Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just another part of my collection
I have a large collection of Edgar Allan Poe publications - well... not large, but several hardback books. I have been a fan of the master since I was a demented teenager back in the 1960s! Anyway, I decided to buy this Kindle version because I noticed some titles that I did not have copies of, so I am completely satisfied - and in addition there is a list of films, TV...
Published 10 months ago by Poetry Lover

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars edgar allan poe complete tales and poems
Couldn't get going with it - perhaps I will come back to it at a later date with more patience!
Published 3 months ago by Mr. P. Stevenson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just another part of my collection, 24 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems (Over 100 Works, including The Raven, The Tell-Tale Heart, The Pit and the Pendulum, with Exclusive Bonus Features) (Kindle Edition)
I have a large collection of Edgar Allan Poe publications - well... not large, but several hardback books. I have been a fan of the master since I was a demented teenager back in the 1960s! Anyway, I decided to buy this Kindle version because I noticed some titles that I did not have copies of, so I am completely satisfied - and in addition there is a list of films, TV series directly and indirectly inspired by the writer and a reading guide included. An essential addition to any collection for any fan of Edgar Allan Poe...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Master, 21 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. Richard Wallace "Tybach" (Ynys Mon, Cymru (Anglesey, Wales)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems (Over 100 Works, including The Raven, The Tell-Tale Heart, The Pit and the Pendulum, with Exclusive Bonus Features) (Kindle Edition)
A great collection of tales and poems without equal. Horror to make your skin crawl and poems to sooth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edgar Allan Poe, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems (Over 100 Works, including The Raven, The Tell-Tale Heart, The Pit and the Pendulum, with Exclusive Bonus Features) (Kindle Edition)
I've wanted this for ages and was delighted to find it on Amazon for such a great price! Great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Master of the Macabre..........Once upon a Midnight Dreary........., 12 Sep 2013
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems (Over 100 Works, including The Raven, The Tell-Tale Heart, The Pit and the Pendulum, with Exclusive Bonus Features) (Kindle Edition)
These stories really are spine chilling and also translated well to the big screen.

I don't think anyone of that era can compete with Poe for the sheer grotesque value of his stories.

I learnt the Raven off by heart as a teenager and still recall most of it now.

A brilliant book worth having as a paperback, hardback and as an e-book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works of Poe, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems (Over 100 Works, including The Raven, The Tell-Tale Heart, The Pit and the Pendulum, with Exclusive Bonus Features) (Kindle Edition)
Well tried and tested, macabre, chilling, interesting: dip in , hop out , enjoy! The perfect travelling companion for solo trips, with head under the duvet on spooky nights!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems (Over 100 Works, including The Raven, The Tell-Tale Heart, The Pit and the Pendulum, with Exclusive Bonus Features) (Kindle Edition)
no words for that really... powerful, atmospheric, emotional... if you looking for some beautiful words that is read for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems (Over 100 Works, including The Raven, The Tell-Tale Heart, The Pit and the Pendulum, with Exclusive Bonus Features) (Kindle Edition)
I admit I am a avid reader of Poe's work. Now I have it on my Kindle so I can read these work whilst travelling or in bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the good and the bad, 9 Jun 2014
By 
Poppy (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems (Over 100 Works, including The Raven, The Tell-Tale Heart, The Pit and the Pendulum, with Exclusive Bonus Features) (Kindle Edition)
I never realised Poe tried a few different styles before he settled on the horror that worked so well for him. Here are science fiction tales (going to the moon in a balloon) and detective fiction (Dupin, a kind of early version of Sherlock). But they aren't that good. Once we get to The Fall of the House of Usher things start motoring ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "All that we see or seem is but a dream within a dream...", 27 May 2014
By 
Mrs. Cathy L. Piggott (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems (Over 100 Works, including The Raven, The Tell-Tale Heart, The Pit and the Pendulum, with Exclusive Bonus Features) (Kindle Edition)
EA Poe is so classic and I love his thinking.

As he is an American author, maybe not a lot of people in England seem to know much about him, however, it's well worth a read, I highly recommend.

A musical album entitled Tales of Mystery and Imagination by The Alan Parsons Project, British progressive rock band, active between 1975 and 1990, was based on this collection of Poe's works and borrowed its title. It contains individual scores based on some of these tales, including narration by Orson Welles. Parsons also used the title "The Gold Bug" for a track on his The Turn of a Friendly Card album. I highly recommend this music, too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The key word is complete, 20 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems (Over 100 Works, including The Raven, The Tell-Tale Heart, The Pit and the Pendulum, with Exclusive Bonus Features) (Kindle Edition)
This is a great collection for Poe completists as it has a whole lot of stories which you probably won't have heard of. Did you realise, for example, that there exists a companion piece to Murders in the Rue Morgue? It soon becomes obvious why, unlike classics such as Pit and the Pendulum, Tell Tale Heart, Fall of the House of Usher and so on, these lesser stories have not stood the test of time - they are generally pretty weak and often rely up preposterously dated and laughable science. However as the complete output of a compelling writer who tightroped the border between genius and madness everything within is of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews