Customer Reviews


358 Reviews
5 star:
 (180)
4 star:
 (93)
3 star:
 (57)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


105 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes 5:2ing so much easier
I've been following the 5:2 diet for several months now with great success, and for me, the hardest thing has been finding sufficiently varied (and tasty) things to eat on fast days that are within the calorie limit. Kate's book solves this in an entertaining and easy-to-read (and easy to follow) way. Recommended, particularly if, like me, you like tasty food. And I never...
Published 19 months ago by William

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good recipes
I bought the Kindle version of this and rather wished I hadn't. I find it hard to browse recipes and have actually ended up only using it once so far. However I am sure it is helpful if you are doing the 5:2 - we are not very good at sticking to it!
Published 14 months ago by Loulou


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

105 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes 5:2ing so much easier, 26 May 2013
I've been following the 5:2 diet for several months now with great success, and for me, the hardest thing has been finding sufficiently varied (and tasty) things to eat on fast days that are within the calorie limit. Kate's book solves this in an entertaining and easy-to-read (and easy to follow) way. Recommended, particularly if, like me, you like tasty food. And I never thought I'd say this, but now I actually look forward to fast day meals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate 5:2 Diet Recipe Book: Easy, Calorie Counted Fast Day Meals You'll Love (Kindle Edition)
4 stars as very useful book if following the 5:2 eating plan as has recipes and tips. Would prefer better indexing to find recipes and ingredients faster, but otherwise really worthwhile as this is the only book you really need to help you with a 5:2 plan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate 5:2 Diet Recipe Book: Easy, Calorie Counted Fast Day Meals You'll Love, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having followed the 5:2 diet religiously since Christmas, I must admit I was getting a bit bored of what I had to eat. It's not that the diet wasn't working (I've lost a stone and a half), it's just that I'd run out of inspiration as to what I could eat. So I was extremely excited when it was announced that there would be a 5:2 Recipe Book to go alongside Kate's original diet book.

With a brief introduction and FAQ at the beginning of the book, there's none of the scary science to confuse, in fact this part is only 32 pages long, and is written in a reader friendly way, with the questions that have been asked frequently on the Facebook page, and a very brief introduction. If you want the science behind the diet, and more in depth instructions as to what to do, I'd suggest you buy Kate's other book.

The rest of the book is dedicated to loads of lovely looking recipes with a collection of beautiful photographs in the middle - thankfully there's not too many photos throughout the book (imagine looking at all those food pictures on a fast day!) as well as a handy calorie calculator at the very back.

The recipes are divided into sections: Great Starts (breakfast and brunch ideas), Super Soups, Hot Stuff (curries and other spicy dishes), Comfort Food, Salad Days, 5:2 To Go (packed lunches etc.), 5:2 On Tour (dishes inspired by travel), 5:2 Treats (dessert ideas) and 5:2 Extras (Salad Dressings etc.) and each section has a "5:2 Lives" page which has real life stories as to how 5:2 has affected different people. Great inspiration when you're feeling the fast day slump! Also in each section there are hints and tips as to how to fit 5:2 into your day to day life - from how to feed your family whilst you fast, to what kitchen essentials Kate recommends.

Overall, it's a great cookbook, with lots of alternatives which mean that there are probably far more recipes than is suggested, written in a lovely friendly manner - and all the recipes have all the ingredients calorie counted as well, so if you leave something out, or change something it's incredibly easy to alter the calorie count to what you have made!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good guide, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good guide to find out what 5:2 is about and get you started with recipe ideas and top tips to help you stick to it. There is a calorie counter in the back, but for me, this could have been a bit more comprehensive. If however, you are a better follower of recipes, I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 26 May 2013
By 
Suesandie (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book, packed with delicious recipes for the 5:2 dieter. The recipes are easy to follow and it is obvious everything has been well thought out. There is lots of detailed information with regard to calorie content for each ingredient, and the instructions are clear and concise for each recipe. There is also lots of additional information and tips which are useful. It is an excellent accompaniment to Kate's original 5:2 diet book, and I can thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deaver Diva, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted a book of 5-2 recipes, the ones I had looked at were all a bit pretentious, I don't have money or the taste for some of the things , but in this book its more down to earth, a real persons book, and as a lot of the recipes come together from other people there's a better mix to choose from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5:2 Diet Recipe book, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate 5:2 Diet Recipe Book: Easy, Calorie Counted Fast Day Meals You'll Love (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book. Have read Kate's other _5:2 diet book which got me started and this book continues the journey with more tools and delicious recipe ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful Book, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great help in planning & buying meals and knowing what calories are in foods! Then tasty recipes to accommodate this.
2 days a week is easier to fit into a lifestyle than a full diet, but also like the idea of the health benefits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of recipes., 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First one I made was the oat banana muffins - very nice! Can't wait to try others! Some have a lot of carbs which I'm not sure should be eaten on this diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very useful, clear information easy to understand and fab recipes. I am losing weight steadily and finding this diet very easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews