Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remember there are surprises in store.
So Wade Jackson is back. The shocking events which occurred at the end of the last book in the series( Rules of Crime (A Detective Jackson Mystery) ) are having a negative effect in his life and that of the daughter he loves so much. In the midst of all his despair over the child who appears to hate him, he has had to return to work and his boss makes it clear that if...
Published 21 months ago by Aurora

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad read
This is a solid crime novel with a convoluted plot told from a thoroughly American view point (eco-terrorists don't exist in the UK, except in the form of Swampy types). It starts with one character looking at a murder and then the story sweeps into an FBI investigation of eco terrorists, involving different characters, which I found made the reading experience a bit...
Published 21 months ago by p r neil


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remember there are surprises in store., 19 Oct. 2013
By 
Aurora (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimes of Memory (A Detective Jackson Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
So Wade Jackson is back. The shocking events which occurred at the end of the last book in the series( Rules of Crime (A Detective Jackson Mystery) ) are having a negative effect in his life and that of the daughter he loves so much. In the midst of all his despair over the child who appears to hate him, he has had to return to work and his boss makes it clear that if he can't put the time in, then maybe it is time to retire, but Jackson isn't ready for that, he feels he still has much to give. A peculiar murder takes over his life, in the same way that every murder he investigates does - this is no way to re-connect with Katie but what can he do? He signs her up with a highly recommended counsellor, will she be able to help or will it just make things worse? How much worse can things get?
Once again the police department's investigation butts up against an FBI investigation but no-one realises just how much the two investigations will resonate. Surely there is no connection, but this is where the book title comes into its own. Although the author dangles the perpetrator in front of us for a while, and then confirms his identity well before the end of the book, there are still surprises in store - knowing who done it, isn't the end of the story - not by a long chalk.

Even if you haven't read any of the other books in the series, this one will stand alone, you don't even have to know what happened in the last book to enjoy this one, all will become clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant insight into the life of Wade Jackson, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimes of Memory (A Detective Jackson Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
Since pre-ordering Crimes of Memory, I have been waiting with baited breath for it to download and was delighted when it arrived.
Once again, the author takes us on another roller coaster ride through the life & times of Detective Wade Jackson and yet nothing distracts from the gritty story lines that always bring the reader back for more. Already waiting on the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimes of Memory (A Detective Jackson Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
Once again, Ms Sellers has written a compelling and very enjoyable story. The structure of 'Crimes of Memory' is similar to some of her earlier stories, in that we follow two separate and seemingly unconnected investigations. In this story Wade Jackson, a detective in the violent crimes unit, heads the investigation of the murder of a man recently released from prison, whilst Carla River, a local FBI agent, investigates the activities of some local eco-terrorists. Unsurprisingly, the two investigations eventually connect with each other - although not until the very end of the story, and then in a dramatic, if somewhat unlikely way.
I certainly enjoy Ms Sellers' crime thrillers, having read most of the previous stories in the Wade Jackson series. If you've not yet read any, I can definitely recommend them. But I suggest you don't start with 'Crimes of Memory'. Each story in the series is populated by a longer cast of characters, many of whom appear in subsequent stories, so it could be rather confusing starting here, notwithstanding the helpful list at the beginning of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crimes of Memory by L.J. Sellers (Detective Jackson Mystery #8), 5 Jan. 2015
Detective Jackson is called onto a new homicide case, the murder of a homeless man. Wade Jackson needs, and want to be at home spending more time with his teenage daughter Katie, since the death of her mother her behaviour is getting seriously out of control.

Agents River and Dallas are investigating an explosion in a water bottle factory; they think it may be linked to an eco-terrorist group named Love the Earth. With a long line of suspects each one holding back the truth the agents must move fast before the bombers strike again.

From the books explosive start at the beginning of the book; I knew I was in for a good read. L.J. Sellers never disappoints, with her perfectly put together crime thrillers that leave you reading on, and on without wanting to stop. You are so gripped that you cannot wait to see what will happen next, as each chapter is action packed full of action and tension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad read, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimes of Memory (A Detective Jackson Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
This is a solid crime novel with a convoluted plot told from a thoroughly American view point (eco-terrorists don't exist in the UK, except in the form of Swampy types). It starts with one character looking at a murder and then the story sweeps into an FBI investigation of eco terrorists, involving different characters, which I found made the reading experience a bit choppy, as the two stories are unrelated. However, the pace is good and there are a few surprises that I certainly did not see coming. I did not really feel I properly engaged with any of the characters but it was a decent and well crafted read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Reasonable holiday read, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimes of Memory (A Detective Jackson Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
A bit too many of the leading charactures have too many personal issues or is this the way it is in states.
I was able to read the book in several sessions but it did not grip me enough to read for a long session.
Was okay for the price, would have been disappointed if I had paid full price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More trouble in Eugene, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimes of Memory (A Detective Jackson Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
L.J. Sellers writes crime novels set in her own fairly small city of Eugene, Oregon and with some courage since she takes on dubious religious cults and cost cutting police and prison services.
Most of her books, including this one, feature Detective Jackson, who like all good detectives has a troubled family life.
Crimes of Memory centres on a group of eco-warriors and murders that may or may not be connected to them.
One of their targets is a spring water bottling plant which they object to because people just throw away the plastic bottles (and tap water is usually just as good anyway).
It gets nasty and there is a hostage situation. It's a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fast moving thriller with a surprising twist, 18 Jan. 2014
By 
H. Cowan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimes of Memory (A Detective Jackson Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
With all his domestic issues it really is surprising that Detective Jackson ever solves a murder at all. This novel is written with a new slant from Sellers' previous approach. There is much more going on in parallel and this keeps the reader fully focussed on the two story lines. The index of characters at he beginning certainly helps to keep track of who's who! It is so fast moving and the reader cannot help but wonder if the story lines will ever converge but they do and in a most surprsing way.
This is quite the best of the series that I have read so far and well worth a read on a cold, wet and windy night by the fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm going to download the next in the series now, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimes of Memory (A Detective Jackson Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
Hopefully L.J. Sellers continues to write more for this series. I want to follow Detective Jackson to the end of his career. It would be a great idea if his daughter Katie Jackson followed in her father's footsteps. I just can't seem to put my kindle down. I reckon I have burned through so much electricity keeping it charged. This one had a big twist at the end but that's what I love about the author. Nothing is ever as it seems. I sat mouth open, in complete shock at the twist in this one. Be careful who you trust and tell your secret to. Love the series and am sad that they will come to an end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read on a rainy day, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimes of Memory (A Detective Jackson Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
This was a good 'who done it' that kept my interest right to the end. The story moved along at a good pace, was well written and had an interesting twist at the end. The only criticism is that I don't find the characters in this series are developed enough for me to feel that I am getting to know them. All the relationships - both professional and personal - seem superficial and a bit cliched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews