Customer Reviews


1,053 Reviews
5 star:
 (623)
4 star:
 (182)
3 star:
 (112)
2 star:
 (54)
1 star:
 (82)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive! Electrifying and beautiful suit!
I can only really review what I have seen in this film. Whether other people think there are avenues that were not opened up is irrelevant I think... So ..., from what I've seen, this film deserves 5 stars because we finally see Superman express himself in an angry state, something that's never really been done properly before. Christopher Reeve, bless him, you have to...
Published 9 months ago by TOOTS

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great special effects but poor 3D.
A decent film with plenty of action and some superb special effects but the 3D is very disappointing .
Published 9 months ago by David Clixby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Superman? - In Second Childhood Version?, 24 Oct. 2014
By 
Jac Knight (Bucks, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Man of Steel (DVD)
This is a Superman version for mature audiences in their second childhood - great ride! Lots of materials have been updated and tied in with some scientific facts and famous fictions. Special effects are fantastic - wish I watched it in cinema. Like the implication of the story, creative and well told, except the story line for Lois is just out of place.
Amy Adams is badly cast as Lois - not super enough as a loveable bitch. Henry Cavill looks great for the part, but his peformance lacks emotional depth and charm. Screen chemistry with Amy Adams is zero! I wish they never kissed - looks awkard. Although Henry Cavill is tall dark and handsome, but he is no Michael Fassbander and Daniel Graig - both of them are daring enough to lose themselves in their roles. Fortunately, performances from the strong supporting cast are superb, and that makes the film absorbing most of the time. Nevertheless, Iike most superheros movies, the prolonged kickass action towards the end, so predictable, so typical Hollywood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD] (DVD)
This is totally different than other super man films. Very good action film. Thank you for the fast delivary time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Man of Dull, 23 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Man of Steel (DVD)
Starts out interestingly enough, filling in the back story through flashbacks - some very good special effects but these cannot carry a film on their own. The dull last third of the film - with all the fighting - had me hitting the FF button saying "Oh for gods sake get it over with". You can only watch someone get punched through a diner/truck/office building and get up again so many times.

Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD] (DVD)
Updated version but a good movie in its own right ,unlike original Superman there is no humour in the modern version obviously special effects have moved on a great deal since the Christopher Reeve days.Henry Cavill is perfect for the role of Superman good way to spend an evening recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really surprised, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i'm not a superman fan but i was really surprised by how much i enjoyed this film.
1)henry cavill's eyes were just so memorising
2) great chemistry between cavill and adams
3)great action
4)great soundtrack

Now i can't wait for batman v superman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film makes a good Superman., 23 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD] (DVD)
I personally thought this film was better than other reviewers have said, pleasantly suprised after reading reviews on Amazon, which just goes to show, you always have to make up your own mind, cause if you dont you could be missing out even if it costs you in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive redundant superfluous monotonous tedious, 13 Jan. 2014
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I guess it would not be a "Superman" if too many changes to the original story were made. However the presentation relied heavily on a lot of noise and repetitive gratuitous violence. The CGI which is the real character of the movie was sophomoric and one dimensional. If you cannot think of a good line then just break something. This might make an interesting cartoon.

The production made this look like the run of the mill avenger movie. They also relied too heavily on flashbacks and more flashbacks.

Antje Traue as Faora-Ul had a nice evil look.

I would like to tell you that there are interesting DVD extras. However all I watched was a rental version with no extras. One reason for renting is to see if it is worth purchasing. With no extras it made the decision not to purchase for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hugely entertaining, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man of Steel [DVD] (DVD)
I really liked this film. I like the choices made with the charactors, i like the fact that the past is gone through in flashback and fits seamlessly into the narrative structure of the film. A couple of the scenes were spine tinglingly good, such as Zod announcing himself to the earth, and some of the flashbacks with child Clarke.
Henry Cavill is a very good Clark Kent/Superman and has the charisma to carry the role off for the next 10-15 yrs if needed. I felt that the action was over the top, however these are meta humans fighting and the level of destruction is probably in line with the powers that they have.
I am very excited to see this DC universe expanded in future films, and this provides a very solid base to work from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable remake of Superman I and II, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched Man of Steel for the first time last night knowing only that it was another Superman movie. So I was surprised when the film began back at the start again with the destruction of Krypton. I quickly realised this is infact a remake of the original Superman film and actually Superman II as well as he has to deal with the bad guys and girl again. So how do they compare? Well, the original films were, and still are, very much loved but after you've seen Man of Steel, you realise the original films are very dated now with what would now be regarded as low budget special effects and quaint behaviour. In contrast, the special effects on this new film are fantastic and the last 30 mins are constant, high impact action. It's much more than a popcorn movie and I enjoyed it from start to finish. My friend and I always rate every film we watch. He gave it 7.5 and I gave it 8 out of 10. So definitely worth adding to your Blu-ray collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 1 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Man of Steel (DVD)
Brilliant!!! There may be avenues unexplored, of aspects of superman taken slightly out of context, but given how many superman movies there are, I was thinking this would be 'just another copy'. It isn't. Brilliantly done and a story well told. It is a challenge to take on something like this where many before have created many movies, and so to make it different and unique, yet still enjoyable to watch is very difficult. Without spoiling the movie, there isn't much more I can say. If you're a die hard superman fan, you just have to accept there is only so much that can be squeezed into one feature and this will differ slightly to the original comics, but accept it for what it is and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man of Steel [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
£9.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews