Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read
Towards the end things got a little predictable, but overall great start to the slaver wars series looking forward to the next one.
Published 21 months ago by Dan

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not premier league material but definitely top half of the championship table
I gave it 3 stars because it was an easy read, coherent and was fun all together. Cut a star because it borrowed a little bit from various space operas and in particular quite a big chunk from Battlestar Galactica. Cut another star when I actually had to do research to find out the sequence of books in the series.

This is a good by-the-beach read, nothing more...
Published 7 months ago by B. Bakla


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not premier league material but definitely top half of the championship table, 8 Jun. 2014
By 
B. Bakla - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slaver Wars: Alien Contact (Kindle Edition)
I gave it 3 stars because it was an easy read, coherent and was fun all together. Cut a star because it borrowed a little bit from various space operas and in particular quite a big chunk from Battlestar Galactica. Cut another star when I actually had to do research to find out the sequence of books in the series.

This is a good by-the-beach read, nothing more. I often return and re-read my favourite sci-fi a few years later. I doubt I will do this series though. But having said that I just bought the next Book. I would like to support the writer and need another beachside book soon!

p.s. huge confusion in amazon as to what is book #1 and book #2 of the series. My kindle displays "the slaver wars: alien contact (the slaver wars book1)" which is confusing if you look to amzon for a book #2. Come on! A reader shouldn't have to do research for such a simple thing. Anyway I did and here's from the author's own website:

The Slaver War series should be read in the following order.

Moon Wreck: First Contact
Moon Wreck: Revelations
Moon Wreck: Secrets of Ceres
The Slaver Wars: Alien Contact (This book can be read either before or after the three Moon Wreck stories listed above.)
Moon Wreck: Contains all of the short stories.
Moon Wreck: Fleet Academy
The Slaver Wars: First Strike
The Slaver Wars: Retaliation.
The Slaver Wars: Galactic Conflict. (Will be out May of 2014)
The Slaver Wars: Endgame! (Will be out October 2014)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slaver Wars: Alien Contact (Kindle Edition)
Towards the end things got a little predictable, but overall great start to the slaver wars series looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There are only seven plots for novels?, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slaver Wars: Alien Contact (Kindle Edition)
The plot of this series is basically the same as that of Battlestar Galactica. The protaganists are alien invaders rather than self-built AIs, but behind them is an ancient race's self-built AIs. However there's the same aspect of ancient human colonies being reduced to rubble and a small fleet of assorted ships setting out to find Earth. The outcome is a little more logical as they already know where Earth is, so they don't have to wander around looking for it. So really it's more like Galactica 1980! Having said that, it is a reasonable imagining of the concept. The problem is, I keep hoping to find some originality here, and it just isn't happening. I'll finish the series though as I already bought it :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars epic battles, 27 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slaver Wars: Alien Contact (Kindle Edition)
great fast paced,no techno babble hard to put down a easy read ,looking forward to next book,can not come to soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 9 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slaver Wars: Alien Contact (Kindle Edition)
A good storyline, that evolves well as you progress. Captivating and enjoyable, with good mix of science and fiction (although personally would prefer even more science). Will be waiting for continuation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story had me hooked, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slaver Wars: Alien Contact (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put the book down. Read it on holiday within 1 day, great story and nicely written. couldn't wait to get to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great story, poor execution, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slaver Wars: Alien Contact (Kindle Edition)
I bought this on the via one of the many kindle best book aggregators out there. On the positive side, it has a fairly interesting story with some fairly obvious influences.

On the negative side, the writing style is terrible. I have not seen this many cardboard characters since I last walked past a McDonald chain.

Overall, it is very difficult to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and to the bad guys and their mysterious backers, 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slaver Wars: Alien Contact (Kindle Edition)
Takes us for a look at the beginnings of the human side of the story, how it all kicked off, why and how it progressed, how the ship on the moon came to be there and crashed. Gives insights to the main characters in present day and their past, and to the bad guys and their mysterious backers. Reminds me of the Battlestar Galactica Cyclons in places.. Good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A dam good read, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slaver Wars: Alien Contact (Kindle Edition)
what can I say I bought this book on a whim opened it and read it in a day! I can't say anything else a good solid read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Slaver Wars: Alien Contact (The Slaver Wars Book Two), 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Slaver Wars: Alien Contact (Kindle Edition)
Seems like a good place to start the Saga - gives a good background feel to an intriguing but frightening development in the history of the human race! Good mix of crises with the ramifications of ordinary life and personal relationships in the period - moving on to the next episode soonest!
Harast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Slaver Wars: Alien Contact
£2.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews