Customer Reviews


180 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky detective series with plenty of darkness and action.
Boxset of Luther containing 6 discs and with a running time of approx. 812 minutes. Has an age 15 restriction and contains all episodes from the first 3 series. Picture and audio quality are excellent and overall presentation of the set very good.

Idris Elba stars as the dangerously flawed yet ultra moral John Luther a beaten up, life weary London murder squad...
Published 13 months ago by JK

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not even OK!
I am really, really disappointed. The acting is good but the story and the whole idea behind it are not. Really, it is a rubbish.
Published 1 day ago by Angel with a magic wand


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky detective series with plenty of darkness and action., 1 Aug 2013
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Boxset of Luther containing 6 discs and with a running time of approx. 812 minutes. Has an age 15 restriction and contains all episodes from the first 3 series. Picture and audio quality are excellent and overall presentation of the set very good.

Idris Elba stars as the dangerously flawed yet ultra moral John Luther a beaten up, life weary London murder squad detective. Luther has major problems with anger which isn't helped by his growing relationship with Alice, Ruth Wilson, who just happens to be a murder suspect and also a psychopath. Alice is the calm, cold, controlled and evil contrast to Luther's manic, lost, rage filled goodness and their pairing was a stroke of absolute genius. They have a huge amount of chemistry and sizzle on screen. Fortunately, for him, Alice is on the side of Luther and they share a strange love/hate relationship throughout the series.

There's not a lot of police procedure, in fact you hardly see the inside of a police station until series 3, the drama's all about Luther as a man and how the events of his life affect his ability as a detective and vice versa. You're more likely to see his emotional distress and personal rage than scenes of him racing through London brandishing a gun. By series 3 things are starting to change, they're certainly ramping up the tension, and there's more violence and gore however; I didn't find Luther particularly graphic or gratuitous. In fact, for a modern day detective drama with such hard hitting storylines, the series is quite unique in that it relies on the quality of acting and scripts rather than the thrill factor.

There's always a sense of threat and mystery hanging around Luther, you're never sure what he'll do, but Idris Elba plays the role with so much passion and fire you can't help but believe in him. I'm hoping they leave him as he is; a good cop who risks becoming a bad cop the deeper he becomes involved with the evil around him.

For me this is one of the best detective series that's been on UK television and Luther is certainly on a level above the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing other than Brilliant, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
I had never watched any of the episodes and due to the amount of people talking about Luther I decided to buy the box set. I have watched the whole box set in one weekend. Its brilliant. I really do recommend buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gritty detective series., 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this series it is full of twists and turns most of which you wouldn't have expected. Anyone who liked the sherlock series with Benedict cumberbatch will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great BBC Entertainment, 25 July 2013
By 
Adam Finn (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Say what you want about the 'Beeb', this is a truly great TV show. Whilst some of the scenes became often grotesque and/or peverted, Luther has maintained interest and a following like no other BBC detective thriller for a while. Without Idris Elba (DCI John Luther) this show would not be what it is. But that's not to take away from excellent performances from Dermot Crowley and Michael Smiley; I also have a soft spot for Ruth Wilson, who is just plain evil!

Once all these episodes drop off the iPlayer this boxset is going to be invaluable. With the third series now over, I know plenty of people (including myself) that will be rewatching series 1, episode 1 on July 29 when this comes out! And for those who haven't had the pleasure of watching, this would be a great present to introduce someone to John Luther.

But this may not be the end of course. Luther, the movie? In a recent interview with Ms Wilson : ""It depends if you go to the origin story of Luther. Alice may be involved, but she may come in at the end. It's that thing of do you go backwards, forwards or sideways?""

Either way - this Boxset is the only natural way to deal with the Luther finale comedown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Great show but be warned that the extras contain big spoilers so don't watch them until you've seen the show first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely love this entire series from beginning to end!, 10 Dec 2013
By 
R. Harper-Wells "RHW" (SA, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
If you haven't watch this, you're missing out. Idris Elba is brilliant and so are the supporting cast. Brilliant gift for any BBC crime fan. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Great British TV series! Fantastic, edge of seat stuff! Highly recommended to anyone who like their Cop dramas. Plenty of twists and turns ....................Nuff said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love luther, 4 Oct 2013
By 
Miss J M Lucey (Sutton, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the first seriesso I couldn't resist buying buying all of the series but I will make sure that I have the light on for the 3rd series as it made me jump.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They were very pleased with it, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a present for a John Luther fan. They were very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Great boxset, good addition to my DVD collection and prompt service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD]
Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] by Stefan Schwartz (DVD - 2013)
12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews