Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!
I am so glad this box set came out. Incredible music from one of the best live bands and sonically creative bands ever. For us Big Country fans who dodn't live in the U.K. it was great to see all of the BBC video thta we never got to see here in the States. The Cds also have great music from the demos to the concerts. It is well worth the price and I hope there will be...
Published 15 months ago by michael bragg

versus
8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When they were superb
Its really a pity that this seems to have been affected and spoiled by poor mastering and terrible compression in places but as a package its still great.. (If you want to hear the original albums in all there power find the originals on vinyl).. I still have a crappy TDK tape of the peel sessions recorded on the night and it sounds full of more life and dynamics than...
Published 16 months ago by Danny


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 9 Aug 2013
By 
michael bragg (glen jean, wv United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
I am so glad this box set came out. Incredible music from one of the best live bands and sonically creative bands ever. For us Big Country fans who dodn't live in the U.K. it was great to see all of the BBC video thta we never got to see here in the States. The Cds also have great music from the demos to the concerts. It is well worth the price and I hope there will be other Big Country box sets containing music and video from the original lineup to the current lineup. Mega!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blown Away, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
Absolutely Amazing as a Big Country fan would totally recommend this to other Big Country fans . It took me back many years ago when I got to see them at Hull City Hall will always remember the Audience singing to the Chance Blown Away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great package!!, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
another great release from the big country vaults.
great to see the live gigs eventually being released on dvd and also the missing tracks from the original bbc hamersmith release!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars but..., 30 Aug 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "dch" (Taunton, Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
Great package, beautifully presented with great additional material. However there are some apperances on the beeb (which I have on vcr) which are missed and the qulaity of some of the footage on the DVD is not the best it could be, but for any Big Country fan this is a MUST buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At The BBC is everything I hoped for!, 29 Aug 2013
By 
J. makar - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
I highly recommend this box set to anyone who loves Big Country, this is a must buy!!! The recordings of Top of the Pops is worth it alone. So many videos that I haven't seen before, all great to watch and experience! The cd's are also worth it. So glad that I purchased this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Country At The BBC, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
this boxset is made for the big country collectors..great rarities include live in hammersmith 1989 and the seer tour 1986
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Home of the Brave, 2 Aug 2013
By 
JMH1963 (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
This is an excellent record of when Big Country burst onto the music scene back in 1982 (before the release of The Crossing), up to the point that the BBC and media in general lost interest in the band, following the release of Peace In Our Time in 1988.

The radio sessions, although previously available on CD, represent an excellent account of the band in its infancy and the live sets are generally excellent both in terms of sound quality and track selection.

The DVD has a whopping 39 tracks and there is much to recommend. That said the image quality in some instances is reflective of the archive nature of the material, being a little grainy at times, and the sound for the great 1984 Edinburgh Playhouse gig is a little muted.

But, some of the stuff on here is a must see/listen for anyone who is more than a casual fan. With the gig from Pier 84 in New York still not available on DVD, Live at Reading Hexagon gives us a rare glimpse of Remembrance Day and the I Walk the Hill being performed in concert by a band, not at their creative peak, but certainly at the top of their game when performing live - surely both these songs would have been better choices for a single than One Great Thing and Hold the Heart?

I'll let others judge the wisdom of the transition from checked shirts to shiny suits. Whilst the groups choice of singles and clothes may (in my opinion) leave something to be desired, there can be no doubt that this band released some of the most emotionally moving and rousing rock music of the 80s, and that live in concert they were simply fantastic.

I say were, but they still are. As most fans will know the band have reformed with Mike Peters of The Alarm taking over vocal duties. Whilst they're clearly not the same band they were with Stuart Adamson at the helm, those with an open mind should check out the groups new CD The Journey. The album represents a credible comeback over a decade after Stuart's tragic death, and one that is more endearing with each listen.

So far 2013 has been a good year for fans of Big Country. can it get any better? What there's another live DVD coming out in September and the group is back on tour in the UK in the autumn. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You Need This, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
A good box set for the many Big Country fans around. Nice to have all the BBC items together in one set and a nice book as well. Nothing wrong with sound quality that I can hear and better to have it official. We should think postive that they can release items like this for the fans as I would think with price it will not be a massive seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old days, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
big country classics from the bbc
golden nuggets to remember the good old days when proper music was on the tele
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Big Country, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At The BBC (Audio CD)
A trip down memory lane, great tracks and the DVD contains some rare footage too - if you're a fan (or used to be) well worth a look, a safe bet in the pounds for pleasure ranking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At The BBC
At The BBC by Big Country (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews