Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


132 of 134 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely accessible and informative
This is a very impressive all round birdguide. Most guides limit themselves to merely providing details about how to identify species, this book not only perfroms that function perfectly well but in addition offers notes on what makes birds fascinating - their ecology, habitats, conservation status and movements. So, for example, you are not only told how to differentiate...
Published on 16 Jan 2003 by Mr. W. A. P. Brown

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not an ideal e-book
I purchased the Kindle version of this book, however, it appears to be more of a PDF type of book. It is completely non-reformattable - you cannot change the font size, orientation, line spacing, etc. You cannot search the book for keywords and the index is so small that it is almost impossible to accurately select the required page on a 7" tablet. The illustrations...
Published 7 months ago by The Wrinklie


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

132 of 134 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely accessible and informative, 16 Jan 2003
By 
This is a very impressive all round birdguide. Most guides limit themselves to merely providing details about how to identify species, this book not only perfroms that function perfectly well but in addition offers notes on what makes birds fascinating - their ecology, habitats, conservation status and movements. So, for example, you are not only told how to differentiate between a male and female Grey Partridge but also that they have declined by 84% in the last 25 years and that this is linked to a reduction in suitable nesting cover on farmland and insecticide use. In this way the book gives more of a clear overall picture of British bird species than almost any other book I know. Do not buy this book if you intend to find the definitive identification guide. But for anyone looking for a book that will provide interesting general information about bird species then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent bird guide, 4 Feb 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the book that I reach for before I go to sleep to review some of the birds that I have seen throughout the day - an amazing wealth of information is crammed into a page, and each page is dedicated to a bird. The drawings and artwork are OK, not up to Collins standards, and it would not be my first choice for a field guide, but for some interesting factual information about species that I have encountered. This is the one, and worth having just for that. I love it, and think that the RSPB have a very good and effective range of books out at them moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Read And Use, 17 Feb 2005
By 
The RSPB Handbook of British Birds is an excellent all-round bird book with many topics not discussed in ordinary identification field guides. The main purpose of the book is to give you a better understanding of the birds in the book with sections on habits, movements and migrations and conservation which gives you an idea of what is causing decline and what can be done to prevent it. It also includes some rare birds frequently seen in Britain such as the Night Heron, Ruddy Shelduck and Scarlet Rosefinch. Wherever possible the book has tried to give as much detailed information as possible, for example instead of saying that a kingfisher eats fish, it gives a good description of the different species of fish taken. All round it is a very good book with some excellent illustrations and good up-to-date maps. An excellent addition for anyone with an interest in birds. Well worth the buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RSPB Handbook of British Birds, 4 Feb 2009
I ordered this as a modern version of the Hamlyn's and Collin's field study guides I have used for many years. My daughter wanted her own guide and we considered this alongside the RSPB Pocket Guide to British Birds. The introduction says this is NOT principally intended as a field guide, yet when looking to choose one, this was the nearest I could find to my 'old faithfuls'.
So far as I have been able to determine (and I'm just an enthusiast not an expert) this is an acceptable update. It covers all the identification factors I would look for - appearance in flight, at different times of year, at different stages of development, description of calls, distribution areas, etc.
There is a section on bird topography (how to describe the 'parts' of a bird's physique and plumage) and also a section that links local, common, scientific and international names, so if you need a description of a Brook Ousel (Water Rail) or a Yarwelp (Avocet), they are there to be found.
The immediate difference is the colour photos rather than drawings of each species. Also it limits itself to 280 species that regularly occur in Britain and Ireland as residents or visitors so if you were lucky enough to spot an 'accidental' from Europe, you might not establish an identity. Then again, if you are good enough to know it is an accidental, you will have other guides available!
There isn't a species comparison page (for the various birds of prey for example) and I miss that - you would have to look at the entry for each possibility whereas my well-loved old guides had a comparison page that showed the outline given by all comparable species for quick identification, then turn to the detailed entry for more information.
Ultimately, my daughter chose the pocket edition, specifically because of its size, but I liked this enough to keep it for the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not an ideal e-book, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB Handbook of British Birds (Kindle Edition)
I purchased the Kindle version of this book, however, it appears to be more of a PDF type of book. It is completely non-reformattable - you cannot change the font size, orientation, line spacing, etc. You cannot search the book for keywords and the index is so small that it is almost impossible to accurately select the required page on a 7" tablet. The illustrations and content is good but the text size is very small and cannot be changed. Good book but only as a paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RSPB handbook of british birds, 26 Mar 2010
Excellent handbook with superb illustations and crammed with up to date information.
As a 'returning' birdwatcher (albeit with less time & poorer eyesight!) this handbook has proved to be an excellent guide. Kept in the car...its useful as a reference guide just for watching from this 'hide' or carrying with you out of doors.
Very useful endcovers fold into the book which then bookmark your page(s).
Perhaps a little bulky for some outdoor clothing pockets but no problem with most anorak type clothing.
Perhaps could contain more comparison pictures of similarly looking species but this would make the book too cumbersome and bulky.
Overall a very useful tool for novice birdwatchers and those with medium experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RSPB Handbook of British Birds, 20 Jan 2010
By 
S. F. Baron (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the best general purpose reference book on British birds that I have found (and I have bought half a dozen). It works well as an identification guide not only due to the execellent illustrations that highlight key identification characteristics, but also because of the detailed descriptions of both variations between males, females and juveniles (and where appropriate eclipse plumage) together with information about both behaviour and habitat. In addition it provides a good range of additional information about each species to increase the readers knowledge of a range of issues including UK populations and distribution, migration, and breeding.

I have bought copies of this book not only for myself but also for friends - it is that good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Will not load on a PC, 20 Dec 2013
This review is from: RSPB Handbook of British Birds (Kindle Edition)
Having read the reviews warning of the slow loading time etc., I decided to purchase but download on my PC instead. The download failed because it is not compatible with the device. If you check the Amazon page there is list of compatible devices listed in a 'pull down' list so to be fair we are warned but not in a very obvious way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rspb habdbook of british birds, 14 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best bird book I have seen. Although the type is necessarily small to accommodate so much information on one page, it is still very clear and easily read. It is very convenient having all the information on the same page as the excellent illustraions. I don't see how it could be improved upon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition is useless, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB Handbook of British Birds (Kindle Edition)
Doesn't open on kindle or PC as it isn't really an eBook. No search or practicable index. No bookmarking etc possible. Basically seems to be just set of page images so also very slow. I'll be asking for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

RSPB Handbook of British Birds
8.57
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews