Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Year of the Horsetails
Introduction (From Wikipedia)

The Year of the Horsetails is a historical novel, written by R.F. Tapsell, that is set on the Eurasian Steppe, probably in the area that now known as Eastern Europe. The time frame of the book is not specified but is probably set between the birth of Attila the Hun 406 AD, and the rise of the Mongol ruler Genghis Khan, in 1162 AD...
Published on 10 July 2012 by Books Found Fast

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars could have been better
Again a very good start to this book but as it went on it lacked the fire and intensity ,that quality writing that would distinguish it from all others it developed into a poor end ,victories were too easy with the victors seemingly having to do little to vanquish an enemy ,very sad
Published 22 months ago by Mr. K. D. R. Rushman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars solid piece of work well worth the read, 6 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The Year of the Horsetails (Kindle Edition)
The Year of the Horsetails is a traditional adventure story in the old-school style. It follows the flight of a fugitive across the Steppes of what much later became a part of Russia. Set in the Carpathian region, sometime during the Middle ages, its hero, Bardiya, escapes the barbaric but militarily superior nomadic, Mongol-like Tugars into a region as yet unconquered by them. Beyond formidable mountains in the west, the agrarian Slavic Drevich people are largely unaware of the ruthless and overwhelming might soon set to descend upon their lands.

Using clean, crisp and uncluttered language, although of a style that may take a while for modern readers to get used to, a gripping tale of clashing cultures and military conflict unfolds. Keenly researched, the author brings to life a time, its various disparate cultures and the outlooks and attitudes of its people, during a brutal period in European history.

Although the action is excellently handled; the flight across the Steppes, the clash of cultures and the inevitable and bloody conflict that ensues, what is lacking is much in the way of depth to the characters, in particular the protagonist, Bardiya. This does not overly spoil the enjoyment of the book, but I found it hard to invest much empathy with the plight of its characters. It left me a little removed, as though reading an historical account, more so than a work of fiction. There are personal interactions, and even a love affair, but they come across very much in the one dimension.

Having said that, the dialogue is realistic and believable, and the characters are truly of their time - not just modern sensibilities in period costume. It makes for an authentic story, albeit one principally concentrating on adventure and action.

The plot cannot be faulted, nor the pace of the narrative, both excellently pitched, although I found the ending employed a few convenient coincidences and the conclusion felt slightly confused, making the climax feel somewhat flat. A minor detraction, though, from what is otherwise a well-crafted build-up to a momentous ending.

If adventure, action and early military history is your thing, then this tale from R. F. Tapsell will be just your cup of tea. A solid piece of work that is well worth the read.

I received an advance copy of this book in return for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book to equal better known authors, 27 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Year of the Horsetails (Kindle Edition)
This book is as good if not better than the more recent offerings from authors such as Bernard Cornwell. This author writes in the style Conn Iggulden and certainly keeps the reader captivated with its battle scenes and the hardships of war during such periods of history. Action right from the start which continues throughout and right up to the end. The only complaint I have is that this appears to be the only book by this author..at least I was unable to find more anywhere online. I would have paid full price for this book but at .77 pence it was a
bargain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The year of the horsetails, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Year of the Horsetails (Kindle Edition)
Very good story line throughout this book will read more of authors work .
Will look for more books from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Year of the Horsetails (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyable read. Fantastic battle scenes, good fast pace and interesting characters. Would really recommend this book for lovers of action novels such as Conn Iggulden`s Ghengis Khan series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Historical Fiction, 11 Oct. 2013
By 
David Halahan (Wallisellen Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Year of the Horsetails (Kindle Edition)
Very well written and very good timing in the story line - Absorbing reading and read the book very fast :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Year of the Horsetails., 6 Oct. 2013
By 
Colin Easton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Year of the Horsetails (Kindle Edition)
I remember reading this story about 50 years ago. I was enthralled by it at that time and to read it again was great. I tried on a number of occasions to find this again in my local library but as are the ways with such organisations it had disappeared into infinity.
From the start the story holds the reader and continues right throughout. I will probably find myself reading it again soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten masterpiece, 7 Sept. 2013
By 
Michael Clarkson "tolzey" (Bath, Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Year of the Horsetails (Kindle Edition)
This is a masterpiece of historical fiction which, sadly, is known to few. Tapsell wrote a few other novels, all are very good - his ability to evoke atmosphere and his historical knowledge are first class. I would also recommend his non-fiction book listing dynasties worldwide in a most comprehensive way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars could have been better, 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Year of the Horsetails (Kindle Edition)
Again a very good start to this book but as it went on it lacked the fire and intensity ,that quality writing that would distinguish it from all others it developed into a poor end ,victories were too easy with the victors seemingly having to do little to vanquish an enemy ,very sad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars worth a read, 12 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Year of the Horsetails (Kindle Edition)
a good read, a bit confusing early on but once you get into the story things start working out ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must read, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Year of the Horsetails (Kindle Edition)
After recently reading a load of dross this has restored my faith in good solid story telling. A good hero, a proper love story and an excellent narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Year of the Horsetails
£2.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews