Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Shake the Walls - Marcus Bonfanti, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SHAKE THE WALLS (Audio CD)
I think this is Marcus Bonfanti's best album to date. There isn't one bad track on the album. In my opinion the best tracks are "Alley Cat", "We all do Bad Sometimes" and "Blind Alley". He has a great voice which perfectly suits this style of music. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can i say, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SHAKE THE WALLS (Audio CD)
Shake The Walls is one of the best CD's that i have bought in the past few years, not only is the cd great but I caught Marcus live in Chester a few weeks ago and he's even better if that can be possible live, seems like a nice guy who loves what he's doing and it shows at his gigs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SHAKE THE WALLS (Audio CD)
Great guitar led blues rock album. Recommended buy for fans of Joe Bonamassa, Rory Gallagher, Joanne Shaw Taylor. Must check out his previous 2 albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rocking stuff, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SHAKE THE WALLS (Audio CD)
Excellent compositions, production is not too overstated, rocking guitar riffs and the vocals are great ... different but great. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Guitar and voice, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shake the Walls (MP3 Download)
Bought the album after seeing MB at Ronnie Scotts blues explosion (every 3rd Sunday), he is a great musician breathing new life into blues. highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 23 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. David Davidson (Bournemouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shake the Walls (MP3 Download)
Had never heard of MB until I tuned into Paul Jones's radio programme on BBC 2 and he played a track from "Shake the Walls". I thought it was so good that it was worth investing in the cost of this album to hear the rest - and I haven't been disappointed. Every track is worth listening to and I really rate MB. Not sure why he isn't a bigger name - or perhaps its just me. Memo to self: find out more about this guy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great musicianship - if a little formulaic, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SHAKE THE WALLS (Audio CD)
Having seen Marcus several times at Ronnie Scotts I knew he was a great musician with a very bluesy voice. Both are evident on this very good album.My only beef would be the slightly formulaic subjects - women and booze. But maybe thats the blues ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shake the Walls - Marcus Bonifanti, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SHAKE THE WALLS (Audio CD)
Excellent eclectic mix of blues enjoyed with a good bottle of wine. Reflects the live stage experience of Marcus very well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars as good, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SHAKE THE WALLS (Audio CD)
first album...loved,second...well.... this one back to original feeling ,more please marcus bonfanti,you set your own benchmarks,they are good enough for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing the House Down, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SHAKE THE WALLS (Audio CD)
Great title for a truly great album from the hugely talented and likeable Marcus Bonfanti. The 11 tracks generate such energy it really can shake your walls played loud enough. It is has such a vibrancy it sounds as though Marcus and the band had a real blast making the album and it captures the high octane atmosphere of the dude's live performance.

How rare too to have a traditional album where less is more, 11 tracks clocking in at just on 40 minutes. No stretched solos and noodling around here, lay it down, crank it up and get out, job done! It's a proper album, linked together perfectly.

Alley Cat sets the tone for the whole album, a classic opener, hammer punches from the off with some heavy duty fuzz laden riffs and Bonfanti's unique raspy vocal wrapped around it, terrific. Followed up immediately with the infectious groove of Cheap Whisky, excellent narrative to the lyrics. Jezebel at track 5 is pure genius, Bonfanti excelling on the Harmonica and the whole band laying down a groove that I defy anyone not to want to move to. Another perfect segue as Jezebel grooves into Stone Me Sober, monster riffing, heavy rhythm section and cool keys.
On the superb My Baby Don't Dance I pick vibes of Bluesy Rolling Stones, tremendous hooks a la Richards, this one will grab hold of you and refuse to let go.
Bonfanti shows his versatility on this album too, with the country hewn vibe of Blind Alley, excellent squally fretwork and that down in the boots vocal combining to stunning effect. Weaved within the album are a couple of slower paced tracks both of which are excellent and draw you in to Bonfanti's great talent to tell a story within a song. We All Do Bad Sometimes and the even better Honey, where Paddy Milner delivers some excellent runs up and down his Hammond.
If I had to pick a favourite track it would be penultimate track, Bang of a Gun, this is a real ripper, staccato, driving hooks bludgeoning throughout. Bonfanti at his most aggressive.As close to a classic rock sound as I have heard from Bonfanti and Planet Rock should pick this one up and plug it like crazy!
Album number 3 from Marcus and his strongest to-date and one that deserves to sell by the bucket load.
Praise to his band mates, Wiber, Reeves and Milner, superb musicians in their own right but here providing a rock solid foundation for this very very talented young man to take the spotlight and shine.
No difficult third album syndrome here, just a riot of an album that will have you begging to search out when the dude is playing at a venue near you!
Shake the Walls must be a contender for Blues album of 2013, it is that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SHAKE THE WALLS
SHAKE THE WALLS by Marcus Bonfanti (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews