Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Altered State ?? A MASTER PIECE !!
Being a fan of TesseracT, I will admit I had HUGE expectations with this second LP. I consider the suite " Concealing Fate" as one of the most inspiring piece of progressive rock music since "A change of season".
Well, in a nutschell, ALTERED STATE is a mind blowing MASTERPIECE.
To sum up, I would go like this :
- Music : flawless tunes , very well...
Published 18 months ago by MrPolaris3

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Programmed, overly produced generic djent rubbish
First impressions of this album are that it is amazing. Incredible production, great melodies and riffage + great songwriting. It's only as you listen to it more that you start to notice some serious flaws (I thought prog was supposed to grow on you, not off you):
Aside from 1 track (Nocturne main part) the drums are all programmed. If you are a drummer then I would...
Published 24 days ago by D. Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Altered State ?? A MASTER PIECE !!, 1 Jun 2013
This review is from: Altered State (Audio CD)
Being a fan of TesseracT, I will admit I had HUGE expectations with this second LP. I consider the suite " Concealing Fate" as one of the most inspiring piece of progressive rock music since "A change of season".
Well, in a nutschell, ALTERED STATE is a mind blowing MASTERPIECE.
To sum up, I would go like this :
- Music : flawless tunes , very well balanced and on top ADDICTING
- Ashe O' Hara 's voice : wonderfull, powerfull and beautifull
- Progressive Density : this LP could be labelled as Top Notch Progressive music , ie : the songs don't go towards 10 musical directions at the same time
- Production : simply astonishing. Ackle and Amos accomplished a great work here. It's spacial, dense, tight and refreshing. In my opinion, the mixing treatment on Drums is fantastic.

The album is a MUST buy. I woud add also that LIVE, TesseracT is a terrific experience. The overall sound of the Band is unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game changer, 31 May 2013
By 
LM BUTCHER (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altered State (Audio CD)
Maybe I don't get out enough but Altered State strikes me as major turning point in the rock/metal scene. It's grandiose but taut; complex yet melodic; ground-breaking and yet familiar. It is, quite simply, a sensation and should be heard to be believed because it's a real treat. I'll refrain from analogising, and just hope you listen to Altered State without any preconceptions; it's one of the most rewarding listens from one of the freshest bands to emerge in decades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Hood (Aylesbury) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altered State (MP3 Download)
Tesseract's first album was incredible so they had to pull out all of the stops to produce anything of that quality with their second album. Having lost their original singer I was concerned that his replacement (ignoring the first replacement who was dreadful) wouldn't be able match the quality.

Within one listen of this new album I had nothing to worry about. It's simply stunning on all levels. The new singer is superb and the songs are so well crafted that you'll get something new every time you listen to it. Tesseract have produced a work of genius here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Programmed, overly produced generic djent rubbish, 24 Nov 2014
By 
D. Johnson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Altered State (MP3 Download)
First impressions of this album are that it is amazing. Incredible production, great melodies and riffage + great songwriting. It's only as you listen to it more that you start to notice some serious flaws (I thought prog was supposed to grow on you, not off you):
Aside from 1 track (Nocturne main part) the drums are all programmed. If you are a drummer then I would think twice about buying this album thinking that it is a showcase of Jay Postones' talent, it isn't.
The production is too perfect. There are no natural overtones, no real dynamics in the music
It all sounds as if it's being played by a synth because some of the sounds are just too wet to be produced naturally, just doesn't sound like humans are playing it.
They've sacked the singer on this album already (they go through singers ever 10 gigs it seems, can't be the nicest guys to work with)

To me, Tesseract will always be Acle Kahney and Friends. He writes the songs, he produces the songs (along with Amos) and then they tell others what to play when they play live. Half of the songs from this album they can't play live, unforgiveable in my view, especially when they have so much creative talent in the band.

Time to move out of the bedroom Mr Tesseract, you only have to listen to the latest animals as leaders album to see that it can be done without programmed drums, you're just too lazy to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality!, 29 May 2013
This review is from: Altered State (MP3 Download)
Outstanding piece of work by our home grown boys. 100% top notch from start to finish. I'd urge anyone who likes this genre to buy it.... You won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altered State (Audio CD)
Anyone that is a fan of Tesseract, progressive metal and the so-called 'djent' movement will find this epic and compelling. New vocalist Ashe O'Hara does not disappoint either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just great, 28 May 2014
By 
G. Crosby (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altered State (Audio CD)
Bought this unheard after reading several reviews on other sites, it's just great. For fans of chuggy guitars but without the growling vocals this is just the thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Progressive metal without the shouty, 15 May 2014
By 
Mr. J. Gorman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altered State (Audio CD)
Tesseract occupy a unique space in the world of contemporary progressive metal, being much more melodic than most of their djenty peers. While much new prog tends now to sound a heck of a lot like all the other prog metal, Tesseract have carved out their own more approachable sound - with simpler and more accessible compositions, and vocals and instrumental lines that your granny might like. It's not everyone's cup of tea, and if you like your prog metal complicated and growly-screamy than tracks with soulful saxophone solos are probably not going to be for you. But I don't know many people - metal fans or just music lovers - who don't like this album when I've put it on in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tesseract - Altered State, 8 April 2014
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altered State (MP3 Download)
Altered State is the second full-length studio album from the British Progressive Metal Band Tesseract. It was their first album to feature Ashe O’Harra on lead vocals, it was self-produced and was released in 2013.

Since getting this album, I’ve been listening to it constantly. It has such a high replay value, and just gets better with each repeat listen. It is such an immersive, cohesive, powerful record and I wouldn’t mind going so far as to call it a masterpiece.

The album is broken down into four sections: Of Matter, Of Mind, Of Reality and Of Energy, which are themselves broken down into separate tracks. The album as a whole flows like one giant song, each of the four sections flow like one continuous song, and each track works on its own. It really is a well-developed and brilliantly executed structure.

Highlights include the powerful “Resist,” the catchy “Nocturne” and the lengthy and interesting “Singularity.”

Musically, there are beautiful shimmering clean guitar sections and a wash of hypnotic electronics subtly mixing with powerful emotive clean vocals with a real haunting quality, there are brilliant rhythmically interesting and groovy drums mingling perfectly with clever bassline, and there’s the odd section of crushing Djenty heavy guitar at the appropriate moments to top it all off. It’s a lot more subtle, intense and driving than their debut, with an almost post-rock attitude to song building. The way things weave and change fluidly makes it a really enjoyable and entertaining listen. Its a real extension and perfection of everything the band have been working towards so far. They even keep things interesting with some well-placed and non-gimmicky use of saxophones.

Overall; This album is fantastic, it’s a real step-up for the band and a defining moment for the whole movement. If you like this sort of music you’ll absolutely love this record, and if you haven’t heard of this band or album yet, I’d strongly recommend you give it a try. This is one of those rare, perfect, gems of an album that can completely captivate you and capture your imagination time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good album, 25 Mar 2014
By 
C. Ridgway - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altered State (Audio CD)
I'm new to Tesseract and I have really enjoyed this album. Now moving onto "One". I thinks this one is a MP3 download only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Altered State
Altered State by Tesseract (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews