Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting, 1 Dec. 2013
By 
This review is from: Birds Requiem (Audio CD)
I think this might be the most beautiful album of 2013; it is certainly the most beautiful jazz album I have heard this year. Dhafer Youseff plays the oud, though this isn't the predominant instrument throughout the 11 tracks, and the accompanying band, especially Nils Petter Molvaer on trumpet, Husnu Senlendirici on clarinet, and Krisjan Randalu on piano, provide the layers of majestic music that wrap the occasional oud playing in a deeply soothing to soaring journey. The most astonishing and exquisite sound is Youseff's vocal, a sonic falsetto that mesmerises to absolute aural contentment. I don't know if it is supported in any way, or wholly natural, but what I do know is it is sublime. When the clarinet and voice combine at their beautifully piercing pitch, it is aurally uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds Requiem (Audio CD)
This is simply one of the most beautiful albums I have ever heard. His voice in and range is amazing. Repeat playings only confirm ones first opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a beautiful album. I think it could by my favourite ..., 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds Requiem (Audio CD)
Such a beautiful album. I think it could by my favourite of his. :) hard choice with him to be honest. as Digital Profecy and Abu Nawas Rhapsody are also divine. Buy it, you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds Requiem (Audio CD)
A beautyful record..Magnificent voice!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds Requiem (Audio CD)
This is the disc of the year he can fly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 24 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Birds Requiem (Audio CD)
"Birds Requiem" is, sort of, a return of Dhafer Youssef to his musical roots. That is, the feeling of the music is somewhat as his earliest work, bit it feels new nonetheless. The music is full of emotions and it feels stripped down; there are not too many electronics or effects, which is no loss, because the music is very much alive. Lastly, Youssef's voice is still strong and can cope with the high notes, despite the fact that he is not a young man anymore. "Birds Requiem" is an impressive piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds Requiem (Audio CD)
Ilove it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 22 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Birds Requiem (Audio CD)
Very good and Wonderful music. I can't stop listening to this Audio CD. Dhafer youssef is a great sound. Come to Sweden Dhafer it will be nice to listen to this new album Live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds Requiem (Audio CD)
Nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Birds Requiem (Audio CD)
See you soon again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Birds Requiem
Birds Requiem by Dhafer Youssef (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews