Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely love this entire series from beginning to end!
If you haven't watch this, you're missing out. Idris Elba is brilliant and so are the supporting cast. Brilliant gift for any BBC crime fan. Love it!
Published 4 months ago by R. Harper-Wells

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok.
All been done before this series, just a copy-cat off lots of shows and Luther will not be remembered, Idris Elba will always be Stringer Bell to most of The Wire fans, this series put me to sleep after just one season, not bothered with the 2nd and 3rd, I cant manage it lol.
Published 2 months ago by Mr. R. J. Aston


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely love this entire series from beginning to end!, 10 Dec 2013
By 
R. Harper-Wells "RHW" (SA, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
If you haven't watch this, you're missing out. Idris Elba is brilliant and so are the supporting cast. Brilliant gift for any BBC crime fan. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty Crimefighter - the End Justifies the Means, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Another brilliantly compelling BBC crime drama, but with a twist. Luther's police work raises eyebrows among his superiors, yet it is Luther who can be relied on to solve the most heinous and complex crimes. He even befriends a murderous psychopath who comes to his aid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love luther, 4 Oct 2013
By 
Miss J M Lucey (Sutton, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the first seriesso I couldn't resist buying buying all of the series but I will make sure that I have the light on for the 3rd series as it made me jump.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing other than Brilliant, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
I had never watched any of the episodes and due to the amount of people talking about Luther I decided to buy the box set. I have watched the whole box set in one weekend. Its brilliant. I really do recommend buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great BBC Entertainment, 25 July 2013
By 
Adam Finn (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Say what you want about the 'Beeb', this is a truly great TV show. Whilst some of the scenes became often grotesque and/or peverted, Luther has maintained interest and a following like no other BBC detective thriller for a while. Without Idris Elba (DCI John Luther) this show would not be what it is. But that's not to take away from excellent performances from Dermot Crowley and Michael Smiley; I also have a soft spot for Ruth Wilson, who is just plain evil!

Once all these episodes drop off the iPlayer this boxset is going to be invaluable. With the third series now over, I know plenty of people (including myself) that will be rewatching series 1, episode 1 on July 29 when this comes out! And for those who haven't had the pleasure of watching, this would be a great present to introduce someone to John Luther.

But this may not be the end of course. Luther, the movie? In a recent interview with Ms Wilson : ""It depends if you go to the origin story of Luther. Alice may be involved, but she may come in at the end. It's that thing of do you go backwards, forwards or sideways?""

Either way - this Boxset is the only natural way to deal with the Luther finale comedown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Gripping, unlike any other detective series. Idris Elba's performance as DCI Luther is one of the best to be seen on the small screen.

Sherlock meets Life on Mars in a Columbo stylee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luther, 18 Feb 2014
By 
B. Juez - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful Idris Elba. I am not sure I would like the series so much if it wasn't for him. All the cases he has to solve are so gruesome and mostly violent (against women in particular) that I can't watch some scenes... But London at its grayest is beautifully captures too, so I keep watching episode after episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Great British TV series! Fantastic, edge of seat stuff! Highly recommended to anyone who like their Cop dramas. Plenty of twists and turns ....................Nuff said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely brilliant series, always keeping you on the edge. Definitely worth buying and so good to watch all the series in one hit. very quick delivery from Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just another tortured homicide detective?, 29 Jan 2014
By 
CB (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Same old rubbish, presented in a fresh and engaging way. Biggest assets are the lead actor, and Neil Cross's utterly unsentimental and blackly malignant imagination. The villains are corkers, if hard to watch at times. Shame the 3rd series stumbles into absurd contrivance in the home straight, but the ride until then never loses its grip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2feb570)

This product

Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD]
Luther - Series 1-3 Boxset [DVD] by Stefan Schwartz (DVD - 2013)
13.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews