Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars309
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£9.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 11 February 2015
Last month (January 2015), I watched a funny segment of a cable news program after the President's State of the Union address here in the USA. Chris Matthews, a 69 year old American political commentator and news anchor for his weeknight talk show HARDBALL on MSNBC, attempted a celebrity interview a la Larry King. Matthews was interviewing British actress Ruth Wilson, who just received a Golden Globe for best television actress (drama) for her role in Showtime's THE AFFAIR. Wilson answered some pertinent questions about the role of women in television drama series, but demurred when Matthews asked her to "talk American."

Well, Ruth Wilson, I haven't seen Showtime's THE AFFAIR but you were stupendous in the BBC drama serial LUTHER.

LUTHER may be the first drama serial that I binge-watched by renting the DVDs - two at a time from Netflix. This British psychological crime television series stars Idris Elba as the title character, Detective Chief Inspector John Luther. The first series of six episodes was initially broadcast on BBC One in May and early June 2010. A second and third season with only four episodes each were broadcast in consecutive summers. The series was broadcast for America viewers on BBC America beginning in October 2010.

The plots are dramatizations of John Luther's cases for the Serious and Serial Crime Unit in London, England. He is often consumed by the darkness of the crimes with which he deals and is often hampered by his interactions with the women in his life: his ex-wife Zoe, his police superior, and Alice Morgan, his nemesis. He is unable to arrest Alice Morgan, the murderer in the first episode, and for the rest of the series she becomes his confidante, giving him insight into the motivations of other criminals. British actress Ruth Wilson plays the red-lipped and beautiful red-haired Alice.

The series has received eight Primetime Emmy Award nominations. Elba was nominated for a Golden Globe for all three seasons as best actor in a television drama; he won for the second season of LUTHER. He also won the 2014 NAACP Image Award as best television actor (drama).

In November 2014 BBC announced that it would air a two episode miniseries of LUTHER in 2015. Hopefully, it will be aired on BBC America. Meanwhile, I'm trying to squeeze some $$ from my Social Security check to purchase this excellent collection.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 11 March 2015
'Luther' is a show that defines quality over quantity. There may be dozens of unremarkable carbon-copy crime dramas out there that focus on the standard typical lonely, brooding and haunted detective figure, but 'Luther' stands apart from the crowd by some margin.
Writer Neil Cross has created something of a gem here, but I fear it's Idris Elba's fascinating and frankly hypnotic performance as the titular detective that really sells this series. Elba is a tour de force in the role, and I daresay this will be one of the defining performances of his career, alongside his performance as Stringer Bell in 'The Wire'. Luther is a character who cannot be explained without making the guy sound like a cliche, and honestly I feel that no other actor could have brought this intriguing character to life with the energy, charisma, dedication or originality that Elba managed.
Totalling just 14 episodes across three seasons, 'Luther' takes viewers on an emotional roller coaster as we are given insight into the troubled world of DCI John Luther, and embark on numerous gruesome cases as the near-genius detective struggles with some serious personal demons that never seem to end.
It's one hell of a ride, and with the show returning for two specials in 2015, be sure to catch up on Seasons 1-3 before returning to this dark yet endlessly fascinating world, set to the stark backdrop of a particularly bleak 21st Century London as seen through the eyes of Luther.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
Boxset of Luther containing 6 discs and with a running time of approx. 812 minutes. Has an age 15 restriction and contains all episodes from the first 3 series. Picture and audio quality are excellent and overall presentation of the set very good.

Idris Elba stars as the dangerously flawed yet ultra moral John Luther a beaten up, life weary London murder squad detective. Luther has major problems with anger which isn't helped by his growing relationship with Alice, Ruth Wilson, who just happens to be a murder suspect and also a psychopath. Alice is the calm, cold, controlled and evil contrast to Luther's manic, lost, rage filled goodness and their pairing was a stroke of absolute genius. They have a huge amount of chemistry and sizzle on screen. Fortunately, for him, Alice is on the side of Luther and they share a strange love/hate relationship throughout the series.

There's not a lot of police procedure, in fact you hardly see the inside of a police station until series 3, the drama's all about Luther as a man and how the events of his life affect his ability as a detective and vice versa. You're more likely to see his emotional distress and personal rage than scenes of him racing through London brandishing a gun. By series 3 things are starting to change, they're certainly ramping up the tension, and there's more violence and gore however; I didn't find Luther particularly graphic or gratuitous. In fact, for a modern day detective drama with such hard hitting storylines, the series is quite unique in that it relies on the quality of acting and scripts rather than the thrill factor.

There's always a sense of threat and mystery hanging around Luther, you're never sure what he'll do, but Idris Elba plays the role with so much passion and fire you can't help but believe in him. I'm hoping they leave him as he is; a good cop who risks becoming a bad cop the deeper he becomes involved with the evil around him.

For me this is one of the best detective series that's been on UK television and Luther is certainly on a level above the rest.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on 25 July 2013
Say what you want about the 'Beeb', this is a truly great TV show. Whilst some of the scenes became often grotesque and/or peverted, Luther has maintained interest and a following like no other BBC detective thriller for a while. Without Idris Elba (DCI John Luther) this show would not be what it is. But that's not to take away from excellent performances from Dermot Crowley and Michael Smiley; I also have a soft spot for Ruth Wilson, who is just plain evil!

Once all these episodes drop off the iPlayer this boxset is going to be invaluable. With the third series now over, I know plenty of people (including myself) that will be rewatching series 1, episode 1 on July 29 when this comes out! And for those who haven't had the pleasure of watching, this would be a great present to introduce someone to John Luther.

But this may not be the end of course. Luther, the movie? In a recent interview with Ms Wilson : ""It depends if you go to the origin story of Luther. Alice may be involved, but she may come in at the end. It's that thing of do you go backwards, forwards or sideways?""

Either way - this Boxset is the only natural way to deal with the Luther finale comedown.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 18 July 2015
I came late to this series, but read the good reviews and admire Idris Elba as an actor.
Imagine my disappointment then to find that at no point in the drama does Mr Elba break character to talk about how great it is to stream box sets from a well known broadcaster / internet provider. Instead, there's several hours of atmospheric, thrilling drama about a troubled, charismatic detective, tackling serial killers and police corruption.
Absolutely brilliant, but couldn't the DVD be re-released so some reference to how great it is to stream box sets be included as an extra ?.
Of course, if anyone reads this review in a year's time, the reference to box sets will be meaningless as no doubt the ad. campaign will have changed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 25 March 2014
I watched this series again after the TV series and its still great. Luther is such an original character. Like all detective stories there are some flaws but its so watchable. I would recommend particularly if you like an inverted detective story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 14 May 2014
This programme is one of the best crime drama series I have ever seen. Brilliant actors, enthralling plots, keeps you on the edge of your seat, right to the end. Wish they would make another series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 24 October 2013
Great show but be warned that the extras contain big spoilers so don't watch them until you've seen the show first.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on 13 August 2013
I had never watched any of the episodes and due to the amount of people talking about Luther I decided to buy the box set. I have watched the whole box set in one weekend. Its brilliant. I really do recommend buying this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 19 January 2014
Superbly written, Great Acting, Gripping storylines, gritty tone. Luther is a great TV show, full of suspense, cliff hangers, murder, plot and a superb protagonist.

Really good value for money, definitely worth buying as a present or just for yourself really. Amazon delivery were fast and there was no issues during purchasing either.

Overall pretty good
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Luther - Series 1-2 [DVD] [2010]
Luther - Series 1-2 [DVD] [2010] by Idris Elba (DVD - 2011)

Luther - Series 3 [DVD]
Luther - Series 3 [DVD] by Idris Elba (DVD - 2013)

Luther - Series 1 [DVD]
Luther - Series 1 [DVD] by Idris Elba (DVD - 2010)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.