Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy
These are gloves for the young goal keeper who will want them to look good and impress his team mates- they passed that test.
They also passed the parent test, the one where they offer a decent amount of padding to protect hands going after a flying ball and fingers were protected with fixed finger spines too.
What they also offer good is excellent ventilation...
Published 3 months ago by Two Sheep

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value for the money - but not great value, as the palm splits too easily.
Owned for 4 months, now being replaced. Used three times a week.

These are good gloves as long as they last. The back of the fingers will take a lot of punishment, and the spines protect the fingers well. There are no spines on the thumbs - in common with most gloves. The palm material has a decent grip.

However the palm material has split near the...
Published 29 days ago by Mr. S. Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy, 8 Nov. 2014
By 
Sheep (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
These are gloves for the young goal keeper who will want them to look good and impress his team mates- they passed that test.
They also passed the parent test, the one where they offer a decent amount of padding to protect hands going after a flying ball and fingers were protected with fixed finger spines too.
What they also offer good is excellent ventilation to stop the dreaded sweaty palms, a comfortable fit that doesn't restrict movement of the hands or wrists while wearing them and a Velcro fastener on the wrist to stop them flying off mid game.
The build quality is good with strong stitching and quality materials. Cleaning was easy and the major mud and dirt easily came off the back of the gloves with a wipe from a damp cloth, though the white palm did not fare as well as the rest of the glove and was still quite grubby, but that just shows that they have been put to good use!
You do need a good fit so need to do the measurements before buying, this is done by measuring the 4 fingers at the base with a standard ruler, and the sizes fit as follows
Size 4: a 60-67mm measurement
Size 5: a 67-73mm measurement
Size 6: a 73-79mm measurement
That is the limit to the sizes available on Amazon, however they are made bigger if needed and could not doubt be tracked down elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mitre Anza G2 Protector Junior Goalkeeping Glove (Sports)
My 10 yr old son bought these, they are just perfect. The fixed finger wire protects his fingers during matches and he finds them very comfortable to wear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fit for purpose, 1 Nov. 2014
By 
Angela - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
These gloves have plenty of features for the young goal keeper. They are quite a snug fit around the wrist and have both elasticated and adjustable wrist report. The fixed finger protection is quite robust and the palms are very grippy. The size 4 I have fit my 10 year old (who has quite small hands) perfectly - as the size guide isn't included in the product description I've added it below from the mitre website.

The only downside to these gloves is really the fact that the white palms get grubby very quickly, they are not wipe clean like the rest of the gloves. Overall these are a quality and well stitched gloves that I would recommend for the budding goal keeper.

size guide (source Mitre website) - measurements across palm excluding thumb
4 = 60-67mm
5 = 67-73mm
6 = 73-79mm
7 = 79-86mm
8 = 86-91
9 =91-95mm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good gloves, 14 Nov. 2014
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My first reaction is wow, so this is what proper goal keeping gloves are like. Clearly, we have been skimping.

These are really, really nice gloves. They are very well constructed - the white palms are well padded but provide good feel and grip (the only issue is cleaning); the finger protection spines are strong and fit for purpose. There is nothing flimsy about these gloves.

The sizing guide (currently provided as one of the images associated with the product; see thumbnails at the top left) seems accurate. We have size 4 gloves (the smallest size available) which provoked an ugly sister moment as one of my boys tried to convince us that they really did fit (when they obviously didn't).

I think the gloves look pretty good but my boys would have preferred team branded ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look And Feel Great, 14 Nov. 2014
By 
Coincidence Vs Fate - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Perfect fit for my 8 year old and he's looking forward to using them in anger at football practice tomorrow.

The gloves look great, really professional and my little lad was well impressed by them. There is a soft white material on the palms that will hopefully take the "sting" out of any shots. The gloves are attractive and seem well made.

I can't really comment on the blurb and the claim of having "a unique outer surface of microscopic cavities" but as I said they certainly look and feel the part.

Very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eat My Goal, 10 Nov. 2014
By 
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When I was growing up, being in nets was never first choice; that was either top striker or tricky midfielder. However, there were and still are kids that will always want to take up the integral role of standing between the sticks. If they are serious about it, they will need gloves. Adult goalie gloves are just too big and can be more dangerous to use than your bare hands, therefore something like the ‘Mitre Anza G2 Protector Junior Goalkeeper Gloves’ are a great alternative as they are designed for youngsters in mind.

The pair we received was the size 4 and fit a 9 year old well. This is the smallest size on offer in the range and corresponds with the age that kids start to get really serious about the sport. The ‘G2 Protector’ has been successful; they are well padded and fit well. The colour is classic goalkeeper green and the pads have a slight abrasive nature to them to make holding the ball easier, although they pick up the dirt easily too.

The range features goalkeeper Mark Schwarzer on them and that fits about right. They are a great set of gloves, but more Fulham or 3rd Choice Chelsea, than the very top of the range. However, the build quality is of a good level and they should easily survive the year or so needed before they are grown out of. Just expect them to get very mucky as the white pads pick up all of the dirt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD VALUE GLOVES, 30 Nov. 2014
By 
A. Lucas "bookworm" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My 9 year old son has just recently got into playing football at school with his friends, and wanted his own set of gloves. These fit the bill perfectly. Not too expensive, as he's not a real enthusiast, but appear to be good quality. We have the size 4, which is fine for my son (he is almost ten, but not particularly large..just an average size, and these are perfect for now, but aren't going to last for much longer, they are a snug fit). He loved the colour and feel of the gloves, and the Velcro wrist straps are especially handy. My only little nag is that as soon as they are used, the material looks creased and worn....but that's just me being picky, as im sure it's just the nature of the fabric. That aside, these are good quality, good value gloves for a little boy who feels special now he has his own pair to wear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The gloves are stylish and provide good enough ventilation to prevent your hands from drowning in ..., 22 Nov. 2014
By 
Prof TBun (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Ideal for younger children.

The size 4 gloves we were sent fit our 8 year old young lady, very well. This size should fit a average 6-8 year old boy and are the small size in the range.

The gloves are stylish and provide good enough ventilation to prevent your hands from drowning in sweat.

As expected they provide good grip and sufficient protection for the age group that they are intended for.

Read the instructions carefully though, and follow them if you want them to last. It is a shame that they are not easier to read on the packet.

Overall.
======

These gloves would be my top recommendation for younger children. At the top end of the size range, you should probably be looking to upgrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good value for the money - but not great value, as the palm splits too easily., 30 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. S. Edwards (Newbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mitre Anza G2 Protector Junior Goalkeeping Glove (Sports)
Owned for 4 months, now being replaced. Used three times a week.

These are good gloves as long as they last. The back of the fingers will take a lot of punishment, and the spines protect the fingers well. There are no spines on the thumbs - in common with most gloves. The palm material has a decent grip.

However the palm material has split near the join with the thumb on the left one, and the other glove is looking very stressed at the same spot. This looks like a small design flaw on an otherwise nice glove.

So, overall good value for the money - but not great value.

I would buy them again, but only keep them as spares when the primary pair are too wet to wear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard Wearing, Great Looking Gloves, 27 Nov. 2014
By 
North of England Way (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
These are superb quality gloves, clearly designed to be incredibly robust, and they will definitely see a junior keeper through a couple of seasons (depending on how quickly they grow!)
Something I found very helpful was this size guide (see below) which will help pick the correct gloves based on age. This is not gospel, but a very good guide for anyone who is unsure which gloves to buy:

Size/Age

4: 6-7 years
5: 8-9 years
6: 10-11 years
7: Large kid or youth
8: Small to medium adult
9: Medium to large adult
10: Large to extra large adult
11: Extra large adult
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mitre Anza G2 Protector Junior Goalkeeping Glove - Green/White/Black - 6
£20.00
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews