Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Psychological Thriller
Journalist Patrick Bannister's hateful mother had sucked any feelings of love from him when he was a child so he never knew it existed until he met fellow student Marybeth, the only love of his life. He watched her die in a fire started deliberately. Haunted by the arson and scorched body he had seen resulted in emotional turmoil causing him to lose his job and end up in...
Published 16 months ago by ACB(swansea)

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Really disappointed. I thoroughly enjoyed the first book
Really disappointed. I thoroughly enjoyed the first book, 'The Lion, The lamb, The hunted' and was looking forward to another good read. This book bored me and although I wanted to find out what happened in the end, I gave up about three quarters of the way through. It was repetitive and I just couldn't engage with the characters .
Published 7 months ago by Margaret


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Psychological Thriller, 4 Nov. 2013
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darkness & Shadows (A Patrick Bannister Psychological Thriller Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Journalist Patrick Bannister's hateful mother had sucked any feelings of love from him when he was a child so he never knew it existed until he met fellow student Marybeth, the only love of his life. He watched her die in a fire started deliberately. Haunted by the arson and scorched body he had seen resulted in emotional turmoil causing him to lose his job and end up in therapy sessions. Confusion, anger, guilt and loss of self-esteem were heightened by a news bulletin. A wealthy cancer specialist and his wife , Wesley and Charlene Clark, were missing. Patrick thought he was losing his mind as the photo on screen of Charlene was Marybeth, dead for 15 years. Exhaustive searches could find no evidence that Marybeth had ever existed. A confused and sad Patrick's anxiety and determination drives him to find the truth, embarking on a journey he is about to find is jam-packed with hazardous encounters and incidents ultimately life-threatening. He is aided by an unlikely ally, street-wise and hard-nosed petty criminal, Tristan, a fellow sufferer of life.

This is a fast-moving tense and suspenseful psychological thriller with a continuous flow of taut action. The mystery generated is fuelled by a string of cleverly constructed twists and surprises in the author's masterly, intriguing narrative. The characters are well-drawn, the therapy sessions revealing and the bonding of Patrick and Tristan may lead to future encounters. Also a word for the delightful Bullet, Patrick's dog. This is a top-class entertaining thriller and a page-turning read. A fabulous novel from Andrew E. Kaufman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Darkness and Shadows, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darkness & Shadows (A Patrick Bannister Psychological Thriller Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
One of those books that kept you guessing till the truth was revealed. The two main characters so damaged, yet so interesting in their pain and determination. Complementing each other with their own inner and different strengths. Really enjoyable read. I thank my sister for recommending this story and introducing me to a new author. Look forward to reading more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darkness & Shadows (A Patrick Bannister Psychological Thriller Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The pace of this book is pretty fast. It was an enjoyable read and I did not guess the outcome. Only irritation was the sections covering Patrick's sessions with his therapist - not sure how accurate this was compared to real life, but didn't seem to be very helpful to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 18 Nov. 2013
By 
Cathy "Audiobook junkie!" (Ilminster, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Darkness and Shadows continues the story of Patrick Bannister, who was first introduced in The Lion, The Lamb and The Hunted, and immediately I was drawn back into Patrick's world and into an absorbing and gripping suspense thriller. It's a dark and very intense storyline which takes you on an exciting roller coaster of a journey.

Patrick is still suffering from his abusive past and the loss of his first love, Marybeth, from his college days and, after seeing a news report of a missing couple, is thrown into a state of confusion and torment. The conversations Patrick has in session with his therapist are great rending and superbly written.

Nothing is as it seems and as Patrick finds out more and more his life is turned upside down and he has to find out the truth whatever it takes. There are some really good plot twists along the way and the discoveries Patrick makes about Marybeth lead him to question his own perceptions of the truth.

I love the interaction between Patrick and Tristan, who he meets at the therapist's office. She's a great character addition, interesting with a shady past and a tough attitude.

Performance

There is so much emotion throughout the story and Luke Daniels' narration captures it perfectly, adding impact and feeling without being overly dramatic. A compelling listening experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars darkness and shadows, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darkness & Shadows (A Patrick Bannister Psychological Thriller Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
darkness and shadows is a deep and at times disturbing book but an excellent read away from the run of the mill mysteries. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent page-turner, 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darkness & Shadows (A Patrick Bannister Psychological Thriller Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Patrick Bannister is a desperately damaged human being, with a great need to get to the truth about a past love, no matter what the cost to himself. Unfortunately it is not just him who gets hurt in his quest. A brilliantly twisting and fast paced thriller with an engaging (although at times highly irritating) hero. I greatly enjoyed the previous Andrew E.K. Kaufman book about Patrick Bannister and this one didn't disappoint.
Loved the rapport between hero and dog!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... Kaufman book I've read and they just keep getting better. Love Patrick's character but I just wish something ..., 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darkness & Shadows (A Patrick Bannister Psychological Thriller Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Third Andrew Kaufman book I've read and they just keep getting better. Love Patrick's character but I just wish something happy could happen. I liked the fact bullet (from the previous book) had a starring role and hope he's in any further novels. Enjoyable with plenty of twists and turns along the way. Well written and thought out, can't wait for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The start of something special!!, 7 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Darkness & Shadows (A Patrick Bannister Psychological Thriller Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the third Kaufman novel I have read and the second in the bannister series. I was impressed by his other 2 pieces of work and this was every bit a match for them. Kaufman has you guessing the outcome and thinking about who's betraying who throughout and it keeps your interest really high until the very end. I hope for more in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Really disappointed. I thoroughly enjoyed the first book, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darkness & Shadows (A Patrick Bannister Psychological Thriller Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Really disappointed. I thoroughly enjoyed the first book, 'The Lion, The lamb, The hunted' and was looking forward to another good read. This book bored me and although I wanted to find out what happened in the end, I gave up about three quarters of the way through. It was repetitive and I just couldn't engage with the characters .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Darkness and shadows, 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darkness & Shadows (A Patrick Bannister Psychological Thriller Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first of this author I've read. I enjoyed the way personal emotions were woven through the story. Will be reading more of this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews