Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars46
4.2 out of 5 stars
Price:£13.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2015
This game has froze my PS3 relatively frequently and has been prone to odd graphical glitches (such as doctors 360ing through the ground while speaking and proceeding to elegantly hover through walls, and at times there seems to be vortexes breaking surrounding textures and the sky) and frame-rate drops over the 50 or so hours I've played it ... so far. However, you usually experience these problems when you've played the game for around 5 hours, and your console is begging for you to give it a rest already, which is an evident indication that I really love this game.

It's rare that you can purchase a single-player game that feels so unnervingly endless, and offers such rich background systems, mechanics, lore, depth, and gameplay. Being a huge GTA fan, however, the lack of diversity when it comes to music selection on the small assortment of radio stations (2) is very apparent, and the commentator, ThreeDog, can string together different lines of dialogue that don't logically mix in an automated fashion.

There's just an abundance of content in this game, and you always feel like you're on the edge of survival; scavenging whatever you can while potentially establishing a home, links with traders, and exploring the Wasteland. You can unlock a perk later in the game once you reach the original level cap, level 20, to display all the locations in the game you can discover/add to fast travel. It will be clear to most that the game is much larger than they originally anticipated. This game also comes with 5 additionally expansion packs, with the the expansions cumulatively increasing the level cap to 30. I would recommend you do Operation Anchorage once you have the perk to carry an additional 50 pounds. You get some insanely great Armour, with a Chinese set coming with the power of invisibility.

Look, it's a superb game with a few technical issues that don't detract from the overall fun. I'm not willing to write anymore. Buy the damn game.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
Fallout 3 is one man/woman's journey from the constraints of a grey prison to the wasteland of a nuclear beaten wasteland.

Throughout the game all manner of weird and wonderful things happen and lots of colourful characters meet and beat you.
The choice system is unprecedented for it's time and will have you playing for years.

Now the DLC

Operation Anchorage

Canada and China are at war YOU are a commander, this is as far as I got before the game crashed then when I reloaded it there was graphic disturbance and lag thereafter.

Mothership Zeta

You answer a distress call in a crashed ship, you are then transported TO a ship in space and have to fight your way back to the wasetlland, don't do this DLC before you are level 10, you wlll DIE!

Broken Steel

This takes the B.O.S (Brotherhood of steel) storyline further and allows progression through the organisation.

Point Lookout

The night is dark and there noises everywhere, something whizzes past the screen and a man with three arms and an axe is running towards you, you enter VATS and concisely eliminate him, you turn around and are instantly ripped apart by a swamp creature, welcome to Point Lookout.

This pack is worth it's weight in gold and you will have no problems other than with Operation Anchorage, but there are plans to fix this so hey, let's see?

- Cheap
- Packed with content
- easy to use
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
Fallout 3: Game Of The Year Edition is one of the greatest games ever created. The company behind it is Bethesda, who is headquartered in Bethesda, Maryland, i.e. the name. The game takes place in the DC region so the developers have a high degree of realization of how things look within DC and the surrounding area.

The game is amazing and with the game of the year edition you get an amazing amount of content, I would say at least 200 hours of gameplay. So if you like RPG's this game is for you. Fallout 3: Game Of The Year Edition comes with some additional content. This includes:

- Operation: Anchorage - Enter a military simulation and fight in the liberation of Anchorage Alaska from its Chinese Communist invaders.
- The Pitt - Travel to the post-apocalyptic remains of Pittsburgh and become embroiled in a conflict between slaves and their Raider masters.
- Broken Steel - Increase your level cap to 30 and finish the fight against the Enclave remnants alongside Liberty Prime.
- Point Lookout - Embark on a mysterious and open-ended adventure in a huge murky swampland along the coast of Maryland.
- Mothership Zeta - Defy hostile alien abductors and fight your way off the alien mothership orbiting miles above the Capital Wasteland

Thank you for reading my review, if you have any questions feel free to email me, I would be happy to help you with any questions you have.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
Fallout 3 is a game I have loved since it was first released, I have owned the original game and the goty edition multiple times. I recommend that anyone who likes skyrim or any other elder scrolls game buy this game immediately! You will not regret it. Like many other Bethesda games on ps3, fallout 3 doesn't perform amazingly, I think that that is forgivable though because of how great the game actually is.

WARNING!!! THIS GAME IS HIGHLY ADDICTIVE!!! ONLY BUY THIS GAME IF YOU ARE PREPARED TO GO WITHOUT SLEEP FOR DAYS!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
I bought this Game because it had all the add-ons inside and I was getting a bit tired of slaying Dragons. After the initial "how to play" which I found quite nice and original, I started out into the Wastelands. And I got hooked, simple as that. The game has a really good immersion and interesting and chalenging Quests. I am enjoying this game greatly and will, probably, consider buying or experimenting the next Fallout after I played some couple hundred hours on this.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
All you need to know is Fallout 3 (GOTY) is the greatest game of all time & your social life ends here... it has everything from great gameplay, lots of exploration & locations, intriguing storyline, likeable characters, a vast arrange of enemy & monsters, lots of perks & skills upgrade & great weapons & you can fast travel between discovered locations & fast forward time between night & day.

The 5 DLC's listed in the Downloaded section of the disc can only be activated ingame, when you come across their locations on the map.

The downside is that their was several frame rate issues in the game, were the picture would freeze while the audio continues for a minute or two later on in the game & none of the buttons on the controller would work & the game would continue after 1 or 2 minutes or sometimes the game would not continue at all, but if you turn off all of the auto saves in Settings & just save manually, the freezes are not as frequent.

Also, the weapons have an annoying feature, basically, after you reload your gun, the character 'rechecks' the weapon by either taking out the ammo & putting it back in or tapping the weapon several times before you can use it, this is especially annoying while in combat as I have died because of it, but apart from that, it is an AWESOME game!!!

Unfortunately, as much as I love Fallout 3 (GOTY), the game stops updating the XP at Level 30 (which I am at the moment) & I still have so much to explore & do, which means I cannot get more any Perks but any books or publications you pick up still update your other skills.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
First off, I'd just like to thank "6 Hungry Weasels" for having an OUTSTANDING delivery time. I ordered this item from them on Wednesday, it dispatched Thursday, and came on Friday! I call that superb delivery, so well done to those guys! The game itself I have not played yet, but I had Fallout 3 a long time ago, and it is superb. I bought this version because it was much cheaper than buying all the additional content as well. This game is based around a nuclear fallout (as you probably can tell). You start off from quickly skipping through the stages of your life (e.g birth - 10 years old - 16 years old etc.) and when you're 16-18 (I can't remember) you wake up in the Vault to a girl, who tells you your Father has left the vault. People in the vault start turning on you, thinking your the bad guy because your Father left them all, and basically try to kill you. You then manage to escape the Vault, and begin your quest of searching for your Father. If you have played games like Skyrim and thought "Wow there should be more games like this", then this is the game for you! There are so many strange, psychotic creatures/people you have to kill on these games, and also kind of scares you! The dark atmosphere at night, all quiet and suddenly BOOM there's a giant scorpion in your face, really does give you the goosebumps! Superb seller, superb game. 5/5

Hope this review helps,

Sam
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
One of the missions constantly crashes the game out. It's one of the added on missions "mother ship zeta". After following a signal you discover an alien ship that has crashed once you try to go in for a closer inspection you get abducted by aliens. The game then cuts to another video with you on a table on the ship with aliens around you and some machinery there is a robotic arm that comes towards you it's once this happens that the game hangs. Some parts will still move but the main video actually stops. If you press buttons you can hear your man/woman jump (only in audio form) but nothing happens it just stays on the same screen with the aliens. I have left it for several hours and stays the same. I have done a Google search on the issue which seems to be massively common with the " game of the year" disc I have tried many of the so called fixes for it but as of yet none have worked. If you are someone who likes to complete 100℅ then buy these discs at your own risk some seem to be lucky and get it working though for most it's a futile attempt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
I've sunk nearly 55 hours into this and there's still stuff to do and see and I haven't even started on the included DLC packs. It's an amazing game. In fact it's more of a way of life. I've spent a lot of happy times just wandering the wastelands outside of quests just seeing what's about. One of my all time favourite games.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
I seem to be going backward. I played Fallout New Vegas first and I can see the little imperfections that were smoothed out on the following game ( specially with regards to understanding if you have the clearing to do certain tasks). This version seems a little harder but quite enjoyable to play. I was not dissapointed
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)