Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hard at first
I found the game surprisingly hard at the start but it soon becomes addictive but very frustrating! A good way to get distracted during exam time :(
Published 1 month ago by AliT

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It should have been better
The original SNES Yoshi's Island was an absolute work of genius, particularly considering the available technology a couple of decades ago. This game, unfortunately, does not do it justice. While it's not a bad game, and a lot better than the run of the mill platforners that are still being churned out, it just doesn't add anything to the original. It loses the awkward...
Published 4 months ago by RK


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It should have been better, 16 Mar 2014
By 
RK "RK" (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoshi's New Island (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
The original SNES Yoshi's Island was an absolute work of genius, particularly considering the available technology a couple of decades ago. This game, unfortunately, does not do it justice. While it's not a bad game, and a lot better than the run of the mill platforners that are still being churned out, it just doesn't add anything to the original. It loses the awkward character switching of the DS follow up (which was even more disappointing than this version), but doesn't make much of an effort to add anything new. If you've never played the original Yoshi's Island,I'd recommend this, it's a good solid game, if a little uninspiring. But if you can get your hands on the original, forget this. Come on Nintendo, you can do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hard at first, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoshi's New Island (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I found the game surprisingly hard at the start but it soon becomes addictive but very frustrating! A good way to get distracted during exam time :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yoshis new island, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoshi's New Island (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
A nice game with nice graphics and the levels had a massive egg that was fab a roony!!
Yoshi was good and its funny when you lose Baby Mario when he cries but you must get him back on Yoshi's back.
Very cool game with nice levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kids love this and played right through to the very end, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoshi's New Island (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Even my older son loved this game (I worried it would be too young for him) - he played if from start to end (in approx. 4 days as he's very adept at platformers). Recommended if you love Nintendo games!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and easygoing game, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoshi's New Island (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I really liked this game. Cute graphics, easy controls and the gameplay is fun even though it's fairly easy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars son loves it!, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoshi's New Island (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
My five year old son loves this game, it's easy enough for him to manage on his own but it's still challenging as some games he loses interest in when there too difficult!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Got Thumbs Up, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoshi's New Island (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Bought it for my son for his b.day, He has been playing it for weeks, says it is fab. Money well spent :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoshi's New Island (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I played last yoshi's island and I like this one too. I think the price is right to the kind of game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, subtle changes, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoshi's New Island (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I really enjoyed the first Yoshi's Island for GBA, so I thought I'd give this one a shot.

There are some nice subtle changes, and some things I don't like about the game, but all in all, it's a fantastic game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good game, 17 Mar 2014
This review is from: Yoshi's New Island (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
For some reason I missed Yoshi on the SNES and so I don't have a game to compare this new one against. I have been playing games since I was around 5 though (first on a Sinclair Spectrum 48k in the 1980's) and can say its a pretty good game.

Its standard Mario fodder, mechanics, coins, enemies all the usual stuff. Not quite as polished as a Mario game usually is on the 3DS though I have to say and the use of 3D has been wasted to some extent. The 3D isn't so much an integral element of the game (as you find in Mario 3D World, Donkey Kong or Mario Kart) - more a 'layered' approach and little else. It adds depth to the game, but little else.

The 3DS has great graphics and the graphics in Yoshi's New Island are also great.

Is it worth the money? I think so. Not the best 3DS game I have but definitely not the worst I've had either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yoshi's New Island (Nintendo 3DS)
Yoshi's New Island (Nintendo 3DS) by Nintendo (Nintendo 3DS)
25.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews