Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The creatures from the Ice
The third story of Patrick Troughton's second season as Doctor Who comes to DVD.

This was a six part black and white story. Parts two and three are no longer present in the bbc archives. The VHS release replaced those with a special edited reconstruction using the soundtrack and stills. This brings us the two lost episodes with their original soundtracks and...
Published 10 months ago by Paul Tapner

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average fun, but not the Classic i was hoping for.
I was really looking forward to watching The Ice Warriors just like Tomb of the Cybermen.
When it ended i felt slightly disappointed, The Ice Warriors could have been a lot better if it was just four episodes, i felt it dragged on a little and began to get boring, the two animated episodes were fun to watch and the animation was not too bad, Pat Troughton and the...
Published 8 months ago by John D Aitken


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The creatures from the Ice, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ice Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
The third story of Patrick Troughton's second season as Doctor Who comes to DVD.

This was a six part black and white story. Parts two and three are no longer present in the bbc archives. The VHS release replaced those with a special edited reconstruction using the soundtrack and stills. This brings us the two lost episodes with their original soundtracks and the visuals done via animation.

This comes from a season known as 'the monster season' by many. Often involving the Doctor and friends getting involved with small groups of humans who came up against monsters. Here, the Doctor, Jamie and Victoria arrive on Earth in the slightly near future. A world in the grip of a new ice age. Where the survival of humanity depends on the glaciers being held back. At a base which is losing this fight. The humans there are in desperate need of the assistance of Penley, a genius scientist who is living as a scavenger in the icy wastes rather than work for the inflexible Leader Clent.

But they have bigger problems when strange creatures are found frozen in the Ice. And one of them comes back to life...

Doctor Who of the time would always attract attention when it used new monsters. Would these be as popular and successful as the Daleks and the Cybermen? The production team did strike gold with the Ice Warriors. The armoured Martian reptiles with their hissing voices and sonic weapons were a hit. And have stayed in the memory ever since.

The Ice Warriors has other delights, though. It's a solid character drama with two superb guest star performances. Peter Barkworth as Clent and Peter Sallis as Penley really do deliver some excellent acting. It offers a few interesting moral dilemmas for the viewer to consider as well, about over reliance on technology and any other human failings and strengths.

It's not overlong at six parts, and it remains incredibly watchable throughout. It's Classic Who, and it's great to have it on dvd.

The Black and White animation of parts two and three does appear rather minimalist at first look, with static backgrounds and seemingly rather inflexible figures. But there is actually a fair amount of life to the latter and more detail in their movements than you would expect at first look. Thus it rather grows on you and the two parts are quite visually captivating.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English.

Subtitles: English.

It's also English audio captioned.

This is a two disc set. Disc one has the episodes. The production information subtitles, which give information about the story and it's making if switched on whilst watching. And several commentaries from cast and crew. Parts one four five and six have a recently recorded one from Frazer Hines and Deborah Watling [Doctor companions Jamie and Victoria] plus Sonny Caldinez, who played one of the Warriors, and two of the crew. The animated episodes use archive recordings or readings from cast members and crew. Including Patrick Troughton on part three.

Disc two has the following extras:

A photo gallery of stills from the story and it's production.

Radio times listings for the story as a PDF file.

Cold Fusion: a twenty five minute long making of documentary. As with more recent ones of these it's more a collection of anecdotes from cast and crew than the story of the production, but it's still very good.

Beneath the Ice: A ten minute long look at the animation of parts two and three. Involving and not over technical it's interesting viewing.

VHS links: Runs for fifteen minutes and is the original reconstructed and edited two parts two and three from the VHS. Plus the VHS copyright notice you would always see near the start of the tape. And an introduction Deborah Wstling and Frazer Hines did for it at the time.

Blue Peter Design a Monster: ten minutes worth of footage from a couple of 1960's editions of the show where they announced a contest for viewers to design a Doctor Who monster. Then showed the results, with the winnings designs built. This is pleasingly nostalgic viewing.

Doctor Who stories; Frazer Hines part two is thirteen more minutes of interviews originally recorded for a 2003 documentary. But he's a very good interviewee so it's a pleasing watch.

There's also the original trailer for the Ice Warriors, broadcast on the bbc right after the end of the preceding story of the season. Although the trailer doesn't actually survive. Just the soundtrack. Thus the trailer has been animated as well. It does come with subtitles that can't be switched off. Because the sound quality isn't great. But it's worth a look.

There's also a trailer for the next release in this range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars been waiting for years, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ice Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
one of the incomplete Dr Who stories has finally arrived with some animation making up for the missing film. This is an excellent addition for the collector and really introduces the ice warriors in an appropriate fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ssssssssssssssssssss, 27 Aug 2013
By 
The Man from the Ministry (Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ice Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
Although I watched 'The Ice Warriors' when it was released on VHS, I feel as if I have just watched it for the first time. The picture quality, which was pretty grainy on tape, has been radically improved and with the addition of the two animated missing episodes, the story is complete at last.

It took me a little while to get used to the animation. The characters' movements seemed at little 'Mary, Mungo and Midge' after just watching the real actors, but the team behind the animation have done a really good job, superimposing cartoon figures on the original backgrounds in a way that is faithful to the episodes. With an audio track that has been superbly restored by Mark Ayres, I soon became completely absorbed by the story and forgot that I was watching a cartoon.

Indeed, the quality of the animation in 'The Ice Warriors' and 'Invasion' has reached a level where I think that it would be viable to release a whole story in this format. I'm sure that most fans of this era would rather rather an animated 'Evil of the Daleks' than nothing at all.

As for the story itself, I was amazed at how much the production team had achieved on a low budget. The sets and costumes were stunning (I'll turn a blind eye to Peter Sallis's very fake beard and the door on the Ice Warriors' space ship that only half shuts) and the cast give an imaginative script everything they've got.

It seems to be a given that the 'Classic' Doctor Who stories were much slower in pace, but 'The Ice Warriors' is anything but, plunging the viewer into the action from the very beginning. What this story does have that many modern episodes lack is that 'behind the sofa' feeling of menace. The claustrophobic setting of the base and Dudley Simpson's wonderfully evocative music create a real tension and nearly 50 years on, the story still excites.

The Ice Warriors are at their scariest, although they do have a few little quirks that were wisely dropped in subsequent stories, including a strange, laughter-like "Ssss ssss sssss" (indeed, there's a lot of hissing, which very occasionally makes the dialogue hard to follow). Also at one point, after shooting a man with their sonic guns, two Ice Warriors appear to do a 'high five',which is unintentionally amusing (thankfully, nobody did high fives in 1967). But high fives and hissing aside, these malevolent, warlike Ice Warriors are a far cry from the noble warriors that Jon Pertwee encountered in his first Peladon adventure.

The extras are up to the usual standard and include a 'making of' documentary, a feature about the animation and the video links that were featured in the VHS release. I particularly enjoyed watching Sonny Caldinez's entertaining recollections of his time as an Ice Warrior and Frazer Hines's fond recollections of Wendy Gifford's sexy outfit.

To conclude, this is a story that ticks all of my boxes: a base under siege, a Dudley Simpson score, women in outlandishly sexy outfits, thoroughly merciless aliens, Peter Barker and Peter Sallis, Shughie McFee from Crossroads (or Archibald Ives from 'The Great Escape'), Jamie and Victoria and, most of all, the wonderful Patrick Troughton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average fun, but not the Classic i was hoping for., 27 Oct 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ice Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
I was really looking forward to watching The Ice Warriors just like Tomb of the Cybermen.
When it ended i felt slightly disappointed, The Ice Warriors could have been a lot better if it was just four episodes, i felt it dragged on a little and began to get boring, the two animated episodes were fun to watch and the animation was not too bad, Pat Troughton and the cast are good, it is enjoyable but its not classic Who like Invasion or Genesis of the Daleks,
Spoiler alert, killing one of The Ice Warriors with a stink bomb was just silly.
Wait until The Ice Warriors comes down in price before buying and the extras are nothing special i was hoping for more as its a 2 disc DVD set.
Final thoughts The Ice Warriors left me cold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ice warriors restored., 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ice Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
This eageretly awaited Patrick Troughton story is long overdue on DVD but is a vast improvement on the original video release due to the restoration of the missing episodes . This enables greater continuity and enjoyment of the story. What also lifts this story is the exceptionable quality of the supporting guest actors and the set designs which have stood the test of time.
The story features the debut of the ice warriors who were recently revived in the current series.
Also the media obssesion of global warming meant a story surounding a weather station dealing with galcial disturbance showed that the series was groundbreaking and clearly ahead of its time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars equinu2, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ice Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent in many ways :P
Well paced story -eps 2&3 are animated but good quality, Tardis lands like u never saw before lol and
guest cast are superb the only blunder I see is the baby bear!! but very cute and the Ice Warriors are ssssssweetly sssscary! LOL
good extras too :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Who: The Ice Warriors (DVD), 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ice Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
As an avid Dr. Who fan, this was a must for my collection. I grew up with Patrick Troughton and throught was fantastic. I was not disappointed with this dvd. When I was young they did make me hide behind the sofa. The story line was very good and Patrick with his usual dry wit made this one to watch. The animated parts were done amazingly well and did not distract from the story. Well done for fitting it onto the dvd so well. A must for Dr. Who fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ice Cool!, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ice Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
The first ever story of the ice warriors and a brilliant story it is too! Was surprised to find that Peter Sallis from Wallace and Gromit and Last of the Summer Wine was the scientist Penley!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Disc, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ice Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent to see ALL of the story on DVD, although not the greatest animation thats been done in the series of restorations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool!, 1 Jan 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Ice Warriors [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent and very atmospheric story, with some interesting issues adding complexity and depth to the plot, and marvellously menacing Martians. I'm not too turned on by the animations, in particularly the jerky way the figures seem to walk (Cosgrove Hall's effort with The Invasion was much better). However Victoria does look very attractive, even if bearing little resemblace to Deborah Watling. I love Troughton's clownish portrayal, which never threatened to spoil things as much as Tom Baker's did later on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Ice Warriors [DVD]
Doctor Who: The Ice Warriors [DVD] by Derek Martinus (DVD - 2013)
6.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews