Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely enjoyable escapism!
'The Heresy Within' and it's sequels 'The Colour of Vengeance' and 'The Price of Faith' really are very enjoyable. The characters and plot capture you from early on with good character development and an interesting storyline. The format was enjoyable too. Getting to the end I just couldn't wait to read book 2. A must for fantasy fiction lovers and a good introduction to...
Published 15 months ago by rockchick

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Abercrombie Clone
Now, I'm not saying it's an intentional immitation of Abercrombie's style, but that's what strikes you when reading it: sex, violence and the vernacular. It's not as good as the original, but it's pretty good nonetheless, and I found it fun and gripping enough.

I like the fact that the author stuck to three interesting characters (for point-of-view's sake) and...
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely enjoyable escapism!, 15 April 2013
This review is from: The Heresy Within (The Ties that Bind Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
'The Heresy Within' and it's sequels 'The Colour of Vengeance' and 'The Price of Faith' really are very enjoyable. The characters and plot capture you from early on with good character development and an interesting storyline. The format was enjoyable too. Getting to the end I just couldn't wait to read book 2. A must for fantasy fiction lovers and a good introduction to the genre for non-fantasy readers. Not recommended for children, those who find occassional colourful language offensive or readers who want deep and meaningful but if you aren't any of these this book is extremely enjoyable escapism!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heresy Within (The Ties that Bind Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
My experience with self-published books isn't great but there was nothing else I wanted, the synopsis seemed interesting enough and it was 77p. I'm really glad I bought it. Well written, great characters, interesting story, plenty of action. Reminded me of Joe Abercrombie's stuff, same vein of dark humour. Already bought the other 2 books in the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing tale, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heresy Within (The Ties that Bind Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A gripping tale, I enjoyed all the characters and how they intertwined and came together. The end was very gripping. Couldn't put the book down at the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well worth a read, 16 May 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Antrim, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heresy Within (The Ties that Bind Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I got this title for 0.77 and it was well worth the read. It has good characters, decent story it has a setting / story line worthy of a Raymond E. Feist novel. The storyline has sex, bad langauge and violence and deals with adult themes and may not be suitable for younger readers. But I hope Rob J Hayes finds a decent editor as I think he has some interesting stories to write and I'm looking forward to reading the next 2 books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally entertaining, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heresy Within (The Ties that Bind Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Pretty much a blind buy for 77p and quite easily one of the most enjoyable books I have read in an age. Full of hard edged action and rough characters, The Heresy Within was so enthralling that I had bought the second and third books in the series even before I was halfway thru! Most certainly for adults only and all the more entertaining for it, I look forward to part 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rude and Crude heresy., 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heresy Within (The Ties that Bind Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable book.

Read a number of other "well regarded" fantasy writers of late. This book is as good if not better than all of them.

Sort of half way between a Gemmell novel (not quite as good as Gemmell at his best) and Paul Hoffman's "Left Hand of God" (but better - if not quite as good a concept).

Nice characters and a good plot. Get the feeling it could have been better (that is why it only gets 4 stars).

A bit rude and crude compared to a lot of books of this ilk but it does make the book a bit more personal. I have gone right of Feist`s novels and as there are so few new good writers about I will look forward to reading more Hayes novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Abercrombie Clone, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heresy Within (The Ties that Bind Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Now, I'm not saying it's an intentional immitation of Abercrombie's style, but that's what strikes you when reading it: sex, violence and the vernacular. It's not as good as the original, but it's pretty good nonetheless, and I found it fun and gripping enough.

I like the fact that the author stuck to three interesting characters (for point-of-view's sake) and brought them together fairly quickly (though there are other books, this could stand alone, and probably will from my point of view). The writing is occasionally repetitive, but the use of less formal language disguises, and excuses, some of it.

The only complaint is that the plot didn't have a really decent twist--like Abercrombie would, for example--and that while things weren't exactly easy for the protagonists, the detective work, as it were, was pretty straightforward.

Overall, though, an enjoyable read, much better than some things out there, and worth reading (even worth paying for, though I didn't have to). I suppose I should rate it four stars, but I don't hold with internet rating inflation...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow!!, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heresy Within (The Ties that Bind Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I'd never heard of the author and so didn't really know what to expect, but was blown away by this book.

All of the characters were well formed with sufficient background and depth to get you interested in knowing more. The storyline was original, which is something that doesn't often happen, or not often enough, and there were sufficient surprises to keep me hooked.

I liked this book so much that I've already bought the next two in the series and cannot wait to read them.

Thanks to Rob Hayes, not sure if you ever find the time to read your reviews but if you do, please keep writing there are too few original story tellers around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 May 2013
This review is from: The Heresy Within (The Ties that Bind Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Some excellent characters, fast paced action and an interesting setting. Similar to, but not quite as dark as Abercrombie. Had to buy the sequel immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heresy Within (The Ties that Bind Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have read many fantasy novels and this writer has the potential to be up there with the best. Excellent characters, interesting story can't wait for book two....well done sir....well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews