Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALBUM OF THE YEAR...ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT !
Derek Trucks is almost certainly the greatest living slide guitarist, after producing some amazingly good albums with his own band he two years ago brought his wife Susan Tedeschi in and oh boy this is by far the best soul blues band there is. The first album Revelator won several awards and rave reviews. Following this with 2012's live double, again an incredible set...
Published 13 months ago by pete clack

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less than the sum of its parts
As much as I love Derek Trucks and Susan Tedeschi and have listened to both for years, I find this album a bit of a let-down. This is a Susan Tedeschi Album with Derek Trucks playing on it. They are really just re-working the same formulas that they used before and IMHO it could have been a lot more. Would have been great to have some vocals other than Susan's. What about...
Published 12 months ago by J. Stewart


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 23 Oct 2013
By 
D. E. Landick - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
If the first album was great then this is magnificent; from the first to the last track. Real music played by brilliant musicians, can't stop playing it! DL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Muscular in Mind,Body and Soul., 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
The musicianship is first rate with "dirty" guitar to the fore on some tunes.The brass is quite muted to the extent that they are slightly under- used.Susan Tedeschi exposes her inner Bonnie Raitt voice only grittier.With two male guitarists in this big band it is a shame she doesn`t get to rock-out in her own style confined to just two guitar outings.Riffs a-plenty and strong melodies make this a must-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made up mind, 29 Sep 2013
By 
Stuart (MILLOM, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
It takes a few listening's, but it is there, a big band sound and very good vocals I have made up my mind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tedeschi Trucks band coming to the Albert Hall, 28 Sep 2013
By 
John Sutherland Welsh "JSW" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
Real top quality CD from this great band. Looking forward to seeing them at the end of October in London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as Revelator!, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Sioux (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
Very speedy delivery....
Brilliant Album....
I wasn't sure at first, takes a few listens to get into, but now I love it....
Am hoping the perform some of the songs at RAH in October :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classy, accessible and dripping with talent, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I came to this album after seeing the largely excellent reviews - and came without the baggage or much knowledge of what these artists have done before.
I had worried that it would that it would be too samey (As some blues/country albums tend to be for casual listeners) but this album has enough variety and sheer quality to overcome narrow genre definitions of blues & americana - throwing in handfuls of funk and groove to keep things interesting.

Tedeschi's voice is captivating and she manages to alter her tone very well to fit the mood of the different songs. Truck's guitars are simply sublime and, again going against type, he playing serves the song rather than the song acting as a platform to show off his chops. The rest of the band are rock solid, playing with subtlety and vigour with equal panache.

Without picking through the song list too much I'd highlight "Made Up Mind", "Do I Look Worried", "All That I Need" and "The Storm" as the albums highlights.
Only one, the somewhat repetitive Sweet and Low has waned in interest after a few listenings.

All in all, this is real music played by musicians that care about their art and it's such a joy to discover them that I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Three star album. From five star talent. I'm docking a star for the wastefulness, 4 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
At the risk of instigating divorce proceedings ...

Derek Trucks is phenomenally talented guitarist.
Susan Tedeschi is also great - guitar and vocals.
Prior to the formation of TTB, they each had good solo careers.
Mike Mattison provided the vocals for Derek Trucks' band.

Sadly I have to report that TTB, and specifically this album, is less than the sum of the talents of the individuals involved.
Don't believe me ? OK ... go check out DT's 'Already Free' and 'Songlines'. Listen to the subtle and fluid guitar playing and the soulful vocals. and to Susan T's 'Best of ... volume 1'. there is talent on display.

Sooo... this album is still quite good in parts, perhaps I should give it three stars, or three and a half. But if someone makes you a three star product from five star ingredients, is it really right to give them the whole three stars ?

The main issue is that Susan Tedeschi's vocals, and also the brass section, are over prominent in the mix of what should be a truly truly great blues guitar sound. There is a dearth of brilliant sensual guitar play.

I seriously hope that for the next abum they get Mike Mattison doing more of the singing (some tracks with his /male vocals on lead, some with Susan T/female vocals); they do longer tracks, giving Derek time to explore the melody lines on his guitar - and get Susan T playing guitar - I could envisage the two guitar lines working really well together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
TTB is a recent discovery of mine and I am so glad that I have discovered them. They are brilliant, alone and together. Trucks' guitar playing is simply out of this world. I have never experienced something so unassuming, graceful, faultless and brilliant at the same time. I loved every single piece. Well done!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
Great modern blues album, well worth a listen. Highly recommended.
Takes a bit of time to be delivered by US sellers, worth the wait, for the money saved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great follow up to Revelator, 6 May 2014
By 
Music Man (Worcs, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
If you liked Revelator you will like this. A great follow up with more excellent singing from Susan Tedeschi & great guitar from Derek Trucks. The storm is the stand out track for me. A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Made Up Mind
Made Up Mind by Tedeschi Trucks Band (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews