Customer Reviews


469 Reviews
5 star:
 (221)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (52)
1 star:
 (114)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fifa 14 Xbox 360
Product arrived on time and is great to play. Game mechanics updated slightly and the gameplay feels more realistic and less robotic. 9/10
Published 1 month ago by Ewan Maclean

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Predictable...
A few things to expect from this latest installment of FIFA;
-Expect to score ALOT of headers.
-Expect most of your shots to be blocked.
-Expect to be chasing the ball most of the game.
-Don't expect to get a single free-kick.

The list could go on.

The game is slow, really slow, when it comes to playing in the rain? forget about...
Published 4 months ago by Dan


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Predictable..., 28 Nov 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 14 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A few things to expect from this latest installment of FIFA;
-Expect to score ALOT of headers.
-Expect most of your shots to be blocked.
-Expect to be chasing the ball most of the game.
-Don't expect to get a single free-kick.

The list could go on.

The game is slow, really slow, when it comes to playing in the rain? forget about it. painfully slow!
The AI are extremely annoying, you'll run in for a tackle the opponent will do a quick swivel and you'll run straight past them for another 3 meters, the overall mechanics feel all wrong, and boy does the AI love to block, don't expect to get many shots past from outside the box, a defender will almost certainly be there taking the shot straight to the face no hassle. Your players get dispossessed far to easily because every player kicks the ball so far in front of them when dribbling and there first touch is always terrible. EVERY player is so slow off the mark after receiving the ball, by this time the opponent has already come in and taken the ball straight from you.

As i stated above, do not expect to win ANY free-kicks, I'm struggling to remember a time I have taken one at the moment, if you want to score goals the equation is simple cross+header=goal or just chip it past the keeper, the effect is the same. The whole system of a football match seems to have disappeared, gain possession, pass it around, build play up and hopefully convert. The game is now much more, chase the ball, gain the ball (good luck), run down the wing, stick a cross in and score.

I'm enjoying manager mode so far, i don't get the scouting system, i don't want to have to scout lionel messi for weeks just to find out his rating? i'm finding myself just heading to the menu and going to kick-off and picking a team just to find a players rating...

Cannot comment on other game modes, lack of motivation stops me from even wanting to play it any more
Overall the game is poor, frustrating and most importantly not fun anymore.

the saying 'don't fix it if it isn't broken' saying comes to mind over and over again when playing FIFA 14, well i guess FIFA 15 has got some work to do then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistent, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FIFA 14 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
EA seem to think that making your opponent vary from easy to challenging to impossible in one match a fun game, it doesnt, Just because a game is hard does not mean its fun, I've never been so frustrated playing a game as I have at playing this
Feels like the game can up the skill of the cpu whenever it feels like.
The passing system is flawed, the tackling system feels unfinished. The mistakes your players make are hilarious like running into each other and the goalkeeper knocking the ball into his own net after saving the ball.
When it does work there is a lot of potential but just feels sluggish and has been spewed out by EA with no thought.
It actually makes me want to buy PES and thats saying something
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad scripting but can be fun at times, 30 Mar 2014
This review is from: FIFA 14 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
An okay FIFA game, still has the same old offside bugs and the keepers can be absolutely useless. The AI feel overpowered, especially on higher difficulty settings which leave you with no chance of scoring and also enhances their GK's saving abilities which makes the experience foul.

The graphics look great, the gameplay is far more realistic and less stiff which in fact makes pulling off skill moves far easier than before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fifa 14 Xbox 360, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FIFA 14 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Product arrived on time and is great to play. Game mechanics updated slightly and the gameplay feels more realistic and less robotic. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shocking!, 12 Oct 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 14 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Fifa fans know that when they buy the new version it's pretty much the same game with updated teams and graphics, that has always been a good enough reason for football fans to purchase the new instalment. This time EA got it wrong.

Fifa 14 is a major step back upon the previous instalments of the successful Fifa series. Instead of refining the gameplay of the hugely successful predecessor, EA decided to slow down the action and have made so many negative changes to the gameplay it has now lost the appeal which made it the great game it was.

I bought my copy on the release date and have already sold it on eBay. Save your money guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Half a game, 10 Oct 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 14 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It is blatantly apparent that the progamming for this game was not tested properly before release, I am already owed money for downloads not completed and I cannot play certain matches due to crashes/errors. Just have a look online to see the myriad of problems people are having with this game.
EA are not being much help so I would certainly think twice about purchasing before all of these problems are sorted out

Saying that, I have enjoyed playing the game, it's just that if it was Kettle I had bought, It would have been taken back to the shop by now for being faulty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 70 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stay away if you want to have fun, 29 Oct 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 14 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have always played Fifa since the very 1st one for the Mega Drive (Janco Tianno best Brazilian striker EVER anyone?). Anyway this is my 1st review here at Amazon and I am only writing it because I feel really disappointed having now spent several hours playing Fifa 14 and unlocked all achievements. I have already sold my copy of the game on eBay and bought back a copy of Fifa 13.
I don't really care about the transfer updates (I could potentially do them manually in Fifa 13). The most important thing about playing Fifa is having fun, even if you are playing in 'World Class' or 'Legendary' difficulty. I have always played the Career Mode (because it's just like real life, the competitions, transfers, players unsettled, etc.) and have always enjoyed searching for players to try and improve my squad. Now you have to send a scout to look at the player - even if it is a famous player known for his abilites (like Messi) because there is no rating! Players are not rated when you search for them and that's annoying because the whole process now takes much longer. Because of that there are now way too many emails in career mode so you will spend an awful lot of time in the menus (much longer than in previous instalments). Ultimate Team is a money making mode which I don't particularly enjoy (there is absolutely nothing to do with real life football) and I find very boring opening packs and, again, spending a lot of time in the menus (auctions, packs, blah, blah). It hasn't changed much. Online the game is still fun because when you play against real people anything can happen.
Now.. on the pitch the single player aspect disappoints, especially when you are playing against the AI on 'World Class' or 'Legendary'. Be prepared to chase the ball forever as ALL teams play like Barcelona / Spain pressing really hard when they don't have the ball and closing your players down quickly and when they do have the ball they keep on perfectly passing it around. On top of that your players will feel really slooooow on the pitch so you will end up with your players (who will be walking LITERALLY!) trying to complete short passes whilst the AI runs and closes you down. So as the AI is MUCH quicker than you it is very easy to lose possession - frustrating. Another thing that annoys me is this called 'precision movement' that a player cannot suddenly stop his run and 'cut in' to try and pass the ball or hits it trying to score - only a few selected players can do that smoothly (like Ronaldo, Robben, etc). Most players will feel clumsy and the animation EA created doesn't work... as a result of this animation you will most likely end up giving the ball away and your attack is suddenly ruined by this 'improved' feature. It's horrible. This game used to be really fun to play and they have removed that aspect claiming it is now more real. I think the game used to have a good balance between realism and fun. Now it's just awful.
One more thing I should point out here at Amazon is that many people who are giving the game 5 stars are clearly people who never played the game before. Like... 'I bought this for my nephew and he loves it'. What of review is that? This is not a genuine review. A review should be about the game. Is it good / bad? You check all reviews you will notice that the people who actually spent time playing the game HATED it (with just a few exceptions). Bottom line... STAY AWAY! If you have Fifa 13 - keep it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worst in a long time, 8 Oct 2013
By 
B. Golding (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FIFA 14 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Okay, so I felt compelled to write a review on this because I couldnt quite believe how wrong they have gotten this. How can they go from FIFA 13 which had a few annoyances here and there, to this - one of the worst FIFA titles in a very long time. When I first got this game, I didn't want to write a review because I felt that, like every year, the changes just takes a bit of getting used to. However, I can confidently say now after a good week of playing, that it IS a massive jump backwards.

My main gripe with the game is that it has become so much more sluggish and slow. Every player seems like they've been playing for 5 games non stop and have been sent out to play again. It has become very slow and you get many feet in quicksand moments. The whole 'momentum' thing is absolutely terrible and is one of the worst points of the game. It means that when you are either attacking or defending, the opposition can easily swivel around you whilst you slowly build up your speed to try to chase them down. Even when you have the ball, everyone else is stupidly faster than you because you have to slowly build up your speed. It makes the whole 'players stuck in quicksand' effect A LOT worse. In a game I recently played, I played a through ball for my player to run on to - he picked up the ball and immediately lost all his speed which he had before he had the ball, and proceeded to slowly run forward with the ball only for three opposition players to catch up with him and tackle him to the ground.

With regards to tackling, don't expect to get many free kicks at all. I have been brought down many times and been astounded at not being given a free kick. Now, I know this is normal in a football game - players thinking they should have a free kick when it may be arguable. But I assure you, play this game and you will see what I mean. Another big annoyance is that in previous FIFA games I have always (like everyone) loved shooting from afar and seeing a spectacular save or a spectacular goal. It felt like there was a good balance between defenders blocking far out shots, the shots going in, the shots missing, or the shots being saved. Now however, its around 90% shots being blocked. Its crazy how many times a defender magically blocks ANY shot you take from outside of the box. I have gone around defenders, found myself with a gap THOUSANDS of times, taken a shot expecting it either to miss, get saved or go in - surely it CANT be blocked with such a gap? Oh, nope, again it gets blocked by the defenders. Its really frustrating. If you want to shoot from afar you better be one on one with the keeper because if there is a defender any where near you he WILL block it.

Now I know I just sound like an annoyed player who can't see the good points of the game, and you are half right. I am an annoyed player, but this is only because the game I used to love has been changed so drastically to the point of it not being as much fun. I'm not saying it isn't fun - this is still Fifa, its just nowhere near as fluid, fast and exciting as previous games. It feels so much slower. You know those REALLY rainy games in previous games? Where it would rain very hard and it would be very hard to run and pass etc. - well, they were fun every now and again because of the realism of the rain. Now however, it does feel like every game, no matter what the weather, is an extremely rainy, slow game. Every player just seems to sluggishly run around and it makes it so much more frustrating and boring.

The only thing I can say that is a lot better are the set pieces and the headers. It feels like there is a good balance between corners going well and finding a player, or getting immediately cleared. Also, free kicks have become better and you really can bend the ball easier than you could before which makes it easier to score. Headers are also a lot easier as it seems like the player won't just head the ball randomly in any direction when they're two yards away, you are able to actually score from headers quite often. However, these improvements do not make up for the slow nature of the game, and the poor changes.

I play career mode primarily, as I have always played career 90% of the time I play. I have always loved Fifa's career mode, but the random change with scouting seems to have made the career mode so much less enjoyable. I do not know why they thought forcing players to scout EVERY person they want to buy would be better than simply searching for players in a database. We do not want to have to pointlessly wait weeks just to find out what a player is good at. When I play a football game, I expect the information on a the footballers to be there - not have to be waited for for no reason. I liked that we could previously choose to scout youth level players, and ALSO be able to find excellent players who had a RATING. Now there are no ratings when you search for players, and you are forced into using scouts, which makes the whole process of simply going out a buying someone so much more tedious. I dread having to scout someone simply because I used to love the education Fifa gave me about players. For example, in Fifa 10 I knew of people like Christian Eriksen, Erik Lamela, Ross Barkley, James McCarthy, Eden Hazard (just to name a few) before they actually became stars in real life, simply because they were young and had a rating that grew up to the 80's - 90's. This was brilliant as it means we can see the future stars of football (or atleast those expected to become stars). Now, I can never search for young players who might be in the low 70's and have a chance to grow to the mid 80's - because there is no rating system to search with.

I know that changing Fifa is good for the games in the long run, as it means we don't get the same product every year, but you do expect that when EA change the game drastically, they will be improvements! These changes have made the game a lot worse, and I do hope that they don't continue down this road, else I will seriously consider jumping to PES (although I hear PES 14 is terrible). It's been a bad year for football games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 8 Oct 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 14 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Big let down after FIFA 13. The positives? As usual, game looks great, loads of team, great squads etc. Negatives: Where to start? Gameplay is a lot slower than FIFA 13, it's like the players are running through a ploughed field. Arctic lorries will turn quicker than your defenders. Passing is comically hit and miss, you'll either find your players feet with a cross field lob or you'll manage to tank it out of play with a normal ground pass when they're 10 yards away from you. Pure Shot is random, when you score from distance it either looks great or the shot is an unsatisfying daisy cutter than somehow trundles past the goalie. Scoring is also a peculiar thing here, it's not uncommon to have 20+ shots a game for only a goal, light shot attempts towards open goals mysteriously fly over the bar and crosses to attackers? Like trying to roll a double 6 at Monopoly, most crosses go out of play or into the goalkeepers clutch. Tackling is a big let down as well, the opposition will effortlessly brush you off while managing to dispossess your attackers from behind from 5 yards away (and sometimes your attacker will even keep running forward). The biggest let down gameplay wise for me is the player movement off the ball. It's not unusual to see players running round in pairs or three's, in the middle of the park outside the box you'll often see up to 5 players running towards the ball (even if they're not tackling), when attacking you'll feel like your player with the ball is the only player moving, the run trigger seems haphazard in comparison with past games so most attacks fizzle out with your player being dispossessed in the corner flag, all alone. I have never played a football video game with so many offsides. Commentary is very irritating, had to switch it off. Commentators will tell the same anecdotes as they did in FIFA 13 plus tell you the same story about the same player twice or 3 times during a match. Also recycled from FIFA 13 are the kits available in the catalogue, which seems really lazy.

So another negative review of a FIFA game. And I'm actually winning most games in Career mode, it's just really really boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars EA Sports. Come on listen to your public, 15 Dec 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 14 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Firstly, I have read 50+ reviews about this game and nearly everyone has had a valid point or two when it comes to gameplay, tackling is harder, shots can get blocked more often than not, dribblings harder and so on, personally I have enjoyed the challenge and although I have had my moments I haven't found it overly frustrating.

For me the real let down is the career mode,
1. Certain players retire as young as 30, what the hell is that about?
2. The player search opition is a joke and completely ineffective.
3. If you choose player career mode you can't edit you pro in any way unless your online. Again why, completely out of order and a clear attempt to get more money out of people.

First thing you will notice is that it is easier to score headers than previous fifas but to be honest the balance is more realistic.

Shooting, now I have done this since FIFA 11, and some will say its cheating and what's the point blah blah blah, but personally it works a treat and has improved my enjoyment of the game. Go to settings, find USER SETTINGS, you know where everything is set at 50, now scroll down to shot error and change it to 47, then change shot power to 53, now play a couple of friendlies and see what you think. Personally I think it evens things out a bit. I know some people will slate me for this, and fair enough. Would love to know what others think.

Lastly what happened to player manager mode, its been missing for a few years now but I used to love it, you could build a team and develop your pro at the same time, really miss this option, Anyway despite its failings give this game a go its still better than PES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbaf798a0)

This product

FIFA 14 (Xbox 360)
FIFA 14 (Xbox 360) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
22.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews