Could not put it down. I heard about Berkeley square when I was a child and the ghost stories. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The monster of Berkeley square, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Monster of Berkeley Square: A Ghost Story (Kindle Edition)
Another really good read by this author. I love a good ghost story and this did not disappoint. Good characters who you actually cared about and a very scary ghost !!! I look forward to more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Monster of Berkeley Square: A Ghost Story (Kindle Edition)
This book is a must for ghost story fans, I couldn't put it down. You really feel part of Victorian life & the characters are believable. Very atmospheric and really made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up! Loved it, can't wait for the next ghost story from Charlie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Monster of Berkeley Square: A Ghost Story
£2.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews