Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Voyage Continues....`cause we ain't there yet
The Voyage Continues....`cause we ain't there yet

So how is this new Moody Blues box set? On it's own merits, it rates a 5. Very well packaged, very extensive in content, good sound, decent video and another surround format to add to the collection.

But is this the end-all Holy Grail of Moody Blues lost treasures? No.

In fact,...
Published 14 months ago by Steven G Bogdanoff

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Timeless?
Another Greatest Hits album. Yes it has a few different tracks on it from other 'Hits' albums but nothing that is essential to the general listener who already has one of the many packages previously released. The large box set which this is compiled from has lots of live bits and pieces etc. They could have released some of these as separate Cds instead. Yes great tracks...
Published 12 months ago by Mr grumpy


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Voyage Continues....`cause we ain't there yet, 6 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeless Flight (Audio CD)
The Voyage Continues....`cause we ain't there yet

So how is this new Moody Blues box set? On it's own merits, it rates a 5. Very well packaged, very extensive in content, good sound, decent video and another surround format to add to the collection.

But is this the end-all Holy Grail of Moody Blues lost treasures? No.

In fact, strictly looking at the studio work (discs 1-5). There is NOTHING that is really new. A better overall collection was Time Traveller. Released back around 1998, the Moodies have only released 2 additional studio works (Strange Time & December), represented by only 5 tracks in this collection.

There are several tracks marked as "previously unreleased on CD," and this is could be kind of misleading. There are really no "significant" alternate versions. Here is a quick breakdown of the studio tracks:
"Tuesday Afternoon" and "Nights in White Satin" (original 67 stereo mix) WERE released on Time Traveller, although these tracks do sound a tiny bit cleaner.
"Dawn is a Feeling" and "Peak Hour" (original 67 stereo mix) are truly NEW to this collection (Yeah!)
Eternity Road: NEW version; clean intro (not segue fade-in); very (very) minute differences in the mix; quicker fade (4:04 vs. 4:19 TOCCC)
"It's Up To You" NEW version; again very (very) minute differences in the mix (re-mix of the double tracked vocal are more centered; quicker fade (3:05 vs. 3:12 QOB / 3:23 QOB-bonus track)
"When You're A Free Man": NEW "edited"version; clean intro (not segue fade-in); 30 seconds of 3rd verse cut-out (why?); quicker fade (5:04 vs. 6:05 SS)
Several of the other studio tracks from discs 1-5 are have been "slightly" edited (altered track length) to deal with the fact that most of the original Moody tracks would segue to the next. On this collection those tracks that were originally joined (i.e. Dawning is the Day - Melancholy Man) the segue remains. Those tracks that they decided not to include either the prior and/or original following track was edited to fade in or out as needed. Most of the edits are acceptable. I do cringe at the "new" into to "Are You Sitting Comfortably" which leads off Disc 2. There is the distracting (to me) edit from the proceeding track (Lazy Day) from the original masters.
The big let down for me is not including the entire 67 stereo mix of DOFP, as it was alluded to in the Prog Magazine article.

All the other "rarities" were for the most part were included in the 2007 Deluxe re-issues. These were fantastic collections and included both a hi-resolution stereo and surround version of the album as a SACD. Apparently these are now out of print, but I've still seen them in local record stores and available here on Amazon. The original digi-packs have been replaced with standard jewel cases. but they DO include most of the bonus material, but not the high-rez SACD copy.

The 5.1 surround disc here are the same 70's quad mixes, but now on lower-resolution DVD video discs using Dolby 5.1 and DTS 5.1. There is video that accompanies the audio. Looks reminiscence of a late 60's psychedelia light show.

Big draw with this set has to be for those wanting the live material. Some very good (Blue Jays concert). To the,... well it's been said that the band had trouble trying to reproduced the heavily overdubbed studio recordings live (Albert Hall 1969). Includes some additional Red Rocks live tracks that were originally only available on the initial 5-disc copies of Time Traveller, and then later as part of the deluxe 2 disc edition of Red Rocks. Truly new is the 2 disc live show from the LA Forum. This is special to me as I was at that particular concert.

The video clips are pretty standard, most have been available here and there over the years. The performance clips (Beat Club, Colour Me Pop, Lulu) are fun to see the group in their early days. But these are generally lip synced or added live lead vocal to the recorded backing track.

I'm sure that anyone truly interested in getting this set has already seen the You-Tube un-boxing video so I won't add much about it's contents except for the following:
My copy is missing the "rare 67 tour program; Not one of my seventeen discs were scratched (amazing); and the box came packaged in a spongy foam "outer box" all sealed in an form fitting cardboard box (which was then packaged in an oversized Amazon box. Very impressive.

Also as stated by others, the 120 page book is very impressive. A lot of PR photos and alternate/unused album art. But there are several photo glitches when they scanned in album art for Threshold Of A Dream, To Our Children's Children..., Question of Balance, Seventh Sojourn, and the wrong disc info for Long Distance Voyager.

So who is this collection for? For the must have everything, in every form Moody Blues fan. To which I'm a victim. A fan like me already has collections like: This Is the Moody Blues, and Time Traveller. Even a few of the lesser titles (Voices in the Sky, Anthology) just to get that slightly different song edit. The various live albums/videos. And of coarse they already have the deluxe editions of the classic 7, So this collection does not give me anything I do not already have in the way of studio recordings. It does however provide some live material no longer available (Albert Hall: "Caught Live + 5"), unreleased material (Forum concert and Blue Jays concert - crown gem of this collection actually).

So what is missing? For my holy grail, this should have included all the material from the Deluxe Editions (the complete classic 7 albums), plus the 67 original stereo mix of DOFP, the inclusion of "Gimme A Little Something" the last of the "+5" not included in the deluxe editions (but was available on out-of-print "Prelude" CD. And a book that was proof-read.

Ah, but the voyage continues. You never know. Isn't life strange?

Update 1:: Amazon has quickly sent a replacement set, which did include the missing tour program. Very happy with Amazon's exchange policy.

Update 2: I have revised several section, especially the one regarding the "previously unreleased material" Addition quality listening time has provided a more definitive appraisal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Infinitely brilliant, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeless Flight (Audio CD)
As someone who’s been on the “voyage” from the onset, predating Days of Future Passed, I was slow to purchase the box set. I smugly thought I pretty much had heard it all and filled in the blanks with the emergence of You Tube and iTunes. My resolve dissolved when an email from Universal Music dropped into my inbox on May 31st. I ordered the same evening and by June 5th the lovely parcel from Amazon UK sat propped against my door when I arrived home. Amazing job of shipping across the pond! Did I mention I also saved 44.20 GBP? Amazon UK is absolutely peerless, my favorite vendor.

Very pleased I had the change of heart. While there may not be new material within the collection, the box set presentation is exceptional. Not particularly into posters, badges, photos, or bits of memorabilia … I rely on my heart and mind for recollections … but the book and disc array are outstanding. The ink was still fresh. Yes, there are a few errors and omissions. Mistakes happen. I’m neither a sound engineer nor unforgiving audiophile. The pleasure lies in having this treasure box nestled in my lap and the luxury it affords. I can pick and choose between 17 career-spanning discs that capture influential, groundbreaking, and legendary performances. The Moody Blues were inspired originals in 1967 and remain fearlessly golden today. Excess or too much of a good thing is an impossibility. The aural feast can still delight with an unexpected surprise or two. The Blue Jays concert at Lancaster University in December 1975 is one. Live shows are especially dear despite the occasional hiccup or miscue. They encapsulate a moment in time to transport and warm the heart. We were earnest, bold, and gear. How excellent to drift back and remember! This indulgence is priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Moodies collection for everyone, 18 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. Roger H. Walters (East Sussex,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeless Flight (Audio CD)
If you are just starting out on the voyage,or you have been on it from the start this comprehensive box set is a must.It covers everything,including 5-1 surround remasters of their first 7 albums.Add to that unreleased live concerts as well as highlights of their solo albums and you have a real treat.Now include all the books,DVD's and you have a Moody fest in one box.It will keep you entertained for ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good selection, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeless Flight (Audio CD)
Great choice of songs spanning over 45 years. the first CD is the classic period of 67 to 71 and there are some real gems. Not surprisingly most of the compositions are by Hayward but hey who's complaining. The second CD is from 72 to 99 and once again there are some good choices. All in all a well put together compilation of one of the world's truly great bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tim Time Time Is On My Side, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Peter L. Crisp (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeless Flight (Audio CD)
I remember all those years ago when i won a record on a radio station "A Question Of Balance' and my initial reaction was not bad and when i heard "Question" that was it. Although i may have bought an occasional album during their 45 year career, and it didn't click up until know how good their music is. Then came the mother of all releases, thank goodness there were a couple of choices a 17 disc box set, but the 4 disc set is a perfect summary of their classic album tracks. An excellent glossy "picture book". The recordings are superb, a welcome edition to my collection, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 29 Nov 2013
By 
Franco Rosiello "frank" (italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeless Flight (Audio CD)
i have been a moody blues fan for over 25 years i started in 1981 with the voice. this 4 disc cd although expensive should have been better i give it four stars because it is almost a complete gretaest hits. first of all they left off the first album which should have started off with the song go now. then in the 80's (and this is why i gave it four stars)they made mtv stardom with three rather popular songs all three very good. Of the three songs two were cut short for what? i do not know. their biggest radio hits and they are cut short. your wildest dreams cuts in at 3:49 instead of 4:50. and the other side of life (a very beautiful song) cuts in at 4:56 instead of 6:60.(that's like including the 3 minute edited version of nights in white satin instead of the 5:38 version) the third song i know you're out there somewhere gets the full version. what this means is beyond me i would have cut out the live songs as live songs should remain on live albums. Isnt life strange is in its entirety at 8:11 minutes a bit too long, but nonethless still in its original version (not included on the album) and the story in your eyes gets the album version of 2:57 instead of the original version at 3:33. i say this because the moody blues werent a band that made strings of hits one after the other. they made some here and there. and i believe that the most famous and more well known songs should have been included in their full or original versions and not edited versions for radio frindly audiences. over all the 4 disc set is good i bought it right away. because i wanted a greatest hits that included have you heard with the other side of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Flight - The Moody Blues, 15 Nov 2013
By 
M. B. Hollands (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeless Flight (Audio CD)
I had always like the Moody Blues, and when this came out and I realised just how few of their tracks I actually had in my collection I thought I would invest in it.

I have just about listened to it all and there are some real gems in this collection.

Well worth getting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cd's, Dvd's and book were informative and of excellent quality, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeless Flight (Audio CD)
Everything a Moody Blues Fan could want. The interviews and the music were very well done. I especially liked the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 67,ARE YOU SURE., 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeless Flight (Audio CD)
I am not a fan of Moody Blues and the only song I know is Nights in white satin.Why buy this box set..Well when I saw this state of art limited edition box set at such a low price I could not resist.The box set is ad avertised as used with large cut.When box set arrived it was brand new and there was no cut and was sealed.What huge saving compared with the orginal price.I would recommend all fans of Moody Blues to buy the warehouse deal from Amazon now and they will make a huge saving and an investment for life.It is a luxury box set with massive box etc.I have only listened and was very impressed with pristine sound and excellent.More in depth review later but for the time being I am not disappointed.Highly recommended.One thing that impressed is the LP size card board contains 11 cd and the other 6 dvd. I wish other record companies can follow this example which could save such space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could do better, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeless Flight (Audio CD)
As a staunch Moodies fan I'm disappointed. Overpriced and DVDs don't show enough of band. Blue Jays CD brill though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Timeless Flight
Timeless Flight by The Moody Blues (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews