Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars55
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2013
Mirage was a 'good' album, but this, by comparison, is a GREAT album. Written once again with Benno de Goeij (of Rank 1 fame) this album leans more towards the Rank 1 sound than the commerciality of Mirage. There are still a lot of vocal tracks (notably with Emma Hewitt and Richard Bedord - better known for his work with Above & Beyond) but the overall feel is a modern trance sound. The lead single (This Is What It Feels Like (feat. Trevor Guthrie)) has just the right balance to entice new listeners without alienating old fans, but is not typical of the album, which is quite simply superb.

I've listened to this album quite a few times now and can't find a duff track on it. If you liked Mirage, you will love this.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
This is an album of two halves for me. The first half is the commercial one starting with 'Intense' with a melodic and classic opening. The second track and the first hit is indeed very commercial but good to Armin in the charts and open trance music to the masses. Tracks like 'Beautiful Life' and 'Waiting for the night' as well as 'Sound of the drums' which has a lovely vocal are all destined to become trance classics. Things get more oriented to the more hard core fans from 'Won't let go you go' onwards, though some of these tracks are more middle of the road than others. That said, this collection is quite superior to Armin's other work. It's sure to be the trance classic of 2013.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2014
The opening and title track is one of Armin's finest moments, it's a stunning journey of excitement that is worth the price of the CD alone. It is however the only remarkable track on the entire album.

This Is What It Feels Like is the big hit that so many now know, however it is an example of how Armin - like Tiesto - has moved away from refrains of excitement and have chased the radio success. The album is unlikely to satisfy many fans of his early trance, but will also gain him many new ones as it doesn't excel - even in the mainstream pop song sense.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
In my opinion this follows the thread of Mirage and expands outwards across the wide genre of trance music. If you are familiar with Mirage and listen carefully you can hear threads of that (here and there) across the tracks (and comes back to an almost classical basis).

Track one is a great example of classical based movements then goes to something approaching commerciality on track two and so on - as the style changes between moods and expectations. The vocals are for the most part excellent and I take my hat off to the three L's (especially Laura Jansen) and Emma Hewitt for their clear and heartfelt contributions.

Most of the tracks on CD2 are upbeat and front room but still it holds a few surprises (good remixes) and a chilled ending (again with classical overtones).

Lastly, I listened to the sound bites on Amazon before buying this and was unsure. Perhaps the standard of allowing the first 30 seconds of the tracks should be changed to a random placement for the 30 second play so that the intro is largely ignored. I'm glad I went with my instincts and bought this as a CD for my collection, it will be enjoyed for a long time to come and I look forward to the next one. Oh! BTW this CD was delivered very quickly by the big river.
Intense (The More Intense Edition)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
Always been a big fan of Armin van Buuren's music and he doesn't disappoint with this new Album, Intense.

Containing the big-hit "This is what it feels Like" as well as other great tracks, would highly recommend, especially to those that are fans of Trance Music in particular.

Maybe has one or two many Vocal Tracks if I was to find a bad thing about it, but there still great to listen to :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
Hypnotic. original and yet familiar. It has been on in my car every day since I got it :) love it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
Glad got this album one of the best albums of year so far. Great album from Armin tunes beats amazing can see why he one of the best around in Trance/Dance music amazing tracks.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
Some great tunes. My personal best favorite ones were "Waiting For The Night", "Love Never Came", "Who's Afraid of 138?" & "Beautiful Life". However I didn't like "This Is What It Feels Like". Overall a great album and breathes new life in Trance. His best album since "Imagine" Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
Armin van Buuren blows me away every time. I bought this album the day before going on a trip with friends that consisted of a 5 hour drive and it was perfect. The energy and atmosphere of each track is simply satisfying and I highly suggest any trance fans should snap this album up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
This guy is top notch. Love all of his tracks. Uses different musical instruments and different singers on most tracks. Never thought i would be into this kind of music at my age, 55, but as in life you never know. Highly, highly recommended!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)