Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'A SCORE TO SETTLE' (HOW LONG CAN A GRUDGE BE HELD ?)
Thirty years have past since Henry 'Razor' Sharp'(Sylvester Stallone) and 'Billy 'The Kid' McDonnen'
(Robert De Niro) faced each other in the ring, the score stands at one apiece.
There 'History' between them, they certainly don't care for each other, after a scuffle that had been
filmed on a camera-phone hits the 'web' a lot of interest is generated...
Published 11 months ago by rbmusicman

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected
Implausibility aside, I really enjoyed this. I found it very funny, sometimes touching and thought that the boxing segments were well staged. Although I did wince a couple of times at the thought of two pensioners knocking lumps out of each other. The two leads work well with a sensitive and engaging script which plays to their on screen strengths and the relatively high...
Published 10 months ago by Steven


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'A SCORE TO SETTLE' (HOW LONG CAN A GRUDGE BE HELD ?), 1 Jun. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grudge Match [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Thirty years have past since Henry 'Razor' Sharp'(Sylvester Stallone) and 'Billy 'The Kid' McDonnen'
(Robert De Niro) faced each other in the ring, the score stands at one apiece.
There 'History' between them, they certainly don't care for each other, after a scuffle that had been
filmed on a camera-phone hits the 'web' a lot of interest is generated.
The two are offered big-bucks to have a overdue re-match, by boxing promoter 'Dante Slate' who will
promote the meet as a 'Grudge-Match.
'Razor' really needs the cash, bills have piled-up, while 'Billy' just wants to be ahead of the count\....
so the fight is on.
'Dante' (Mason Mackie) will have to raise public awareness so the meeting isn't played out in an
empty arena, no audience, no money.
These guys are seriously out of condition, their training schedules bring plenty of ''light'' moments
to proceedings, 'Billy' eventually enlists the help of 'B.J' the son he'd known little about until now,
'Razor' relies on old friend and mentor 'Louis 'Lightning' Conlon' to put him through his paces.
Their past in the shape of 'Sally' (Kim Basinger) is back in both fighters lives, for different reasons,
however in different ways her presence will enrich both their lives.
Screen legends 'Robert De Niro' and 'Sylvester Stallone' role back the years, both having starred
in 'Boxing-movies' many moons ago, it seems, 'Sly' in the 'Rocky' series of course, 'De Niro' in
'Raging Bull'
Though there are no Oscars to be won the film is an entertaining watch, with many moments of
humour along the way, and of course the 'Fight' itself, which visually is pretty impressive considering
the ages of our two 'Stars'
'Don't miss the take-outs at the end of the film.
Well worth a spin.
Special Features -
More Hilarious moments with 'Kevin Hart' -
in the ring with 'Kevin Hart' - 'Kevin Hart' unedited.
Legends of the Ring - featuring 'Tyson' and 'Holyfield' - Blow by Blow with 'Larry Holmes'
Plus - an alternative opening and two alternative endings.....plus - More.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected, 19 July 2014
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Grudge Match [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Implausibility aside, I really enjoyed this. I found it very funny, sometimes touching and thought that the boxing segments were well staged. Although I did wince a couple of times at the thought of two pensioners knocking lumps out of each other. The two leads work well with a sensitive and engaging script which plays to their on screen strengths and the relatively high regard enjoyed by the memory of their great boxing movies of yesteryear. Stallone gets to be the wounded, sensitive hero whilst DeNiro is the equally wounded, but slightly arrogant opponent. The story revolves around two ex champs who are called in to do some green screen CGI work on the latest console boxing game; a timing mix up has them arrive at the same time and an old arguement flares resulting in a fight. The media furore ends with the match of the title being organised.

There are some convaluted relationship aspects to the screenplay which also affords enough screen time for Kim Bassinger to outclass many other actresses leaving me to wonder why she doesn't appear on screen more often. Kevin Hart and Alan Arkin provide ample smiles and a lovely joke about an ageing trainer called lightning.

This could've been seen as silly, or horrible even, but for me, it manages to walk a fine line between gentle drama and sports movie and I found its subtle charms very easy to appreciate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OLD MAD MEN, 12 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Grudge Match [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Razor (Sylvester Stallone) and The Kid (Robert De Niro) were two boxing rivals and greats from Pittsburgh. They has each won one match against each other. The third match didn't happen because Razor quit boxing and eventually went to work in the steel mills. The Kid went on to become a successful business man. The film makes Razor the good guy and The Kid the bad guy. Sally ( Kim Basinger ) was the reason for rift that existed between the two boxers. Years later Razor needs money and is offered money for the match which he reluctantly accepts.

The film slightly builds off their old boxing movies, but is hardly a spoof. In fact that was the best part of the film, and they opted to limit it. The script was as unconvincing as "Last Vegas" with both comedies having too much drama.

Shot in Pittsburgh. Recommend as a decent rental.

Parental Guide: 1 f-bomb. Implied sex. No nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's the best they got!, 17 Nov. 2014
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Grudge Match [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
30 years after their last boxing bout which left them 1:1, now pushing 60, rival Pittsburgh boxers Henry 'Razor' Sharp (Stallone) & Billy 'The Kid' McDonnen (De Nero) are coaxed back into a grudge match to finally decide who is the better boxer once & for all.

Overall Grudge Match is in a way a parody-esque comedy/drama of the Rocky movies (perhaps Raging Bull as well, but iv'e never seen that movie), where Sly & Bobby let their hair down & poke a little fun at themselves being over the hill. The opening flashback quickly pieces together the boxers past glories with some very well done effects of them in their real life younger days. As the film picks up with them 30 years down the line having very different lives as 60 something's. The greedy son of their old manager, Dante (Hart), whose fallen on hard times. Decides to try & reunite them for a grudge match revival. However as we discover, there are legitimate reasons for their 30 year feud & hatred towards each other. But nevertheless both men have different reasons to get back into the ring. All of which resurface these old wounds, new discoveries & 2nd chances to possibly make a mends. With the central theme of the guys promoting the fight, trying to train & get back into shape. Which all adds some good comedy that mostly lands it's punches, heartfelt drama & sports film nostalgia. Culminating in a big fight finale that was surprisingly well executed & entertaining (keep watching after the credits for some extra fun).

The casting is pretty much spot on. Sylvester Stallone (Rocky) is at home playing a parody of his Rocky character & still looks in pretty good shape i might add. He has a good believable, competitive rapport with Robert De Niro (Raging Bull) who like Sly, does a great job of combining & conveying , comedy & drama that keeps you engaged with characters that you want to see what happens to them. A strong supporting cast of old & new faces adds plenty of depth with likable characters. Alan Arkin (Argo) is perfect as Sly's curmudgeonly trainer Louis 'Lightning' Conlon, obviously a nod to the late, great, Burgess Meredith (Rocky). Kevin Hart (Ride Along) is very funny in small doses as a pure comedy relief character who pops in/out along the way. Jon Bernthal (The Walking Dead) & Kim Basinger (L.A. Confidential) are credible as the son & mother who stir up past & present dilemmas. There's also a few cameos from famous sports people/personalities of past & present to add some fun & nostalgia.

In conclusion, Grudge Match is a lighthearted take on Rocky, a simple heartwarming sports comedy. If you enjoyed The Longest Yard or Here Comes the Boom chances are you'll like this. Contains mild language, violence & mature themes. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rocky Gets Ready to Rumble with Raging Bull, 16 Nov. 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Grudge Match [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Sly Stallone plays Henry "Razor" Sharp, a former boxing champ who's making a living as a blue collar factory worker, and has money worries. Robert De Niro plays Billy "The Kid" McDonnen, another former boxing champ, who now makes a living as a nightclub comedy act, sharing a stage with a glove puppet.
The two boxers were great rivals thirty years earlier, and had two fights, each winning one. A planned third fight proved abortive, and De Niro has never come to terms with the fact that Sly pulled out of the last fight.
Kim Basinger is the love interest, she plays Sly's former girlfriend, but she also had a fling with De Niro, and the three of them have unfinished business to resolve.
Kevin Hart plays Dante, a wheeler dealer boxing promoter who wants to get the two old rivals back in the ring, with a view to making a fast buck (he features in a very funny closing sketch during the end credits, with Mike Tyson and Evander Holyfield).
The two boxers cross paths when they are hired to do some green screen CGI work for a video games company. One thing leads to another, and they agree to a deciding re-match in a big stadium.
De Niro discovers that he's a family man, and gets to know the son and grandson he never knew he had. Basinger attempts to rekindle her romance with Sly - she's still might fine looking and gives probably the best performance in the film - it's a shame that Hollywood tends to neglect some fabulous actresses once they're the wrong side of about thirty five.
This is a "feel-good" movie, which obviously harks back to Sly and De Niro in some of their all-time great roles, namely Rocky and Raging Bull - Rocky Heavyweight Collection (Contains all 6 Rocky films) [Blu-ray], Raging Bull (30th Anniversary Special Edition) [Blu-ray] [1980].
I really wanted to love this film, I've been a fan of the stars of this movie for well over thirty years. However, although it's certainly watchable, it really drags in the middle third. Sadly, Sly and De Niro don't have a great chemistry together, unlike, say, Sly and Kurt Russell in Tango and Cash, or De Niro and Al Pacino in Heat. I didn't feel entirely comfortable watching a couple of seventy-something guys using each other as punch bags, even though the fight scenes are well choreographed. It just somehow didn't feel right to watch these two great old warhorses in their boxing trunks, it didn't seem at all plausible, or dignified.
Sly was fabulous in the last Rocky movie - Rocky Balboa - Rocky Balboa [Blu-ray]. It's a shame he didn't hang up his boxing gloves after that film.
De Niro badly needs a role like Clint Eastwood had not so long ago in Gran Torino, i.e. something which is worthy of his exceptional acting talents, rather than more lightweight Hollywood candy floss - Gran Torino [Blu-ray] [2009] [Region Free]. Sly needs another challenging role like Cop Land, where he can show that there's a lot more to him than muscularity and simple guy charm - in real life he's a sharp cookie - Cop Land: Collector's Edition [Blu-ray].
I love these actors, and although Grudge Match is far from a bad movie, both Sly and De Niro deserve to go out on career highs, with something more befitting of their status as screen icons.
If you do enjoy Grudge Match, you might well like Tough Guys, starring Kirk Douglas and Burt Lanchester, about two geriatric gangsters seeking to re-live their former glories - Tough Guys [DVD] [1987].
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its Art mimicking Life, Life mimicking Art..., 30 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Grudge Match (DVD)
It's interesting how the poster cover depicts this film. De Niro Vs. Stallone... go on have a look at the picture of the cover again... do you see it at the top? and below both actors, gloves on, leaning on the ropes like two old boxers have a chat. If ever there was a poster of a film that gave the heads-up there's a lot more going on here than meets the eye The Grudge Match's poster does this.

The reason I wanted to watch The Grudge Match is because this film is Art mimicking Life, Life mimicking Art. Sylvester Stallone made his name depicting a fictional boxer, Rocky Balboa, in the very first Rocky movie. Robert De Niro, five years later, got a massive boost as an actor for his depiction of a real boxer, Jake LaMotta, in Raging Bull. Both films premiered over 30 years ago, Rocky in 1976 and Raging Bull in 1980. The Grudge Match, 2013, is about two Old ex-boxers with a 30 year old grudge to settle. One could almost imagine Rocky and Jake LaMotta holding such a grudge, and more so, what The Grudge Match does is play on this mix of reality and fiction. In story structure its good though a bit clichéd, however to keep in mind that its clichéd because of what came before it, its hidden heritage/pedigree, something which many of its critics fail to appreciate. In entertainment and anticipation its brilliant and in giving you the opportunity to watch two aged actors present their matured acting skills in juxtaposition to similar roles they played as young actor? genius. Oh and before you ask, yes Sylvester Stallone really is a great actor and screen writer, despite all the Rambo stuff he did. Rocky was nominated for 10 Oscars and won 3 of them and 2 of those nominations went to Stallone for best actor and best original screen play, he was only 30 years old at the time. Raging Bull was nominated for 8 Oscars she won 2 awards, best editing and best actor, the latter went to De Niro.

I have to confess I couldn't help smiling throughout this film. The play it made on blending reality and fiction is simply brilliant. This is a film that one savour over the years and if you haven't watch Rocky or Raging Bull make the effort, you will truly appreciate all three films individually and together.

Five stars because The Grudge Match is more than a movie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quiet please, exam in progress., 2 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Grudge Match [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
"IT'S ROCKY VERSUS RAGING BULL" is the press tag line on the bag of the Blu-ray box. Why did all the critics rely on this alone? It's not any of those films, especially Raging Bull because while being a truly great film, Bull is an ugly film filled with not very nice characters. And it's a true story. Grudge Match is not Rocky either. Grudge Match is a comedy drama. Sly plays his character quite straight while DeNiro plays his charecter, funny and angry at the same time which he is always very good at. I think that maybe this is because Sly, bless him, can't do full on comedy in a film really. Yeah, he is great at the classic one liners but pure comedy he can not do. Do I really have to bring it up? "Stop Or My Mom Will Shoot"! I'll say no more and shut it out of my mind. A quick coffesion though, I do own a DVD copy of that film but have not seen it since it came out on VHS. I am a huge Stallone fan and it's in his body of work after all so it's has to stay.

The story in Grudge Match is very simple. Old boxing rivals that come out of retirement to settle a score with a bit of a love interest mixed in. No the love interest comes in the shape of Kim Basinger as Slys ex who played hide the sausage with DeNiro back in the day but ends up back with Sly many years after having DeNiros kid now all grown up played by Jon Bernthal anw helping train his dad for the fight. You may have seen Bernthal in The Wolf Of Wall Street. Another amazing film. I think DeNiro should have been in that. What do you reakon?

I think Grudge Match is an inoffensive, harmless, simple and great little film. The stuck up arty film critics took it all too seriously. No surprise there then! I am not the biggest fan of the critics and do not give two s**ts what they say about most films. They seem to be more interested in how witty and intelligent they can make themselves sound. What about the entertainment value of a film or just the fact average folks like us may just like watching films with our favourite movie stars in. I did see this film at the cinema as soon as it came out and could not wait to get the Blu-ray. It's rare I go to the flicks theses days because of the shell suit wearing morons that ruin it for everyone, constantly running up and down the stairs and up dating face f**king book. Those half heads should not be allowed in the cinema as they obviously are not interested in films. You should have to qualify for licence to see films at the cinema in my book. And to get this licence you should have to sit an exam to test your knowledge of films and even be subjected to a home visit so your film collection can be authenticated. I do appreciate that people have different tastes what it comes to films and that is a good thing. I mean, my DVD/Blu-ray collection has all sorts in it they lots of people would turn their noses up at. But I do have loads and loads of brilliant movies that any decent film fan would enjoy. Yes, I think my licensing campaign would work because it would stop Special Brew enthusiasts and chavs knackering up the cinema exsperaince up for us all.

There is loads to enjoy in Grudge Match with funny lines, a nice bit of drama and the fight scenes are authentic and satisfying. The boxing match itself is filmed like the finale in Rocky Balboa. The second best Rocky film in my opinion. Both Sly and DeNiro are convincing and look like ageing pro boxers. Sly would though because he had loads of practice after all. And DeNiro, well, we all know how he can constanly change his look. The only let down is the boxing promoter played by Kevin Hart. I did not know who this tit was until seeing this film and I am not interested in who he is now. All he does talk fast and try and steal all the scenes he is in, trying misserably to be the next Eddie Murphy. Hart is not funny unlike Eddie, but just plain annoying. They should have just Eddie to play the role. I think that would have worked a treat.

I was lucky enough to go and see The Graham Norton Show this year at the studio when Sly and DeNiro were being interviewed and promoting the film. It was clear they had loads of fun making the film and working together. Despite Stop Or My Mom Will Shoot being not funny, Sly is a really amusing guy and has a great sense of humour, especially about himself. One thing that I noticed though was that DeNiro, in real life anyway, looks more and more like my late Grandpa Jack! RIP.

I have no problems with Grudge Match and really enjoyed it. You should too. "DING DING!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars raging bull meets rocky, 13 Oct. 2014
By 
C. Pierides "Costa58artdeco" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grudge Match [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I haven't enjoyed grumpy old men like this for a long time- and they do it well as seasoned veterans- these guys are older than most of us but show in a time when most news isn't cheering anyone up, that they are prepared to get back into shape and give everyone something to cheer about- they say- have hope. We want to have something to believe in like the big guy who gets retrenched from the Steel mill to end up as a waiter- and says to Razor, we want to believe in a winner....something we can back...
And so, the humour is there and unusually for Stallone, he actually does have a persona beyond being a boxer- and talks a fair amount in a more complicated role perhaps than we are used to- he literally shows his blind spot......
Remember the inspiration the First Rocky movie had for a young generation coming out of bad recession- here was a guy who was unknown- down on his luck, living on the streets- backed by nobody but with the inbred spirit, like his film- to fight on no matter what the odds against him- he inspired many then and shows here he can still do it 30 years later. De Niro is as always, a man who absorbs his role like a second skin- he is a brilliant actor no matter what. Great movie- watch it. Sorry I didn't get mine from Amazon- the exchange rate and shipping are just too prohibitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grudging Admiration, 3 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Grudge Match [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
My first Saturday job, in the mid 1980s was a cinema usherette, after which I never thought I would voluntarily watch let alone enjoy another film where Sylvester Stallone dons boxing gloves.
However I did enjoy this film. It used good footage & photographs to mock-up a back story where De Niro & Stallone's characters were boxing rivals from Pittsburgh. In the 1980s De Niro won the first big contest between them and Stallone the re-match. The much hyped 3rd, to be the decider never happened, when Stallone's character retired from boxing and ended up working back in the shipyards. De-Niro's character is still bitter about this missed opportunity despite doing better financially with a car dealership and a bar which trades on his fighting career.
A plausible enough story-line when they are both asked to provide moves and voice overs for a video game brings them back together and leads to the promotion of the third match in real-life. The plot moves along at a decent pace and there are digs at the original Rocky Films with Stallone's training methods.
Good entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This vinegar went bad..., 31 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Grudge Match [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Henry "Razor" Sharp and Billy "The Kid" McDonnen are boxers who were bitter rivals. Just before a big fight Razor decided to retire because Billy slept with his girlfriend, Sally Rose and got her pregnant.

Thirty years later a promoter wants them fight each other, but Razor doesn't. When he loses his job and learns he's broke, he has no other choice but to fight.....

Its strange that Stallone has taken the lowest ebb in his career, and melded the two together. Stallone's plight in this, mirrors Rocky V's narrative, and then the element of comedy, to his proper fans of a certain age, Oscar and Stop! Or My Mom will Shoot, do not seem that long ago.

So I went in with great caution. And while Stallone will never suit comedy (one liners in action movies don't count) De Niro makes the whole thing worth watching, and it's always good to see Stallone in the ring once more.

Its a simple story, again, the video game part that inspires the titular fight is ripped straight from Rocky Balboa, but its exactly what you'd expect.

Age is a huge factor in this, and weight problems and other ageing problems are the butt of the majority of the jokes. The stars get into promotional problems, which usually ends up with them fighting each other or someone else.

So it's not original by any means, Basinger is wasted in this, Hart grates every time he speaks, channelling every annoying stand up comedian who thought shouting would raise more laughs.

Arkin is predictably the best thing as the 'Micky' type trainer, but, their is a decent twist in the movie, and the CGI at the beginning is pretty good.

If you flinched at the idea of this film you probably won't like it, but if you yearned for Rocky Vs. Jake La Motta, this will suffice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grudge Match [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free]
Grudge Match [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] by Peter Segal (Blu-ray - 2014)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews