Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Argerich and friends live from the Lugano Festival 2012, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Martha Argerich is well known for supporting her younger musician friends at her annual festival in Lugano. 2012 was another excellent year and the mesmeric playing of Argerich and her fellow musicians is again from the top drawer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Argerich's Lugano recordings are legendary and this one is another outstanding collection by the pianist and her friends. Can just be listened to over Andover again. Outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a marvelous set of performances, 26 Sep 2013
By 
Richard J. Pountain "dickp" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martha Argerich and Friends Live from the Lugano Festival 2012 (MP3 Download)
This record is pure pleasure, set of marvelous performances of fine and in some cases little known pieces. The multi-hand pieces like the Smetana are particularly interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 30 July 2013
By 
Mr. Robert D. Roy (Edinburgh, Scotland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My main reason for buying this inexpensive set was the amazing performance of the Prokofiev violin sonata that opens disc 3. IMHO, of the greatest performances of ANYTHING I've ever heard. However, last night I took the set round to a friend and we ended up listening to the whole lot!

The performances are superb and the presence of the audience gives an added frisson that I very much doubt could be replicated in a studio. (Applause is included which, for this listener, was no problem since I often wanted to join in!)
The recorded sound is superb with clarity being to the fore.

Highlights? Well, all of it really. As mentioned by another reviewer, the Mozart concerto is wonderful and the Smetana 'Sonata' (4 pianos, 8 hands!) is a glorious piece of fun.

This set has made me keen to check out Argerich's other sets.

Roll on payday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Martha Argerich and Friends, 7 July 2013
By 
Dr. R. Pugh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have long been a fan, but hearing her live is something I can only remember twice - once in a Lucerne festival after her recovery from cancer. This set of records is almost a souvenir of that experience, but the variety of music and the freshness of her younger friends all make for happy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful production, the soloists are a wonderful collection of virtuosi [ including several from the Maiski family and Argerich's violist daughter]. Argerich's own performance is stupendous, especially her rendition of the Mozart concerto No 25 in C. A splendid collection and well worth having..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lugano recital, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A delightful album that includes little known chamber music played with verve. I shall probably buy others in the annual series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews