Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (161)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky detective series with plenty of darkness and action.
Boxset of Luther containing 6 discs and with a running time of approx. 812 minutes. Has an age 15 restriction and contains all episodes from the first 3 series. Picture and audio quality are excellent and overall presentation of the set very good.

Idris Elba stars as the dangerously flawed yet ultra moral John Luther a beaten up, life weary London murder squad...
Published 13 months ago by JK

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Bill, with an A List actor
The Emporers new clothes I'm affraid, if enough people say it's great it must be. I was looking forward to this having been told it's one of the best dramas. It's predictable, badly acted especially DCU Rose Teller, and about as dramatic as the bloke who falls off a ladder every week on Casualty. It is a disappointment at best, and only earns one more star than it really...
Published 8 days ago by Dean245


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky detective series with plenty of darkness and action., 1 Aug 2013
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Boxset of Luther containing 6 discs and with a running time of approx. 812 minutes. Has an age 15 restriction and contains all episodes from the first 3 series. Picture and audio quality are excellent and overall presentation of the set very good.

Idris Elba stars as the dangerously flawed yet ultra moral John Luther a beaten up, life weary London murder squad detective. Luther has major problems with anger which isn't helped by his growing relationship with Alice, Ruth Wilson, who just happens to be a murder suspect and also a psychopath. Alice is the calm, cold, controlled and evil contrast to Luther's manic, lost, rage filled goodness and their pairing was a stroke of absolute genius. They have a huge amount of chemistry and sizzle on screen. Fortunately, for him, Alice is on the side of Luther and they share a strange love/hate relationship throughout the series.

There's not a lot of police procedure, in fact you hardly see the inside of a police station until series 3, the drama's all about Luther as a man and how the events of his life affect his ability as a detective and vice versa. You're more likely to see his emotional distress and personal rage than scenes of him racing through London brandishing a gun. By series 3 things are starting to change, they're certainly ramping up the tension, and there's more violence and gore however; I didn't find Luther particularly graphic or gratuitous. In fact, for a modern day detective drama with such hard hitting storylines, the series is quite unique in that it relies on the quality of acting and scripts rather than the thrill factor.

There's always a sense of threat and mystery hanging around Luther, you're never sure what he'll do, but Idris Elba plays the role with so much passion and fire you can't help but believe in him. I'm hoping they leave him as he is; a good cop who risks becoming a bad cop the deeper he becomes involved with the evil around him.

For me this is one of the best detective series that's been on UK television and Luther is certainly on a level above the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BBC's Answer to Danes/Swedish Nordic Noir, 26 Feb 2014
By 
B. D. Compton "Gettysburg" (Johannesburg,South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It has taken me a long time to watch the full 3 series of 'Luther' and the reason for this is that in the not too distant past i watched an episode of it and found it to be completely over the top with a poor storyline. However, i was persuaded to give it another try and i am so glad i did, since it is the nearest thing to the 'Nordic Noir' thrillers such as ' The Killing' and 'The Bridge'. It is not quite as good as the above mentioned but it comes close.

The background music is superb and compliments the storylines extremely well, the photography is outstanding and the acting alround is of the highest quality with the storylines getting only 4 stars as there is one and a half episodes that i thought were totally disfunctional. But don't let that put you off as the 3 series are both gripping and well produced. When i compare this to the much vaunted 'The Fall' with its excellent reviews, there is just no comparison. Juliet Stevenson as the detective in 'The Fall' is totally miscast while Idris is superb as 'Luther'. In fact this TV series compares to the best that the BBC has ever produced.

BBC let us have more of these gritty TV crime series and stop producing innocious ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gritty detective series., 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this series it is full of twists and turns most of which you wouldn't have expected. Anyone who liked the sherlock series with Benedict cumberbatch will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding Stuff, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
I had caught the odd Luther episode on telly but never had the time to see it regularly, so when I found out about this complete boxset I made myself get the supplies in, draw the curtains and watch a disc a day.
The production values are up there with Sherlock, the pacing feels continuous, this is quite good as it gives a sense that Luther's team are out doing their jobs every day, whereas some other murder dramas tend to end episodes as if everyone's really tired and are having a week on leave.
The first series is actually the most harrowing as Luther doggedly chases after some pretty nasty murderers. The other series seem like they're trying top it with some progressively less belivable storylines, but are nevertheless engrossing.
P.S. London could do with wider pavements and passageways, the way Idris Elba swaggers. One for Boris?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing other than Brilliant, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
I had never watched any of the episodes and due to the amount of people talking about Luther I decided to buy the box set. I have watched the whole box set in one weekend. Its brilliant. I really do recommend buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and compelling!, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Someone recommended this series to me when it was first on TV, unless I start watching something from day one I don't bother getting Into it..... and so I ordered it recently. The first episode I wasn't too keen on, but thankfully I persevered. I got completely hooked and found myself watching two or three episodes at a time. Idris Elba is amazing, and you find yourself urging him to develop the relationship with a certain woman ( don't want to spoil it for you!) if you love serial killers you will love this, there are some right sicko's over the 3 series! Order it, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Bill, with an A List actor, 6 Sep 2014
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
The Emporers new clothes I'm affraid, if enough people say it's great it must be. I was looking forward to this having been told it's one of the best dramas. It's predictable, badly acted especially DCU Rose Teller, and about as dramatic as the bloke who falls off a ladder every week on Casualty. It is a disappointment at best, and only earns one more star than it really deserves because I can't believe they somehow got Idris Elba to come back for a 2nd and 3rd season.
When Cumberbatch and Freeman come back for Sherlock it is because of the quality. There is little in Luthor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wowzers. brilliance., 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
On a recent visit to the UK, all I heard people talking about was Luther. Different age ranges, different walks of life, different people all seemed to love this. I bought it and brought it home. I watched the entire three seasons in 3 days. Season one has more episodes than the others, AND they say that the last episode here is the end, there aren't going to be any more…. I won't spoil anything about this series, but it is absolutely brilliant, I was totally sucked in by Luther and his slightly left of centre way of policing and got drawn into his world. I bet you love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great BBC Entertainment, 25 July 2013
By 
Adam Finn (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Say what you want about the 'Beeb', this is a truly great TV show. Whilst some of the scenes became often grotesque and/or peverted, Luther has maintained interest and a following like no other BBC detective thriller for a while. Without Idris Elba (DCI John Luther) this show would not be what it is. But that's not to take away from excellent performances from Dermot Crowley and Michael Smiley; I also have a soft spot for Ruth Wilson, who is just plain evil!

Once all these episodes drop off the iPlayer this boxset is going to be invaluable. With the third series now over, I know plenty of people (including myself) that will be rewatching series 1, episode 1 on July 29 when this comes out! And for those who haven't had the pleasure of watching, this would be a great present to introduce someone to John Luther.

But this may not be the end of course. Luther, the movie? In a recent interview with Ms Wilson : ""It depends if you go to the origin story of Luther. Alice may be involved, but she may come in at the end. It's that thing of do you go backwards, forwards or sideways?""

Either way - this Boxset is the only natural way to deal with the Luther finale comedown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Great show but be warned that the extras contain big spoilers so don't watch them until you've seen the show first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD]
Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] by Stefan Schwartz (DVD - 2013)
12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews