Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars21
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2013
Georgia Ruth Williams has done her home country of Wales proud with this collection of songs. They enter quietly and slowly into your mind and weave into your everyday awareness, popping up in riffs and moods, the favourite song changing with each day and the weather.
Brilliant! Who could have thought that harps could mutate into Neu like motorway cruising trance? Buy it, borrow it, just listen to Week of Pines. Best of Wales & probably UK too
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
What a superb first CD from Georgina Ruth!

Great songs, lovely blend of modern and traditional.

She is a very accomplished singer with a strong clear pure voice and an ability to easily hit the high notes

Arrangements are excellent, the harp sits very naturally with the other more main-stream instruments, and fully justifies its presence. This a wonderful CD to sit back, listen to, relax to, and enjoy.

Now when does the next CD come out??
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
Heard this originally on radio 2 and bought it as liked it so much.
Lovely Welsh harp!
Have been telling everyone about this album!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
It is very easy to respond with instant enthusiasm to an album and be tired with it in a few days or weeks. I've been listening to Week of Pines for some while now and I find more and more in it with each hearing. Georgia Ruth's roots are in the small world of Welsh folk music, but there is more than enough here to interest the English (only) speaking listener. The lyrics are masterful in either language and the opening lines of the first track, Hill of Pines, are enough to arrest the attention immediately. Whereas there used to be only Joni Mitchell, recent years have brought forth a regiment of young women whose songs are "right from the heart". The self-absorbed, songstress is in danger of becoming a cliché, but these songs have none of that about them, being shaped out of a deep generous spirituality with, I think, Catholic undertones and a vocabulary which winds together a realistic natural and emotional landscape. Every track has its place and there is no filler on this album. The twining of the themes of love and land has old roots in Wales, but the same blend is found here in completely new ways. I can't think of an album I have enjoyed so much since Steve Eaves's Moelyci. Georgia Ruth comes from the same wellspring as Steve Eaves, that of intelligent, skilful modern blues/folk, with a deep respect for traditional forms. It's no surprise that the supporting credits on the album include Lleuwen.

Georgia Ruth is an excellent harpist but tends to use the harp a little more as a rhythmic instrument than might be expected. She mentions her admiration for Meic Stevens and Bert Jansch and has found ways to bring those influences to the harp. I have read reviews suggesting her voice is a little light and feathery, but it is strong enough, warm enough and sufficiently varied of tone to carry whatever she chooses to sing. To these achievements must be added the entirely open and natural tunes that the songs follow. There is no straining here to find significance and meaning in the discordant. The melodies are by turns as obvious and as surprising as one could wish.

A first album often indicates promise to be fulfilled at a later time, but this is a first album that is already fully mature. In the long run I suspect that Georgia will focus more on Welsh language songs, and she will become an established pillar of Welsh music. It will be interesting to see what her impact will be in England.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
I don't usually bother to write reviews but this album is such a gem both lyrically and musically that I felt that I had to. The performance is fabulous and the songs are pleasantly varied ranging through moving to soothing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
A singer with a real future if given the space and opportunity.
Caught her at a small event in Carmarthen, Wales and she had a great set based around her recent album. Catch her if you can.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
Georgia Ruth, christened , Georgia Ruth Williams, is a Welsh Indi/Folk singer/songwriter and of all the young talent out there, she has to be up there with the best and most original.
Original because her instrument of choice is the Harp and if that's not unusual enough, she has defined her own style of finger picking more akin to a guitar.
Not only is she adept at creating beautiful music, but she also possesses a sweet clear voice.
"Week of Pines" is her debut full lenth recording and is made up of mostly songs with English lyrics, with 3 more sung in Georgia's Mother tongue of Welsh. However,this in no way detracts from the album, even if you can't understand the words, the beauty of the music and Georgia's gentle vocals will enchant you alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
Wonderful album - great combination of modern and ancient, and she has a wonderfully soft and expressive voice. Beautiful lyrics, too. Probably my album of the year.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
Lovely music, especially love the title track - I can't get it out of my head! Quite dreamy quality, acoustic but also some subtle effects, beautiful voice, great lyrics, love the creativity of her music!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
Brilliant debut album.Fantastic mix of traditional folk, some country, great original material, beautifully arranged... and what a voice (reminiscent of Alison Krauss?)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.