Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The view from [...]
Russian soldiers are pushing into East Germany during WW2, all they find are a few dead Nazi's, and the twisted remains off what seems to be half Human, half machine 'soldiers', soon though they stumble upon something more terrifying than the Third Reich!!

If you've seen the mad trailer for this movie you'll know what to expect, you're also be pleasantly...
Published 15 months ago by Rob Williams

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ‘Found footage’ films really should come with a warning on them
I watched the trailer for ‘Frankenstein’s Army’ and thought it looked quite good (or at least watchable for a low budget horror movie). I guess I should have paid more attention to the trailer. If I’d have looked more closely I may have noticed that the film was ‘found footage.’ If I’d have known that then I never would have...
Published 5 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The view from [...], 2 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: Frankenstein's Army [DVD] (DVD)
Russian soldiers are pushing into East Germany during WW2, all they find are a few dead Nazi's, and the twisted remains off what seems to be half Human, half machine 'soldiers', soon though they stumble upon something more terrifying than the Third Reich!!

If you've seen the mad trailer for this movie you'll know what to expect, you're also be pleasantly surprised. For a low budget horror flick by a first time director, Frankensteins' Army has very high production values, good solid acting, great sound FX, good set designs, and the monsters look great!

Each creature is original, like a mash of Nazi Cenobites from the mind of HR Geiger and Guillermo Tel Torro, drills, knives or guns for hands, real nightmare stuff. The found footage POV works a treat, adding to the films sense of chaos, terror and dread, like a viewing a 1st person shoot 'em up on a high end console. and who can not dislike a movie that features a human robot that resembles the love child of Dusty Bin, R2D2 and a seriously twisted mind!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ‘Found footage’ films really should come with a warning on them, 17 Jun 2014
This review is from: Frankenstein's Army (DVD)
I watched the trailer for ‘Frankenstein’s Army’ and thought it looked quite good (or at least watchable for a low budget horror movie). I guess I should have paid more attention to the trailer. If I’d have looked more closely I may have noticed that the film was ‘found footage.’ If I’d have known that then I never would have bothered with it in the first place (and therefore saved myself an hour and twenty minutes in the process).

Yes, it’s ‘found footage.’ If you don’t have a budget or any big names, just wave the camera around in darkened locations so no one can see that your special effects really aren’t that special. He were find a squad of Russian soldiers making a ‘home movie’ (?) of their unit while on patrol during their fight against the Nazis in World War II. However, all goes to hell when they stumble on a top secret Nazi experiment to create some of the most unconvincing monsters in existence (well... something like that).

So, our band of burly Russians find themselves on the run in a maze of laboratories and corridors while their cameraman shakes his camera wildly at whatever man in a rubber suit is lumbering in their direction.

I’ll give Frankenstein’s army some kudos for shying away from CGI special effects (not that they could probably afford them!), as they have attempted to make the monsters look creepy. Sometimes it works, but most time it looks like your boiler has suddenly turned evil and is now going for a leisurely stroll in your direction (and don’t get me started on the ‘monster’ who has a propeller for a head!).

So, if doesn’t have the budget, but a clever or witty script can always raise the film’s profile. Unfortunately, Frankenstein’s Army doesn’t have one of those either. The Russian soldiers are pretty unlikable, or, at best, generic.

In summary: you have a found footage film with no decent special effects, poor, boring dialogue and characterisation. If you like Nazi zombies/monsters... try Outpost (for horror and action) or Dead Snow (for horror, subtitles and comedy).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A So So, Low Budget Horror - Dead Snow Meets The Blair Witch Project, 29 Sep 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Frankenstein's Army [DVD] (DVD)
This is a low budget, found footage style of horror movie. It's the climax of WWII and eight Russian soldiers are making their way through the wilderness regions of East Germany. They manoeuvre their way past dense woodlands, abandoned gun posts, human remains and burnt out villages.
One of the soldiers is filming the trek, and he troops behind his comrades, recording their activities. The army costumes, vehicles and equipment are convincing, arguably more so than the acting, which is a little amateurish and wooden, but bearable.
The soldiers come across a graveyard, where the graves have been dug out and the bodies removed. They enter an apparently abandoned church and discover a hideous looking human, who seems to have been stitched together from different body parts, and who manages to kill one of the soldiers before being killed.
The soldiers descend into the catacombs beneath the church, where they are set upon by monsters, half-human and half-robot, whose hands and/or heads have been replaced with an assortment of weapons, including scythes, hooks and guns. The monsters look like mechanised versions of the Cenobites from the Hellraiser movies. What follows then is the soldiers' battle for survival against the monsters.
The major flaw with the film, apart from the questionable acting, is that you learn nothing whatsoever about the characters of the individual soldiers, which means that you couldn't care less what happens to them in the conflict with the creatures.
There is no film score at all, which is perhaps indicative of the limited budget, and the film could definitely have done with some suitably scary music to help create atmosphere and tension. If you want to buy or rent a good movie about soldiers versus monsters, try Dog Soldiers (about some English soldiers pitted against werewolves).
Alternatively, if you want to buy or rent a good movie about Nazis turned into monsters, go for Dead Snow (about Nazi zombies). Those two movies are extremely good. Another film which is similar to this one, is Devil's Rock, about some Nazis in the Channel Islands, who are trying to use a demon to help their war efforts.
Devil's Rock is low budget, with an ensemble cast of only five actors, but they act very well and make the film effective. Frankenstein's Army could have been a great horror movie if (a) the actors were more accomplished, (b) there was a decent film score, and (c) there was a decent script with some wit, I think that gallows humour always plays well in a good horror.
If I'm honest, Frankenstein's Army is basically a two star movie, but I've given it an extra star, simply because some of the roboticised monsters are inventive, especially the one with a small aircraft propellor mounted on his neck! If you can pick up this DVD for under a fiver, it's worth a punt, but your money's better spent on Dog Soldiers, Dead Snow or Devil's Rock - The Descent/Dog Soldiers/28 Days Later [DVD] Dead Snow [Blu-ray] Devil's Rock [DVD] .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic monsters and effects not a good film make, 31 July 2013
By 
A. Martin "kaggs69" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frankenstein's Army [DVD] (DVD)
This film is so frustrating, I recently saw this and had heard good things about it, with the recommendation came a special note to the effects and creature design, and I have to say the effects and creature design are fantastic, a lot of time and effort has been spent here and you will really be surprised what they managed to come up with in the budget restraints, unfortunately and this is where it gets frustrating, is that this is the only nice thing I can say about it, as the film itself is rubbish, no real story or script no character development and if that's not bad enough for me the biggest crime is that it was shot in a horrible, shaky POV style, which really took me out of the movie, so if you are in to effects and creature design see the movie, you will definitely get something out of it, for everyone else I would stay clear, I do think the creature design/writer/director is somebody to look out for, give him a better script, a bit more money and state in his contract no POV and I think with his twisted designs we could be on to a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars stomach churning horror, 6 Oct 2013
This review is from: Frankenstein's Army [DVD] (DVD)
I have to say that this is one of the most stomach churning horror movies I have seen in a long time. The 'found footage' format has been done to death and this film is in a similar vein. The footage is all filmed POV style like a first person shooter video game by one of the soldiers.

I suppose you could nit pick about why someone would still keep filming when so much mayhem is going on all around them but that is just a niggle. The best way to approach this film is just go with it and hold on for a rollercoaster ride that will drain you by the end.

The Russian accents are a little dodgy but again, that's just me nit picking. There is no CGI in this film which makes it more impressive given the budget they had.

The bottom line?, a thrilling gut wrenching roller coaster ride that deserves a watch. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars horror film, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenstein's Army [DVD] (DVD)
Nazis,Zombies,what's not to like,great film and i'm not really a fan of the horror genre either. It was surprisingly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad! This one had a few surprises, 31 July 2014
By 
Mr. M. K. Johnson (Norwich,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenstein's Army [DVD] (DVD)
Not bad!
This one had a few surprises. It showed me that Hitler was really planning to create a zombie army-his crazy idea of the Perfect soldier. It went on the therey that You cannot kill what is already dead,and these soldiers could conquer the entire world! We do not know just how far He went,as all papers were destroyed on Hitler's express orders. According to one source,He could have suceeded!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clockwork Nazis, 13 Dec 2013
By 
S McKnight "SMK" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenstein's Army [DVD] (DVD)
Competently directed and the clockwork cyborg creatures have to be seen to be believed. Well received at Frightfest 2013. A good present for horror fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great Idea Poorly Executed, 6 April 2014
By 
B. Murphy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frankenstein's Army [DVD] (DVD)
I like the idea of mixing the genres - Gothic meets WW2.

And the effects are great - very well designed monsters.

But that's where the positive part of the review ends and the negative bit starts.

The plot is very poor and made little sense.

I hate shaky cam! Not only does it look awful but films shot that way tend to have characterization issues - just like this one does.

And in the last 20 minutes or so they finally gave up on plot completely and just descended into a completely pointless gorefest.

Shame because it had so much potential...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars finally a nazi/zombie film worth watching, 19 Mar 2014
By 
C. Nielsen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankenstein's Army [DVD] (DVD)
Nazi/zombie movies usually disappoint, but here is an exception. A russian army unit is missing and a search party is dispatched to find them. They find themselves cut off as they progess deeper into german territory. The discovery of some derelict Buildings leads to some nasty surprises, the biggest being Victor Frankensteins grandson WHO has taken the barons research to a Whole new level.
The acting and directing is quite acceptable and in this film they have actually made some very decent zombies without using cheap cgi effects and bad halloween make up. This film is worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frankenstein's Army [Blu-ray] [US Import]
Frankenstein's Army [Blu-ray] [US Import] by Karel Roden (Blu-ray - 2013)
£23.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews