Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sound and sensible, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pushing the Limits! Total Body Strength With No Equipment (Kindle Edition)
Anyone who has watched Al Kavadlo on you tube knows that this man walks the walk when it comes to calisthenics, in this book he shares his wisdom on three standard exercises, the push-up, the squat, and the bridge. Sounds too basic? Think again. Kavadlo will be your guide to maximising your performance on these exercises so that you will, if you are consistent in following his advice be way beyond average in performance after a few months. I have come to believe that the basic well known exercises performed well are all you need for physical fitness and strength, everything else is mere fluff. If you have this book and the Convict Conditioning books with perhaps Mark Lawrence's You Are Your Own Gym, you have the tools along with your own body to maintain superb physical fitness for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Read and a Reference Book for Life (or at least a very long time), 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pushing the Limits! Total Body Strength With No Equipment (Kindle Edition)
It is a book on bodyweight exercise, but more importantly it is on the logical progressions between each exercise. You see bodyweight exercise is just like any other sort of exercise, at some point lifting your body becomes pretty easy and you have to knock out quite a few reps before you feel that “burn” … so one way of stopping you from having to do 200 pull ups (if only) is to make the pull up harder somehow.

Some people might put some weighted belt on and pull up wearing that, and this definitely works! But this book is more about variations of exercises rather than adding weight to your bodyweight workout.

Al provides you with variations to make the standard bodyweight exercises easier and harder … and there are a lot of variations let me tell you! Which is why it turns into a reference book after the first read through (glad I got an eBook of it now).

Near the end of the book, Al provides you with a list of exercises or workouts that you could perform to start with … everyone’s number one question really “what do I do to get stronger?”. However it is Al’s philosophy, or at least my take on it, that exercising should be seen as fun and a game and not something that is so strict … Fancy running around and doing some parkour type exercises, or mixing up your pulls with a headstand, if it feels like fun then just do it, it’s probably better for you this way. Which is why it is always great to find a like minded partner to train with, you’ll likely be friends for life!

Also you can check out his YouTube channel "Al Kavadlo" which is packed full of useful information and examples of exercises!

Thanks for putting this book together Al, we appreciate it!
All in all I give Al’s book a 5 star rating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pushing the Limits! Total Body Strength With No Equipment (Kindle Edition)
What can I say? Al Kavadlo is truly an inspiration to all who want to ditch the free weights in favour of body weight exercises.
A truly enjoyable read - makes you want to get off your butt and dive right in.
Do yourself a favour. Buy this book if you're interested in body weight training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple but effective, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pushing the Limits! Total Body Strength With No Equipment (Kindle Edition)
Simple but brilliant most people can't do these exercises but once you start the results are amazing will change your thinking when it comes to training
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pushing the Limits! Total Body Strength With No Equipment (Kindle Edition)
This remarkable guy has transformed the way I look at training and keeping fit and strong. Pushing The Limits sets the bar in terms of calisthenics/body weight training and I cannot recommend it enough. Anyone familiar with Al's work will know from the posts on youtube, this guy performs extraordinary feats of strength and athleticism through the application of his approach to body weight training. I was past 50 years of age before I threw in the towel with isolation training and started following Al's approach. Following a body weight approach to training has transformed my physique and my levels of strength and sense of well being way beyond anything I achieved with weights, smelly gyms and fingerless gloves! Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well Balanced, 27 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pushing the Limits! Total Body Strength With No Equipment (Kindle Edition)
One of the best books on bodyweight training for strength I have read. Add in the tension equals strength insights of Pavel from Naked Warrior and the gymnastic knowledge of Sommer in Building the Gymnastic Body, and you would have the perfect calisthenics triad in your library - that said this book could well stand alone, but not everyone has all the answers. Nicely presented with inspiring gritty photos and well written. A job well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great training guide, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pushing the Limits! Total Body Strength With No Equipment (Kindle Edition)
This book is very inspiring, it really makes you appreciate the skill of bodyweight moves and inspires you to progress as far as you can
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any training library., 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pushing the Limits! Total Body Strength With No Equipment (Kindle Edition)
An information packed read that will enable anyone to train safely,effectively and hit all their training goals using bodyweight moves only. The ultimate in convenience and time efficiency training. I consider this money very well spent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pushing the Limits! Total Body Strength With No Equipment (Kindle Edition)
Al Kavadlo has a great way of explaining bodyweight exercises and this book covers many of these exercises.
Great read and very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great advice., 4 Sept. 2014
By 
Garry Richards (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pushing the Limits! Total Body Strength With No Equipment (Kindle Edition)
Another excellent good value book from Al Kavadlo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews