Customer Reviews


342 Reviews
5 star:
 (244)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nigel's a genius
The easiest index I have ever found! Find an ingredient in the garden, cupboard or fridge and the index gives a group of recipes to go with it.
Published 12 months ago by Martin

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Don't get me wrong - I love Nigel Slater, so much so that I asked for this book for Christmas without having done my usual perusal in Waterstones. Recipes are ok - it is, after all, advertised as the 'Little book of Fast Food'. Fine, but with respect, I can put some tomatoes, cheese and herbs on top of bread and make a sandwich. Similarly, I can throw some meat/fish and...
Published 9 months ago by Angela Hanratty


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nigel's a genius, 27 Nov 2013
The easiest index I have ever found! Find an ingredient in the garden, cupboard or fridge and the index gives a group of recipes to go with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


306 of 330 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So many recipes, well written, great photography, 26 Sep 2013
By 
Chris M (York) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I decided to pre order this book as we have been cooking some of the free taster recipes from the Guardian that are in the book and absolutely loved them.

I do not own any of his other books (yet!) although my wife often watches his TV series when they are on repeat on the food channel.

So this review is mainly about the recipes we have tried and our first impressions of the book (I've posted some photos on this product page to let you see for yourself).

I have also posted a list of recipes at the end of my review too which I hope will be helpful for those considering buying the book.

Firstly the book feels lovely, a small thing but the flexible way it is bound, it feels really nice and in my opinion looks nice too.

This small book is literally jam packed with recipes (see list below) I think there's bound to be something that appeals to everyone in here.

The majority of the recipes have an accompanying photo (see image uploads for examples).

I like the premise that the book and recipes are meant to be `beautiful and easy to use' for everyday eating, and I would say so far this has definitely been the case. The recipes have been straightforward and perfect for weekday nights when late home from work.

So far we have cooked the fig and goats cheese focaccia - since figs are in season at the moment. The method was very straightforward and it was super quick and easy for a tasty weeknight meal. We used ciabatta instead of focaccia but it was lovely, and cheese improves any meal.

Nigel's Potatoes with Spices and Spinach were another hit and absolutely delicious (being fans of spice in our household!). Again this was great for a week night as we get home quite late from work, so the premise of the book being `fast food' has really fit in with our lifestyle as we're not fans of takeaways and always cook at home whenever possible.

We had the spiced fish soup at the weekend, my wife wasn't too keen on this but I loved it. We didn't include the mussels but it still provided two generous portions, which is something that's worth noting so far, the portions seem about right and we have healthy Yorkshire appetites.

In summary I found all three recipes to be unfussy, relatively quick, straightforward and very tasty.

The front of the book lists "a quick guide to what to eat by main ingredient" so I have put this below as I've found it a useful reference:

FISH:
Cod:
Cod with Lemon, Tarragon and Crème Fraiche

Crab:
Crab Balls
Crab, Melon and Basil Salad

Haddock:
Smoked Haddock and Leek cakes
Smoked Haddock with Lentils
Spiced Haddock Chowder

Kippers:
Grilled Kippers, beetroot and Horse raddish Mash
Kipper Benedict

Mackeral:
Mackeral with Bulgar and Tomato
Smoked Mackeral and Green Beans
Smoked Mackeral with Peas and Edamame

Mussels:
Mussels with Clams and Chorizo

Prawns:
Basil Prawns
Chilli Prawns with Watermelon
Prawns, Lemongrass and Coconut
Vietnamiese Prawn Baguettes

Salmon:
Salmon and Cucumber Pie
Salmon with Artichokes
Salmon with Roast Garlic and Cream
Soba Noodles, Salmon and Prawns

Sardines:
Sardines, Potatoes and Pine Kernels

Squid:
Couscous, Lemons, Almonds, Squid
Squid stuffed with Judion Beans and Tomato

MEAT:

Beef:
A Beef Sandwich
Bresaola, Emmental and Pickled Cucumber Sandwich
Philly Cheese Steak with Tagliatelle
Slow Cooked Beef Pie with Celeriac Rosti Crust
Steak with Miso
Tomatoes, Charred Onions and Steak

Chicken:
Chicken, asparagus and avocado sandwich
Chicken Breast with Smoked Cheese and Pancetta
Chicken Breasts with Taleggio
Chicken skin with popcorn
Chicken Wings, Katsu Sauce
Chicken Wings with Onion Umeboshi Chutney
Chicken with Soured Cream and Gherkins
Citrus Chilli Grilled Chicken
Marmalade Chicken
One Pan Sunday Lunch
Paprika, Mustard Chicken Goujons
Chicken, Sherry, Almonds Pot Roast
Quick Chicken Pot Pie
Ras El Hanout Chicken and Spelt
Satay Drumsticks
Spatchcock Chicken, Rocket, Couscous

Duck:
Duck Burgers
Duck with Beans

Lamb:
Grilled Lamb with Minted Feta
Lamb Cutlets with Mustard Seed
Lamb Shanks with Crushed Roots
Lamb with Yoghurt and Turmeric
Roast Lamb, Mustard and Crumbs
Slow Roast Belly of Lamb
Spiced Sesame Lamb with Cucumber and Yoghurt

Pork:
Ham Hock, Herb Sauce
Pig and Fig
Pork and Mango Kebabs
Pork Belly, Pisachios and Figs
Pork Chop with Plum chutney
Pork with Blood orange
Quick Pork Ribs with Honey and Pomegranate Molasses
Rib and Rhubarb Broth

Rabbit:
Slow Cooked Rabbit with Herbs

Bacon and Pancetta:
Bacon and Beans
Bacon Boulangere

Sausages and Chorizo:
Breakfast Burger
Chorizo and Sweet Potato Mash
Chorizo and Potatoes
Chorizo Burgers
Sausage Balls, Mustard Cream Sauce
Sausage Danish
Sausage Lasagne
Sausages, Mash and Tomato Gravy

VEGETABLES:

Roots:
Root Vege Patties with Spiced Tomato Sauce
Root Vege Tangle
Spiced Root Frittata

Beetroot:
Beetroot and Fennel Slaw with Speck
Beetroot and Sausage and Rosemary
Roasted Beetroot and Tomato Spelt

Carrots:
Carrot, Black Beans and Coriander
Carrot and Bulgur Porridge
Harissa Carrots
Prawns, Noodles and Spring Carrots

Jerusalem Artichoke:
Artichoke and Chicken Soup

Parsnips:
Parsnip Rosti

Potatoes:
Beef Dripping and Potato Salad
Cauliflower Cheese Baked Potato
Poor Man's Potatoes
Potato Wedges with Gorgonzola Sauce
Potatoes with Hazelnuts and Egg
Potatoes with Spices and Spinach

Turnips:
Young Turnips with Mushrooms and Orzo

Greens:
A quick(ish) Green Minstrone
Green Vegetable Soup
Roast Chicken Pho

Asparagus:
Asparagus Cenneloni
Chicken, Asparagus and Noodle Broth
Lamb with Asparagus

Broccoli:
Potatoes, Speck and Sprouting
Stir fried Chicken with Cashews and Broccoli

Cabbage:
Stewed Cabbage with Blue Cheese and Apple

Kale:
Gratin of Kale and Almonds
Ham and Kale Colcannon

Leeks:
Baked Red Mullet with Fennel and Leeks
Chicken with Fennel and Leeks

Beans:
Broad Beans-
Gammon Steaks, Broad Beans and mUstard Seeds
Orecchiette with Ricotta and Broad Beans

Peas-
Pea and Watercress Soup
Peas and Ham

`And all the rest':
Aubergines-
Aubergine and Chickpeas
Aubergine Curry
Aubergine Paneer
Roasted Vegetable Rice
Split Peas with Aubergine

Courgettes-
Courgettes with Bacon Gremolata
Marrow Gratin

Cumcumvers-
Aromatic Pork with Cucumber
Cucumber, Fennel and Ricotta salad
Summer Herb Rolls
Tuna and Cucumber Salad

Mushrooms-
Onion and Mushroom Toad in the hole
Spiced Mushrooms on Naan

Sweetcorn:
Sweetcorn, Bacon and Parsley Salad
Sweetcorn Crumb Crust Pie

Tomatoes:
Basil Tomato Pasta
Cherries, Tomatoes and Salami
Summer Vegetables with Harissa and couscous
Tomato Caesar Bruschetta
Tomato Foccacia
Tomatoes, Cucumber and Anchovy
Tomatoes with an Anchovy Crumb Crust

FRUIT:
Apples:
Apple, Ginger Endive

Bananas:
Banana Cheesecake

Figs:
Fig and Goat's cheese Focaccia
Figs, Bulgur and Blackberries
Figs and Ricotta Toasts

Mango:
Mango and Passion Fruit Mess

Strawberries:
Strawberry and Cucumber Salad
Strawberry and Mascarpone Brioche Toasts

Raspberries:
Chocolate Oat Crumber

PASTA BEANS AND GRAINS:

Beans and Pulses:
Black Bean and Onion Stew
Herb Burdgers
Artichokes and Cannellini
Baked Chickpea Cakes
Sea Bass with Tarragon Glageolets
Lentil Bolognaise

Pasta:
Anchovy, Penne, Crumbs
Brown Shimps, Linguine, Dill
A light Chicken Ragu
Smoked Salmon and Green Peppercorn Macaroni
Spaghetti Bake

Rice:
Quick Spiced Rice
Rice Cakes
Risotto

EGGS AND CHEESE:

Eggs:
Spiced Eggs with Squash
Spiced Scrambled Eggs
Goat's cheese Frittata
James;s Potato Tortilla

Mascarpone:
The Bagel
Irish Coffee Trifle
Oat and Lemon Cookies

Mozzarella:
Mozarella Chorizo Sandwich
Pancetta Crumbed Mozarella Salad

Ricotta:
Herb Ricotta Cakes
Ricoota Burgers
Spelt Basil and Ricotta Cakes

LEFTOVERS:
A Beef Sandwich
The Sunday Roast Pork Sandwich
Quiet old fashioned flavours for leftover ham hock
The comfort of carbs
The pork rib sandwich
Rice Cakes
Ham and Kale Colcannon
A creamy chicken lasagne, leftover chicken meat with onions
Turkey or Chicken Couscous
Beef Dripping Potato Salad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eat: The Little Book of Fast Food, 7 Dec 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This chunky little book is packed full of recipes for every occasion and every mood - from food you eat with your hands, to warming soups, roasts, pies and puddings. Literally every taste is covered, from the quick and easy to recipes which take more time to cook and prepare. The photography, while often fairly small, gives a good idea of what you are aiming for and, as with all of Nigel Slater's books, it is very readable. Ideal to browse and peruse when you need a little inspiration or simply to whet your appetite. Where the book falls down has been covered by other reviewers already - it is absolutely impossible to keep the book open while cooking! It has a lovely bookmark, it is cloth covered (looks gorgeous, not ideal in the kitchen, where it is likely to soak up spills....), but it is simply impractical. Also, recipes often cover two pages that are not side to side, so you have to turn over if you want to refer to both sides. Not always easy when cooking and your hands are covered with flour, etc. So, beautiful book, yes. Great recipes, yes. Well written, of course. Just impractical. You will have to either scribble out the instructions on a piece of paper or photocopy it, but still it is a lovely addition to my cookbooks and I know that, despite the problems, it will be referred to often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nigel sorts out supper, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a fan of Nigel's Kitchen Diaries, Real Fast Food, and cook from his recipes at least twice a week. EAT is the same in spirit, but totally different. It's categorised so beautifully that you can search by cooking method, or by fish, meat, veg, puds. It is recipes pared down, kept simple, in approach and ingredients. I think it reflects the pace we live at now, and it ups the comfort quotient, so that, whatever kind of day you've had, the process of choosing, chopping, cooking and enjoying, made so easy here, but still with many flavour combination discoveries, will invigorate yet relax you. And that is what I look for. Thank you, Nigel.

PS: The oat cookies are unbelievably good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat - The Little Book of Fast Food (Kindle Edition)
Don't get me wrong - I love Nigel Slater, so much so that I asked for this book for Christmas without having done my usual perusal in Waterstones. Recipes are ok - it is, after all, advertised as the 'Little book of Fast Food'. Fine, but with respect, I can put some tomatoes, cheese and herbs on top of bread and make a sandwich. Similarly, I can throw some meat/fish and veg/cheese on top of pasta in unspecified amounts and the end result is edible. To be fair, all the above would not have been an issue but for the layout of the book. As a right- handed person who learned to read in the Western tradition I found it disconcerting to begin a recipe on the right hand page and continue it on the left. I know that it was meant to break pre-conceived ideas, but, frankly, together with the 'recipe' ideas - (no measurements) it just didn't work. Sorry Nigel :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 107 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes, INFURIATING book., 11 Oct 2013
By 
M. Page "Matthew" (Chesham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eat - The Little Book of Fast Food (Kindle Edition)
Classic Nigel Slater recipes. If you like cooking and don't already have several Slater books, you're seriously missing out. Already tried a couple and as usual they don't dissapoint. Easy, tasty, readily available ingredients. But WHY, was this strapped together into a teeny brick thick notebook that will NOT stay open on the worksurface unless you weight it down with an anvil! I couldn't believe it when I unwrapped my copy. I'm not being picky for the sake of it I swear, it's infuriating! If they bring out a decent sized spineless version (ala Polpo which has set the standard for the way a cookbook should be put together), I'll buy it again, bin this one, and give it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More luscious recipes from Nigel, 30 Oct 2014
By 
Marand (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
To some extent, this book is an update of Slater's earlier book 'Real Fast Food' which he now sees as no longer exciting as the dishes in it have become mainstream over the years. Slater's approach though hasn't changed much – it is still very informal & relaxed, indeed at times vague about quantities & methods but there isn't anything very challenging in terms of preparation & cooking. Although the stated aim is fast food ('Real Fast Food' aimed to get a meal on the table in thirty minutes), the recipes in 'Eat' aren't always so quick to prepare, and some involved reasonably lengthy cooking times. I have most, if not all, of Slate's earlier books and I do think there is a fair bit of repetition in terms of recipes – similar but maybe with slight tweaks e.g. cannellini bean mash makes another appearance although the spiced version included is a lovely side dish.

Whilst I like many of the recipes, I really don't like the layout for several reasons. First off, I would prefer the traditional layout of a recipe with ingredients listed first and then a clear method, rather than having to pick the ingredients out of the recipe to check whether I have them in stock or in order to compile a shopping list. I also don't like that recipes involving similar ingredients are scattered throughout the book rather than grouped together. There are rather too many recipes for snacks e.g. sandwiches – I doubt I'll ever use these simply because when making a snack I'll use what I have in the fridge: its not something I'll think much about in advance.

To give you an idea of what you'll find in the book, here are a few recipes, some things I have tried and liked, others included to illustrate the variety of recipes: summer herb rolls; chilli spiced chicken rolls; tomato foccacia (enhancing pre-made or shop bought foccaccia); a nice Thai-style green veg soup. Vegetarians will find plenty of choice, and other recipes which can be easily adapted e.g. lentil bolognaise; a simple dish of spiced scrambled eggs adding in curry powder, cumin & red pepper flakes; aubergine curry; aubergine & thyme frittata; aubergine paneer; herb burgers (using flageolet & mung beans in place of meat); cauliflower cheese baked potato.

There are plenty of meat, fish & pasta dishes too: Paprika & mushroom chicken goujons, cod with lemon, tarragon & crème fraiche; duck breasts with cannellini beans & marsala; lamb with yoghurt & turmeric; lamb shanks with crushed root veg; chicken thighs with fennel & leeks; bacon boulangere; marmalade chicken drumsticks (quickly roasted with a paste of marmalade & mustard); stuffed chicken breast with smoked cheese & pancetta; salt & pepper pork; smoked haddock with lentils. There is a selection of stews involving a variety of meats including rabbit (several versions including one with asparagus, noodles & tarragon and another of slow-cooked rabbit with herbs); a nice lamb, garlic, paprika & tomato stew.

There are a few lovely side dishes/accompaniments - rice cakes made using leftover risotto; parsnip rosti, poor man's potatoes (nothing poor about the flavour), herb ricotta cakes, a really good quick spiced rice with edamame beans; root veg patties with a spicy tomato sauce; summer squash gratin although this could easily make a main course with the addition of green veg or salad.

Sweet dishes include chocolate oat crumble, Irish coffee trifle and some lovely oat & lemon cookies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a treat, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got the book yesterday and tried the sausage beetroot and carrot recipe It was delicious. As usual with Nigels recipes they don't look like they should work but the end result was sublime hardly any washing up and a lovely easy to prepare recipe
I am looking forward to trying out the other recipes
my favourite chef by a mile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 stars) Some delicious things but not always the most healthy, 24 May 2014
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Eat - The Little Book of Fast Food (Kindle Edition)
This is a very sensuous book which drips with Slater’s enthusiasm for food. But while there are delicious recipes in here, there are also lots which seem like a prescription for furred up arteries: large slabs of butter are melted into dishes, double cream and full-fat cheese are slathered and melted over things, and meat dishes include sausages, chicken thighs and wings – and there’s even a chicken-skin popcorn, almost a heart-attack snack.

My favourite things are the soups, salads and stir-fries, though the fig and goat cheese focaccia is simple, impressive and delicious, as is the shrimp linguine, and the eggplant (aubergine) and chickpeas. And the mango and passion fruit mess is just gorgeous.

So this is good for new ideas and has a very useful index. Do note, though, that it's vague about measures and technique: we need to throw things in and decide quantities for ourselves. While there are some meat-free dishes (the roasted vegetable rice is lovely) they’re in the minority. For anyone concerned about healthy eating, though, this needs to be used with awareness and caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not what I expected, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really like Nigel's T.V. programmes but this book was stupid. I am only on soups and already I have come across the following ingredients: ponzo sauce, bresaola, quince paste, labne, galangel, mirin, pearled spelt!! The recipes may only take a short time to cook but the shopping would take hours. Does he really think these items are easily come by? And anyone on a budget would not be able to afford them anyway. A complete waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eat - The Little Book of Fast Food
£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews