Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and absolutely enjoyable
Every now and then, each year, a certain manga suddenly appears in the spotlight and becomes popular. Not just that, but so popular everyone seems to know and talk about it. The question then, for everyone, is whether said manga is actually worth reading and lives up to the hype it has caused – something which is quite uncommon considering how this typically works...
Published 7 months ago by Clay R. Haase

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
i havent read this my self i purhased it for a gift
Published 3 months ago by mrs s.l.j.mills


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and absolutely enjoyable, 30 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Attack On Titan 3 (Paperback)
Every now and then, each year, a certain manga suddenly appears in the spotlight and becomes popular. Not just that, but so popular everyone seems to know and talk about it. The question then, for everyone, is whether said manga is actually worth reading and lives up to the hype it has caused – something which is quite uncommon considering how this typically works for series. The popularity of Attack on Titan (Shingeki no Kyojin) is undisputable, but worth the read? I certainly think so, as I will explain below.

Written by Hajime Isayama, Attack on Titan is one of those series which against all odds, presents an original concept and makes it work. Its story is simple: a threat has befell humanity as ‘Titans’ appeared out of nowhere and drove humans to near extinction after they began devouring one person after another. In order to avoid total annihilation and rebuild society, humans have been forced to live in a small section of the world where three walls defend them from the Titans devouring them.

The manga focuses around this premise, along with how the humans fight against the menace that the Titans suppose. The story of Attack on Titan develops beautifully. Not only it is an original concept, which hasn’t been seen a lot in this media, but it also plays and develops it well. Despite the concept behind the story having been played down in the past by other similar apocalyptic series, this doesn’t apply to it. It not only focuses on the sheer horror that the human-devouring Titans present, but also on the very real human society which still exists and attempts to rebuild itself. Attack on Titan succeeds in not leaving any of these elements behind, and paints a clear picture of its world as a whole via its story. It leaves no elements behind, and doesn’t let its complexity bring it down. The story of this series is amongst the greatest that I have seen, and a real pleasure to follow.

One of the elements which I like the most of Attack on Titan, however, is its art. Not only is it beautiful, but it manages to convey exactly the sheer horror the Titans present. Though it appears strange at times, this only makes it all the better, as it represents fantastically all which the story represents. Not only the emotions of the characters; but also glory, courage, sadness, happiness, and finally horror precisely when it is required to do so. It completely memorable, and probably amongst the best that I have had the pleasure to read in the last years. It mixes with all of the elements of the story perfectly, and instead carries them forward.

The character cast is wide, well-developed, and complex. They all have motivations and are truly products of their world. They are incredibly human, not only the main protagonists (Eren, Mikasa, and Armin), but also the other secondary ones. None seem to fall into the typical stereotypes one might imagine, something welcome. But best of all, is how the author treats the characters as the plot develops. There are no qualms about what happens to them, or how events affect them. Whether characters live or die, they do so in a way which is not only completely natural to the story in the manga, but also in a way in which a reader is immediately marked by. There is no ignoring any certain character, or little events. Everything is relevant, and the author certainly succeeds in conveying this.

These elements make Attack on Titan an incredibly enjoyable read. Not only is the story original, but the way it is drawn just makes it even greater. Hajime Isayama presents everything in the most realistic and human way, whether horrifying or courageous, and it is something which made reading Attack on Titan a truly enjoyable experience from the very start. There was no point at which I was bored, and instead I could only continue reading it.

Attack on Titan certainly lives up to the hype behind it – a rare occurrence considering how this usually is not the case – and does not disappoint. The way in which all its elements converge make it a truly enjoyable experience, which I recommend for anyone who is interested in manga or good fiction at all. It works perfectly, and I can’t wait to see how Hajime Isayama will continue to deveop it in the future. Attack on Titan is in every way, awesometacular, and fully deserves a rating of 5/5 and a complete recommendation. To not read it would be to miss a truly great work of fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 26 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Attack On Titan 3 (Paperback)
Attack on Titan is a brilliant manga, check out volumes 1 and 2 before picking this one up though. Lots of heavy gore and violence but it all just adds to this thrilling manga trust me and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack On Titan 3 (Paperback)
Great series in all aspects, the art style, the storyline, it's just so good I need to read them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing title!, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack on Titan 3 (Kindle Edition)
How could another race breach all humanity's defences? Well, if the invaders are 15 metres tall and super strong, easy! Join a team of recruits as they regain humanity in ATTACK ON TITAN. A rating of 16+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Attack on Titan = Fabulous Titans!, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack On Titan 3 (Paperback)
I am a huge Manga and Anime fan and I have been putting off reading this Manga, as I thought it might just be 'overrated' due to all of the attention that it received last year... I was wrong, the attention was fully deserved!

The story is intriguing and I have not read anything like it before. The art style is different from what I would normally like but, it has grown on me and suits the style of the story very well. The characters are all great, the main three, Eren, Armin and Mikasa are brilliant and I cannot wait to see how they develop as the story progresses. I will most certainly be purchasing more of the series and watching the Anime as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic and outstanding!, 8 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack On Titan 3 (Paperback)
I loved it from the first page it's an awesome Japanese story plot by Hajime Isayama. The story and characters are all on point. Things that differentiate this manga series from others is its realistic portray of humanity emotions. It certainly captures the essence of human fear of unknown danger, which is caused by the fearful man-eating Titans. Now I'm also following the Anime series which I also describe as the best of 2013 and one of the best of all time! EPICNESS!!!
Contains Gore so I wouldn't recommend it to teens younger than 13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A++, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack On Titan 3 (Paperback)
Huge fan of the series loved the anime and loved the manga too. Will buy more as soon as they bring them out. Epic story and epic characters a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack On Titan 3 (Paperback)
Was really interested in the anime so I had to buy the manga.The manga is as great as the anime and is a really well drawn manga with a great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best new mangas out there., 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack On Titan 3 (Paperback)
Anyone who has read the previous 2 volumes should know that this is a great new series and continues to improve volume by volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab books, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack On Titan 3 (Paperback)
My son loves these books, so I will be buying more for the story to continue, very happy with the product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Attack on Titan 3
Attack on Titan 3 by Hajime Isayama
£6.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews