Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Those who laugh will surely fall"
The review in Record Mirror of Ultravox's 1981 `Rage in Eden' album described it as "Tepid in the extreme ... a complete lack of ideas", but Melody Maker declared of it: "Confirmation, consolidation, and CLASS." Record Mirror laughed and proceeded to fall, not lasting as long as their rivals.

I was there in 1981, and smitten: `Rage in Eden' is a passionate...
Published 14 months ago by Nicholas Casley

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Rage at this Remaster
The second Ultravox with Midge Ure LP has now been restored to the glory of the original release, with the sound and graphics improved beyond the first CD release. The hits The Thin Wall and The Voice will be familiar to most fans, but gems such as Rage in Eden, Accent on Youth and I Remember are worth a listen.
Published on 10 Mar 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Those who laugh will surely fall", 8 Feb 2013
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The review in Record Mirror of Ultravox's 1981 `Rage in Eden' album described it as "Tepid in the extreme ... a complete lack of ideas", but Melody Maker declared of it: "Confirmation, consolidation, and CLASS." Record Mirror laughed and proceeded to fall, not lasting as long as their rivals.

I was there in 1981, and smitten: `Rage in Eden' is a passionate album, full of anger and angst: perfect for a sixteen-year-old Romantic. `Vienna' was always going to be a hard act to follow, but - dare I say it - `Rage in Eden' is even better, with both `The Voice' and `The Thin Wall' as definitely five-star tracks. Indeed, there is no duff track throughout this set (although `Accent on youth' does underperform).

The lack of an instrumental is made up for by extended sections at the heart of songs or at their end: the two-minutes of `The Ascent' is really a segued continuation of `Accent on Youth'. Quite a few of the tracks are over six minutes in length, with `Stranger Within' over seven.

This is a review of the remastered two-disc set released by Chrysalis in 2008. The remastered sound seems to favour the guitar, and the music seems to have lost some of the original's wall-of-sound epic atmosphere, resulting in a more disparate feel to the noise. It therefore has less focus, less heart, but is more solid: the difference is, to say the least, `interesting'.

The second disc of this set provides sixty-six minutes of extras: B-sides, live versions, works-in-progress. The strength of `Rage in Eden' is shown by even the B-sides being strong tracks. To me, `Rage in Eden' is Ultravox's greatest album, but those who know this "will always feel their backs against the thin wall."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Release Of A Great Album, 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To me this is the best Ultravox album - it is packed with great tracks, has a more consistent feel and message than its also very good predecessor Vienna and, save for a few stratospheric highs in Quartet, all their following albums are but pale shadows. I already had the vinyl and the original not-remastered CD release and I will confirm that on my HiFi this remaster sounds very good. There are, of course, plenty of extra tracks in the 2 CD release too all of which are welcome and worthwhile. It's also great to see the excellent original Rage In Eden artwork make a reappearance in the "furniture" of its plusher than average CD package but I believe this will revert back to the "horses" on later copies due to licensing limitations (so buyers, don't be surprised if the picture you see in this advert isn't the one you receive). I'm altogether delighted with the fresh life that this Definitive Edition has breathed into one of my all time favourite albums and recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trouble in paradise? Not a bit of it!, 1 Oct 2008
What can I say about an album I still cherish?

Ultravox were faced with a real mountain to climb after Vienna went to number two in the UK in February 1981. The pressure was on to come up with something equally memorable and innovative and yet time was short: both Billy Currie and Midge Ure were still involved with Visage so Rage In Eden came together slowly - over three months - at the late Conny Plank's rural studio in Germany. The recording wasn't without its setbacks, the least of all being drummer Warren Cann breaking his arm in a car crash!

My memories abound with this album: buying The Thin Wall 12" in a Blackpool record shop and waiting a week to hear it on my stereo, seeing the band live at Crystal Palace Bowl where they played The Thin Wall for the first time and then buying the album on the day of release before seeing them play a blinder at Hammersmith that October, just weeks after its release.

Vienna is probably their greatest album but Rage runs it a close second.
There are no weak songs here although the media at the time were united in
their ridicule. Kicking-off with the sparky and contrasting The Voice and We Stand Alone before the atmospheric title track and possibly the album's highlight, I Remember (Death In The Afternoon), a track which contained everything that Ultravox had achieved to that point in an accessible, uptempo song-based format.

It's not just about Monroe but also hearing about the deaths of Kennedy, Dean, Lennon and several others; it's more roundabout than specifically about certain dead celebs. That it borrows its title from Hemingway's sublime work is also part of the atmos they were trying to create here and the image involved (based on the fashion of the 1940s, Evelyn Waugh etc).

The second side is a different creature; the shade to the first side's light if you like. Stranger Within is an intense, challenging track, focussing as it does on personal paranoia, Ure's voice in the middle break being both vulnerable, intimate and then full of relief when he delivers the final line. It's quite something, even now. The final three songs are a linked trilogy, detailing a generic teenage journey. To say this chimed with me aged 15 at the time is somewhat of an understatement. Read the lyrics and you'll understand.

The b-sides and live stuff complete a fully-rounded re-issued package that's well worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best album, 28 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fully agree with the reviewers who've sung this album's praises.

The extras are mostly repeats but I was very impressed with the early version of 'The Thin Wall', which I acutally think is superior to the released mix. The percussion is more straightforward and less awkward. The guitars seem clearer. I never expected to hear one of my favourite songs sound even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best!, 18 Feb 2009
By 
B. Van Den Heuvel "Biker Bob" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Owning the vinyl record since 1981, upgrading to CD in the '90s and then to the Extended version of 2000, this disc is my FOURTH version of this utterly superb album. And it has blown me away! It is a masterful remaster of Ultravox's best album. The detail in music is much richer than the previous versions, the basses are much more pronounced and the highs have been enhanced and it sounds like you haven't heard before. Get this album, even if you have one of the other aforementioned versions, it's that much better. It's worth it for the remasters alone. The bonus CD is a nice addition, but most U-Vox fans will have these songs already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Memories, 2 Dec 2013
By 
G. Robertson "Gazman" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rage In Eden (Audio CD)
Some songs a bit dated now, but still worth a listen right the way through. Thin wall still does it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rage In Eden (MP3 Download)
This is one of the best albums of all time. I love it and I don't have to explain my reasons, it's part of me :) But it's still better on vinyl ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Revisting Eden, 26 April 2013
Yes,Another remaster but you get original album plus 2nd Cd with b-sides and live tracks they could of put on The Voice and The Thin Wall extended versions but they are available on Extended Ultravox but would of been more complete if added,Still this is the best Rage In Eden on Cd so far and at under 7 its a bargin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars old school 80s, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rage In Eden (Audio CD)
Takes me back to the early 80's all new and at the top of the tree so powerful and strong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Utterly preposterous, utterly brilliant, 30 July 2004
This review is from: Rage In Eden (Audio CD)
It would be easy to put my liking for Ultravox's music down to the dual follies of youth and the 1980s. Sadly, that's not the case. I still love this stuff. Anyone under 30 probably won't understand how the words "They shuffle with a bovine grace and glide in syncopation" sung by a Scottish man with pointy sideburns over a galloping sequenced bassline accompanied by outrageous screeching guitars played by men resembling geography teachers can be an exciting musical experience. All I can say is, "You weren't there!".

(Incidentally, I would have given this album 5 stars, except that I do feel "Your Name has Slipped my Mind Again" and "Stranger Within" drag it down a bit.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb60ba534)

This product

Rage in Eden
Rage in Eden by Ultravox
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews