Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars9
3.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 January 2008
With the exception of the occasional, pattern-breaking release (such as Changeless or Always Let Me Go) you know pretty much exactly what you're getting with the Keith Jarrett Trio: a flawless but too often uninvolving meander through standards material that seems well within the capabilities of the three performers. While the group has occasionally scaled dizzy heights (as with the Blue Note Complete Recordings boxed set) it has more usually proved the ideal piano trio for jazz fans who don't like to be surprised or challenged.

For the first half hour of this two disc set, everything runs to the well-established pattern: the title track and "What's New?" are given the trademark ballad treatment, while busy soloing fleshes out the faster numbers. Then, however, something happens that the liner notes tell is unique for a concert by this trio: Jarrett breaks into a stride style for "Ain't Misbehavin'", and then maintains that style for "Honeysuckle Rose" and "You Took Advantage of Me".

Now there's no denying that we don't need a player of Keith Jarrett's calibre to start playing ragtime, but the performances are so perfectly achieved that the listener finds himself or herself in a Woody Allen film (one of the funny ones) for twenty minutes. DeJohnette, forced into the role of trad timekeeper, becomes witty and subversive; another reviewer criticizes the performance here, but it's almost forced upon him by the context. Peacock (too low in the mix, not for the first time) almost disappears until his solo spots, when his playing is probing and far from pastiche.

After such a streak of off-kilter brilliance, "Straight, No Chaser" goes almost to an opposite extreme, delivering one of the hottest performances ever from the trio. Here the tempo is notably faster than the versions of this piece on Blue Note or Bye Bye Blackbird, and Peacock takes a lively solo early. Then, two minutes in, Jarrett and DeJohnette are again unlike themselves: squabbling over the tempo, each seeming determined to throw one another off. Indeed, Jarrett is so deep into the track that after it finishes he interrupts the applause to play unaccompanied for forty seconds of intense jazz counterpoint. It's the track to play to anyone who dismisses Jarrett as aural prozac.

Not the last track on this long album, but the last in this purple patch is a performance of "Guess I'll Hang My Tears Out To Dry" that is almost the quintessential Jarrett ballad performance; for over ten minutes, he is again a pure, unapologetic melodist.

For a third of its length, this album is one of the best that the Keith Jarrett Trio has released, and I can't think of another one of their albums that can boast a longer period of inspiration. The rest of the album is business as usual, which is still a recommendation. For fans, it is a definite safe purchase, and the curious can approach it with confidence.
0Comment28 of 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 February 2008
Well thats another Standards Trio album I've had to buy. I've already got at least a dozen CD's of this Trio, including the monumental Live at the Blue Note boxed set. Why did I have to buy this? Because Jarrett plays three stride style pieces on this double album. He's hinted at this style before with the standards trio on 'Wrap your Troubles in Dreams' (from Whisper Not) and completely pulverised the style on 'Old Rag' (from Somewhere Before).

Not surprisingly his performances of the stride style here are very good. The pick of the bunch is Ain't Misbehavin' which has some inspired solos, using harmonies that Fats Waller certainly wouldn't have played, and exchanging short solos with JJ near the end. Unlike the previous reviewers I did not find these tracks reminding me of Woody Allen films or find Jack DeJohnette's drumming at all out of place. I suppose it depends on what you are used to. I was brought up listening to stride Piano, and although it isn't the style I listen to most of the time, its great to hear it played by a modern Jazz great like Keith Jarrett.

So what about if you hate stride Piano? Well the remaining ten tracks are up to the usual impeccable standard. A great mixture of ballads and standards that the Trio play with great panache.

The only problem with this Trio is the huge volume of material that has been released over the last 20+ years. However when I heard 'On Green Dolphin Street' from this album I knew I had to give it five stars. I already have a previous version of this by the standards trio (in the Blue Note boxed set) which I have played and played so I thought I might find this new version a bit to samey. Not a chance; Jarrett genuinely tries to improvise on every performance. So yes a few patterns are the same but apart from the tune this is another completely unique performance of the same tune!

Overall 9/10
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 December 2007
The trio have been doing this for over twenty years now.
The amazing thing is that they may record some of the same songs on different albums but they always sound different. My favourites on this set are the versions of the Fats Waller standards Honeysuckle Rose and Ain't Misbehavin'. On these tracks in particular, the sheer joy they have in their performance is captured well.
There is a swinging version of Miles Davis' 'Four' and Jules Styne's ballad Guess I'll Hang My Tears Out to Dry is truly beautiful.
Unreservedly recommended.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2008
Apparantly this concert had sound difficulties for the players and it was very hot. In true professional manner they pulled off an amazing concert.
We have come to expect a very very high standard from this trio. Encapsulated in here is a mini history of jazz piano with nods at Fats Waller, Thelonius Monk and Bill Evans, maybe even Bud Powell and Art tatum. The few standards that have been done before on other trio albums are given different treatments here so don't bring any pre conceptions here, they work well in these newer workings. The stride like piano pieces alla fats waller are fun and show these guys can do it straight too and still make their own inimitable mark on the music. I found the drumming of Dejohnette wholly appropriate in these settings and it gave the pieces momentum and excitement. My favourite trio albums are "standards live" "whisper not" and the "Live Blue Note Box" This maybe isn't quite up to the standard of these impressive albums but its a bit of an oxymoron to say its not quite as excellent as usual.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2007
There is some fine material on this double-CD live recording by the Keith Jarrett / Gary Peacock / Jack DeJohnette Standards trio from the Montreux Jazz Festival in 2001. The title track is the best: a lovely rendering, and What's New is superbly done; it's always nice to hear Five Brothers, too, though this version is less impressive than the trio's performance of the tune on The Out of Towners CD.

But there's too much that isn't so good: a very routine performance of Four and a strangely unattractive rendering of Straight, No Chaser, for example. The version here of Oleo is a bit on the dull side, too.

But the really big disappointment here is the sequence Ain't Misbehavin' / Honeysuckle Rose / You Took Advantage Of Me. Jarrett's playing on these three tunes is terrific, and it's lovely to hear him playing in the style of Fats Waller. However, these three are utterly ruined for me by some crass drumming by Jack DeJohnette. He's normally so subtle - a really musical drummer, if you can imagine the contradiction (joke!) and I have tremendous admiration for the way he normally works within the trio - but here he uses his bass drum in a clunkingly awful way, banging down on each beat and destroying the rhythmic subtleties in Jarrett and Peacock's playing. It makes these three tracks completely unlistenable to for me. If only there were some way of filtering out the banging so that we were left with Jarrett and Peacock's contributions alone!

So, overall rather a disappointment, I think - and I'm a huge fan of this trio and of Jarrett in particular. I'd really have rated it at two and a half stars but for Amazon's rather inflexible system.
11 comment17 of 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
Live has always been good for Keith Jarrett and this is one of his best CD's
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
Side one is good, but then it goes downhill. You need to be a fan for this one. Not an album to convert me to Jarrett
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2009
I don't normally write reviews, but felt compelled to because of the way bass and drums trample mercilessly over jarrett's flawless stride playing. How nice to have at least a couple of unadulterated choruses of solo piano before the utterly dismaying rumpety-tumpety of gary and jack crapping all over the stride tracks. What an enormous shame they couldn't leave them solo, or at leasy play with a bit more musicianship.

Otherwise superb.
11 comment1 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2011
Keith Jarrett's standards trio releases are usually very enjoyable, turning standards into imaginative improvisations, a joy to hear. Here, something is very wrong. 'The Song Is You', on another release a springboard for a glorious jam, staggers to an abrupt halt just when you think it will get going; 'Ain't Misbehaving' and 'Honeysuckle Rose' are, well, unlistenable, with Jack DeJohnette thumping away loudly on the beat on the bass drum like a modern 'dance' number's drum machine. Why release this when there must be so many better gigs in the vault?
22 comments1 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.49
£6.09
£7.99
£12.98

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Susan Hayward and Dana Andrews star in the 1949 film, now on NTSC DVD
  -  
Movie on DVD $9.99 1949 Starring Susan Hayward