Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album
This is a very capable successor to Chateau Revenge - in fact, I feel the songs are consistently stronger which makes for a more cohesive outing. There's a 70's vibe throughout - a bit of Neil Young here, a splash of Fleetwood Mac there. Vocally Daniel Tashian sounds a lot like Rufus Wainwright. The melodies are strong and the lyrics paint some vivid pictures. I've...
Published 8 months ago by Popper

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on Chateau Revenge
Chateau Revenge is a masterpiece. This is, quite simply, in my opinion, a slightly insipid, pallid affair. It's a barren departure. As one broadsheet review put it "goes down nicely without touching the sides". Sure, it's pleasant and entirely unoffensive but I read Tashian hasn't even visited Alaska. It shows. I will avoid the cigar cliché, but sadly, it's not up...
Published 9 months ago by Matt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 30 July 2013
This review is from: Alaska (Audio CD)
This is a very capable successor to Chateau Revenge - in fact, I feel the songs are consistently stronger which makes for a more cohesive outing. There's a 70's vibe throughout - a bit of Neil Young here, a splash of Fleetwood Mac there. Vocally Daniel Tashian sounds a lot like Rufus Wainwright. The melodies are strong and the lyrics paint some vivid pictures. I've found this to be a great album to put on, chill out to and hit replay. One of the best albums of the year - definitely worth getting if you crave 70's inspired singer-songwriter fare of high quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven!, 8 Aug 2013
By 
Miss K. Price (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alaska (Audio CD)
I AM IN LOVE!

There are no words to describe how good The Silver Seas are!

If I ever fall in love again it will only be with someone, who loves this as much as I do!

They just get better and better!

No album has made, me tingle as much!

It is Absolute Heaven!

(Gone to listen AGAIN!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Stunning Piece of Work, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alaska (Audio CD)
Following on from 'Chateau Revenge!', the follow up, 'Alaska' more then delivers on all fronts. It's maybe not quite as 'Pop' as their previous outing, the quailty of the songwriting on display here is just so high, it's hard to understand why The Silver Seas aren't more of a household name. You have to buy this album and go see them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy on the ears, 14 July 2013
By 
C. Latham "petsound" (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alaska (Audio CD)
This is a review of this album - not in comparison to previous works or other bands. Complaining about how this rates against Chateau Revenge is, I guess, inevitable but unhelpful. The album has some geat songs and some ordinary ones. It is not one to be studied by serious musos and analysed to death; it's one to enjoy whilst relaxing, topping up your partner's wine glass and hoping they are getting horny! Easy on the ears. Enjoy yourselves; like the songs you like and don't listen to the ones you don't! Saw the band last weekend live in Hebden Bridge and they were great - really energetic, warm and humble - and they really appreciate their fan base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 21 Sep 2013
By 
Ag Man (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alaska (Audio CD)
Thanks for another great record, Daniel. Sad that your quality control isn't quite 100%. Why spoil great albums by including one duff song? (Karaoke Song here, Candy on Chateau Revenge). Anyway, nice job, and Roxy is an absolute gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Silver Seas best album, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alaska (Audio CD)
Their best album yet! Every track is fantastic, I definitely recommend it to anyone who is a Josh Rouse fan too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening, 22 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alaska (Audio CD)
Good background music. Quite melodic. Would consider buying other material . Based original purchase on a positive report in Maill on Sunday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good as Danny Baker says, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alaska (Audio CD)
If you’ve liked their previous outings you’ll love this. Have played their stuff to loads of people and everyone wants to know more about The Silver Seas. Should they be household names .. hope not, just want them to be my wee secret. Great catchy hooks …. ok you can hear all the influences but so what they’re good influences
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 7 Aug 2013
By 
I. T. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alaska (Audio CD)
The follow-up album to Chateau Revenge is equally good. A great listen if you like soft rock in the style of, say, the Eagles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on Chateau Revenge, 13 July 2013
This review is from: Alaska (Audio CD)
Chateau Revenge is a masterpiece. This is, quite simply, in my opinion, a slightly insipid, pallid affair. It's a barren departure. As one broadsheet review put it "goes down nicely without touching the sides". Sure, it's pleasant and entirely unoffensive but I read Tashian hasn't even visited Alaska. It shows. I will avoid the cigar cliché, but sadly, it's not up to the sublime standard set with the seas' previous outings.

Sorry, I wanted to love this and I don't. It drifts by without lingering. If you're new to Silver Seas, start with Chateau Red and Blue and work your way back. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa00c963c)

This product

Alaska
Alaska by The Silver Seas (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews