Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Altered State ?? A MASTER PIECE !!
Being a fan of TesseracT, I will admit I had HUGE expectations with this second LP. I consider the suite " Concealing Fate" as one of the most inspiring piece of progressive rock music since "A change of season".
Well, in a nutschell, ALTERED STATE is a mind blowing MASTERPIECE.
To sum up, I would go like this :
- Music : flawless tunes , very well...
Published 18 months ago by MrPolaris3

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Programmed, overly produced generic djent rubbish
First impressions of this album are that it is amazing. Incredible production, great melodies and riffage + great songwriting. It's only as you listen to it more that you start to notice some serious flaws (I thought prog was supposed to grow on you, not off you):
Aside from 1 track (Nocturne main part) the drums are all programmed. If you are a drummer then I would...
Published 3 days ago by D. Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Buy It!, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altered State (Audio CD)
You simply have to buy this album!
I went to see Protest the Hero at o2 accademy in Birmingham, not knowing who the support acts were, TesseracT were one of them, and when they started they blew me away. So, on arrival home I ordered this album. I was not dissapointed. Having been disolusioned with the current brand of new metal that conforms to the same recipe, this is totally unique. Words can't explain, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Amazing., 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altered State (Audio CD)
I am an avid music fan having 300gig of music on my computer and 100's of cds in collection. however this is my first amazon review and with this band i feel the need to give them a shout, to sell, to share the talent that is Tesseract.
I haven't been so bowled over with an amazing album for a long time, but this has got me in a repetitive mood with the mp3 player.

of matter: incredible instrumental playing
of mind: intelligent, unique lyrical mindset
of reality: should be bigger than what they are
of energy: just buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A grower for sure., 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altered State (Audio CD)
At first I wasn't a fan, I missed the harsh vocals and heaviness, but after a few play throughs, it really started to grow on me, and I started to listen to this more than the album before it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altered State (Audio CD)
This is my favorite album at the moment, here's why:

Ashe O'Hara's voice is amazing. His range is huge and his ability to put expression into every phrase is truly awesome.

Both the technical and musical aspects of the instrumental work is very impressive. Guitars are tight, Bass has it's own space in the frequency spectrum where it can take up as much space as it likes. The drums are complex, without going ott with fills. The 'progressive' themes of irregular time signatures and metre changes are obviously present, but not overdone.

The mix is great. I find a lot of metal albums go to loud on the drums and guitar, drowning out the bass and vocals. All the parts of this album have been leveled properly, allowing each to shine through.

The use of ethereal synthesised pads adds a great atmosphere which blends perfectly with the rest of the intruments without giving a rave/trance feel to the tracks.

Chris Barretto features on this album playing saxophone (which really works, surprisingly). HE IS AMAZING!!!

Listen to that tone

Meshuggah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome - Album of the Year, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altered State (Audio CD)
Gorgeous, melodic, clean vocals. Brilliant poly-rhythms formed by both drums and guitar. Top it all off with superb production and it's easily some of the best music I've ever heard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album ever!!, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altered State (Audio CD)
I love this album. it's phenomenal!! Ash O'Hara is an amazing singer!
And the musicianship is 1st rate! so good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fine addition to any collection, 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altered State (Audio CD)
Fantastic album! The more I listen to it, the better it gets. Well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album...can't wait to see them live in London in November., 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altered State (Audio CD)
Awesome album...can't wait to see them live in London in November.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altered State (MP3 Download)
Is really good album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Altered State
Altered State by Tesseract (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews