Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
32
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£33.81+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2013
Fairy Tail to me is one of the most enjoyable new Shounen anime shows to come out in years. The characters are likable, each have their own unique personalities, and fighting/magical style. And more importantly, this series never gets boring. Be it when you watch for the first time, or the second time, and so forth the show never fails to entertain.

Contains Episodes 25-48
Format: DVD
Audio: English/Japanese
Subtitles: English
Region: 2(DVD)

By now the battle with Phantom Lord is well under way with the members of Fairy Tail tasked with defending their guild, and rescuing Lucy from the Iron Dragon Slayer Gajeel, revelations are revealed when each Element 4 member is defeated, and the Abyss Break spell starts to slow, assuming once all 4 members of the Element 4 are defeated the guild members are resolved in their battles to win to save both the guild and Hargeon.

Of course in this arc Lucy takes center stage. Following this arc is the Loki arc. A small 3 episode arc focusing on the character Loki, it's quite touching and fits in perfectly with the story.

Also in this boxset is the Tower of Heaven arc. This arc is more focused on Erza and many things in her past that come back to haunt her. Featuring a fair amount of backstory of various characters associated with Erza, and lots of battles, this arc was kinda fun.

The final arc in this boxset is the Fighting Festival Arc. Basically Laxus thinks he should be the leader of Fairy Tail and proclaims himself the strongest, at the same time pitting members of Fairy Tail against one another, with the grand prize being a battle between him and whoever is left. There is lots of action here and its great for seeing the various fighting styles of the Fairy Tail guild members.

And that's it. An action packed volume with a lot of emotion. The dub is good, sub too.

Worth noting that Funimation has licensed Fairy Tail beyond Episode 100 in America, while these come out in 12 episode boxsets prior to collections like these. We should be seeing up to Volume 9 in English here. Just a matter of waiting.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
I absolutely love Fairy Tail. I find the characters really interesting and, for the most part, likeable. The writing and plot is good, and I really enjoy the lengthy arcs that they do. The characters and writing are good enough to pull you in, and prompt emotional reactions.

The packaging is sufficient and the artwork is nice.

WARNING: COLLECTION 5 ONWARDS IS NO LONGER PRODUCED IN THE UK.

I only recently discovered anime, and as I was due to have surgery, I bought a few DVD box sets to explore whilst I was recovering. I bought Collections 1-4 of Fairy Tail and noticed that Collection 5, according to Wikipedia, was due out in November in the UK.

It never came out.

Two weeks after the supposed release date and Manga UK were still ignoring all of my Facebook and Twitter messages. They also ignored e-mails to info@mangauk.com. They still haven't replied to this day actually.

Apparently, according to many trustworthy sources, Manga UK lost the distribution rights for Fairy Tail in the UK. You will now need a multi region DVD or Blu Ray player and will have to buy from abroad to get Collection 5 onwards (5 having only come out in November 2015). The US version might be cheapest, but it is a DVD/Blu-ray combo and so costs about £10 more than the UK one did. The packaging also includes the addition of a thick blue Blu-ray/DVD combo pack label across the top, which might upset people with OCD who have the first 4 collections with the different, UK packaging.

I did a lot of research into it and found one really, really, really, obscure announcement on an anime/manga website which officially announced Manga UK ceasing production after collection 4. It wasn't easy to find though and they still released collection 4 long after this announcement. For those like me, new to anime, buying these box sets after the one single announcement was made about the discontinuation of region 2 DVDs, then it's a little annoying.

Some US based vendors are listing the US region 1 box sets on the UK Amazon (thank you!).
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
The adventures of Natsu, Happy and Lucy continue in this box set. The background to the main characters begins to be told in this box set. We learn more about Grey and his dark past. Lucy the run away celestial wizard, Happy the cat Natsu's ever faithful friend and Natsu himself and the ever powerful Erza and her will to keep everyone in line. This unlikely team set about breaking the curse on an island.
Fairy Tail is a really great anime that's funny, exciting and sometimes heartbreaking. The characters are complex and deep each with a very different story yet skilfully woven together to paint the larger picture of the world. Natsu who seems to rush headlong regardless in search for Igneel, Grey and his quest for redemption, Lucy searching for her place to belong and Erza and her mysterious past.
The animation is lovely the colours, expressions and background all add to the feel of this whole other magical world.
The sound and picture quality on these dvds is crisp and clear. I also like the option of Japanese dub with English subtitles. I think it just flows better in the language it was originally writen and performed with.
I'm a huge fan of this anime and it's certainly a must for any collection. If you're look for something fun and easy going maybe you're a fan of one piece and looking for something else to watch. Fairy Tail is one not to be missed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
I originally watched the show a coupel of years ago via a legal streaming site with subtitles, after noticing MangaUK had released it as nice handy sized chunks on dvd i grabbed both parts for some fun macap anime watchign over xmas and was not diisappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
Item received as described, and in very good time.

Lucy Heartfilia is a 17-year-old celestial wizard who runs away from home to join Fairy Tail, a rambunctious wizards' guild whose members are famous for their overly destructive antics. Along the way, she meets Natsu Dragneel, a boy who is traveling the land of Fiore together with his partner Happy, a blue flying cat, in search of his foster parent, a dragon named Igneel who had disappeared seven years earlier. Lucy is soon abducted by a renegade wizard posing as the famous Salamander of Fairy Tail. Natsu rescues Lucy, revealing himself to be the real Salamander and a Dragon Slayer, a wizard with the abilities of a dragon. After defeating the imposter, Natsu invites Lucy to join Fairy Tail.

Fairy Tail is an excellent series, and a valued addition to anyone's library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
In my opinion this is a brilliant series, it is part of my top 3, the 1st being Naruto, the 2nd is Fairy Tail and the 3rd is One Piece. All in all a brilliant series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
I bought this as a replacement Christmas gift and my sister loves it! She got me watching it and i am HOOKED! :) It's fantastic i would recommend this to anyone that was thinking of buying it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
Got for my wife as shes into anime and has different dvds of things and she collects them got this for her as she hasnt seen or got this and i must say its a great pick love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
It was received quickly and was kept in good condition, the DVD itself was spotless and on my TV worked well with no faults.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
Though i love the anime and would love to give 5 stars the case was broken on delivery but other than that i cant complain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)