Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars8
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2013
I must say that the number of whisky books out there is a little daunting, especially if you're a novice but wanting to know more. However, Let Me Tell You About Whisky takes a really refreshing approach and assumes no knowledge, whilst treating the reader without being at all patronising. The feel of the book is perfect for anyone who has several bottles of whisky on their shelves or the would-be enthusiast who wants to learn more about other types of whisky from around the world (especially Japan, Europe and America.) Highly recommended and a cracking read, especially when combined with a dram!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
Excellent and informative work, you feel like an expert after reading this book and all written in a straight forward way so that even a novice Whiskey lover like myself can understand what to look for when tasting that dram or two.
Having read it, I was keen to try a variety of distilleries to taste the different flavours so well described here and ventured on to Bourbon Whiskey just to sample the difference for myself.
I now also have an appreciation of the blenders skill hitherto not previously realised due to my lack of detail knowledge on how to recognise the flavours that had been there all the time.
A highly recommended read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
The initial content with the book is a most pleasant, with a nice and solid hardcover, heavy weight paper and numerous coloured photographs.
The text is clear, concise and reads well and covers a wide range of topics related to whisky.
As mentioned by the authors, this book is a "true beginner's guide". Passed this stage, this book will be of limited to very limited interest, since the text is too concise for a most experienced whisky enthusiast to learn much form this book.

So, if this is your first whisky book, then you can be charmed by this book. If not, better to go for something else.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
This is an excellent book for someone wanting to get a sound and thorough introduction to the world of whisky. The authors are knowledgeable and have an entertaining style, while the information conveyed is comprehensive; the diagrams of the various production processes in particular are very helpful! I would give it five stars, but unfortunately a lack of editorial oversight has let a few rather blatant typos and formatting errors sneak in to spoil an otherwise professional and aesthetically pleasing volume. I'd still recommend it though, to the beginner or the expert.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
Read a few Whisky books but this one tops the lot. Well written beautifully put together and loaded with lots of fascinating information for the Whisky lover and indeed if not a Whisky lover it'll keep your interest and maybe just whet your non Whisky palate!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
An interesting book which gives plenty of information and history . Written for everyday people not just Whisky buffs. I am sure all who read this book with enjoy it , novice and expert alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
A highly informative guide to whiskey production throughout the world.
Makes me want to try them all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
Great book with a lot of information
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)