Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars requires clearer instructions with software!
I may have missed it but the software is a boot disk not software to install once your computer is running!
A small piece of paper in the box explaining this would have averted the confusion. so when you try to install the software 'normally' the disk doesn't appear to work. hope this helps others.
Published 5 months ago by Mr. J. Bland

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Use Macrium FREE edition with this kit
This hardware comes with lacking software, my advice is goto MACRIUM download their FREE cloning software and you are away.The process is very straight forward.Please find this review helpful in order to bump it up for the interest of other buyers.
Published 3 months ago by Mad Bear Limited


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Use Macrium FREE edition with this kit, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This hardware comes with lacking software, my advice is goto MACRIUM download their FREE cloning software and you are away.The process is very straight forward.Please find this review helpful in order to bump it up for the interest of other buyers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Bad Buy, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this to migrate my OS to my new Crucial SSD, it is recommended by Crucial and is used by them in their video demonstrations. If you want to chance your arm and have my experience which was one full of frustration, anger and so much time wasted, well buy it and take your chance. You follow the instructions and everything looks like it is going to transfer over nice and easy, where suddenly you are being told migration was not a success as errors found on HDD. So you spend your time looking for these errors and never finding them as they just do not exist, so you try the whole process again and it just never happens, and when I finally thought I worked it all out and it told me transfer was complete, it was a lie as my PC would not start up. I tried this software in two laptops and it did not work on either. I then used Paragon easy migrate and it worked first time with no errors or fuss and in little time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clone Wars, 5 Dec 2013
By 
David Walsh (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A relatively easy and cheap way to transfer the contents of a harddrive to a SSD, It consists of a USB3 to eSATA adapter, with a ridiculously short cable between the two plugs. This alone is cheaper than other such devices available on Amazon.co.uk. Additionally it encloses a cut down version of AcronisTrue Image which automates the cloning of your old disk's contents to the new SSD. There is a good video on the Crucial website, which explains the process, but absolutely no instructions with the software in the box. I have never found the Acronis software to be state of the art and this disk is no exception. The cloning failed first time for me and I was presented with various obscure acronym-containing choices during the process, which I had to look up on my laptop. The second time it ran properly and I still don't know what went wrong first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for the novice but it works if you know what to do, 31 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used it to upgrade my Acer Aspire V5-122p with a Crucial SSD. All you get in the box is a cable and a CD - but no instructions. The supplied acronis software on the CD works well enough once you know how to use it. You also, obviously, need an external DVD/CD drive.

After a few missteps, the following solved it for me.
- Put the CD into an external drive and connect to the USB 2 port. Attach the SSD into the supplied cable and connect to the USB3 port.
- Boot the laptop, holding F2, and change UEFI to LEGACY under the boot menu so it disables the windows boot manager
- Reboot and reorder the bios boot sequence so the USB-DVD drive comes before the WBM and HDD
- Reboot from the acronis CD and follow the software steps but note that if you are downsizing (probably the case from a 500Gb HDD) chose custom not auto setup and then select proportional resize.
- Reboot again to restore UEFI and WBM priority boot sequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars requires clearer instructions with software!, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. J. Bland (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I may have missed it but the software is a boot disk not software to install once your computer is running!
A small piece of paper in the box explaining this would have averted the confusion. so when you try to install the software 'normally' the disk doesn't appear to work. hope this helps others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but needs some intructions in the box, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The box contains a CD and the USB-to-SATA cable, and nothing else. Put the CD in your drive and it appears blank. This is because, as others have mentioned, it is a bootable CD only. But you wouldnt know this since it is only mentioned in the instructions available from the Crucial website. This is a big fail on Crucial's part. The instructions only amount to a page or so - and are crucial (no pun intended) in getting this package to work.

Fortunately I had some similar software that achieved the same thing (clone my boot drive). Once cloned, I swapped the drives, and was up and running immediately.

One thing to bear in mind - cloning a drive via a USB2 port is slow - something to be left running for an hour or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it say on the tin, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Needed to transfer data from my hard drive on my Mac Book Pro on to my new SSD. I did not use the software that came with instead using carbon copy to transfer all my data. It worked well no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't Work, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didnt work when I tried the software. Firstly there is no instructions but it can be found online, the software would not complete the clone instead it reboots the laptop. Waste of money better off buying a usb to sata connector and using third party software I used easeus todo backup software to clone existing hard drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BUY THIS IF YOU WANT TO FIT AN SSD INTO YOUR MAC, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crucial CTDESKINSTALLAC.PK01 Easy Desktop Install Kit for 2.5 inch SSD (Camera)
Although this product is described as a Desktop Installer for a 2.5" SSD , is DOES NOT WORK with a Mac Pro. Amazon, and Crucial should be more specific in their description of this product. A waste of time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but you have to go on line for clear ..., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent but you have to go on line for clear instructions and video on installation. Instructions are a little different on video but easy to sort out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews