Customer Reviews


950 Reviews
5 star:
 (569)
4 star:
 (201)
3 star:
 (85)
2 star:
 (36)
1 star:
 (59)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'ONLY ONE CAN SURVIVE ?
Sometime into the future the repressive state of 'Panem' hold annual games, choosing two from each of the twelve states, a young girl and a young boy to take part in an elimination game in which only one can walk away.
The televised games are staged by the 'Elite' as retribution for past rebellions, a way perhaps to show who's in charge.
From district '12'...
Published 14 days ago by rbmusicman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read the books then watch the movie.
Good family movie, if you have read the books like i have you will realise that it missed a whole loads stuff from the book. I',m Not a big fan of the film.
Published 2 months ago by AppleEl


‹ Previous | 173 74 7595 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't live up to the hype. Predictable, weak character development, bland and full of clichés. Who did they pay to write the reviews any way. Glad I didn't pay out to go to the cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good gift, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a gift for a friend at Christmas - their opinion is very positive. Hope to get to borrow it in due course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not outstanding., 27 Jan 2013
By 
John D. Morgan "scouse55" (pontypool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The end did not justify the rest. which was engaging .

Maybe I'll try again in the future, and find it a better watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hunger Games DVD, 27 Jan 2013
By 
A. Ward "Tony Cussler Fan" (Kent England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Graet shows just what may be the Future for us all.Fast and Instructive as it Progresses Couldn't go to Bed had to watch it thro.
Excellent for Something new to Watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok film, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the story line was easliy read but an enjoyable film but did not really keep my attention 100% all the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An arrow right through you - will make a great impact!, 22 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Hunger Games

Based on Suzanne Collins best selling book trilogy, The Hunger Games stars Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen who volunteers to take part in the Capitol's annual Hunger Games, a game show where contestants fight to the death.

I postponed seeing this film as long as possible. I had finished the first two novels (which are both fantastic and readable in a matter of days if you're stuck for something to read) but I checked the film out and when the opening starts and we're thrust into the world of District 12, I was shocked.

The opening is something remarkable. It's great if unyielding from the truth of their poverty. District 12, run down where residents struggle for food and to make a living, but Katniss and her friend Gale (Liam Hemsworth) find escapism in their hunting. And when Katniss' sister is nominated for the games we see Jennifer Lawrence show why she is currently the most promising actress of these last 5 years.

Lawrence was a great choice to play Katniss. The character in the books is quite unusual, quite solemn but with hidden desires and energy that the young actress excels at. Her on screen peak is with Rue when in the arena, a heart wrenching exhilarating piece of acting combined with opportunistic film pacing.

The film starts slowly getting into the feel of the poverty of the districts but as viewers, when we see the world of the Capitol and see how perfect, classy and snobbish everything is we feel the pace pick up and we are right there with the contestants, in a world the Capitol controls where these young fighters have little say in their destiny.

The first book is very imaginative and is very well brought to the screen by director Gary Ross. The excitement and adrenaline really starts pumping when the arena is introduced. The resemblance to the events of the book is spot on, if not better. Katniss' independent tracking and thirst for survival are well shot, especially during the Trackerjacker sequences. The best part of the entire film is when Katniss is with Rue, the excitement and emotion in these scenes are fantastic and it's hard to express how well this works in developing their characters and holding the film and the rest of the story together.

When reading the books I had concerns over how Collins was working the romance angles, being a bit like Twilight with the love angles but this is nothing like that series. This is something calmer, less intense in terms of love and lust. Peeta (Josh Hutcherson) may be viewed differently by people. As the stories progress his character changes and Hutcherson portrays him very well and strikes up a good partnership with Lawrence that resembles their respective adaptations.

There are a few minor lapses and improvements. I only wish the fire sequence was a bit longer as it was in the book. Seeing Woody Harrelson as Haymitch was rather strange at first but it would have been great if he was included more during certain scenes!

This film is a great adaptation of a great book. The imagination Suzanne Collins has been wonderfully adapted for the screen with her vivid and controversial environment and ideas and with excellent performances, particularly from Jennifer Lawrence, the Hunger Games is a must watch.

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hunger Games Review, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like the dvd, however, I was dissapointed because the cover was not in English and so was different to how it was advertised. I would not buy another item from this company because of this. It was a present for my son so I didn't have time to change it and anyway, the company didn't offer this so it seems they weren't bothered that it wasn't as advertised. Fortunately the dvd's inside did play in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm..., 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a massive fan of the books, don't bother with the film as you will just end up crying. Don't get me wrong, it's a very good film, but just don't get your hopes up about it being perfect. They didn't include Madge, Rue and Katniss don't have much screen time and they deep fried Peeta in cheese. But then that's just my opinion. And actually I'm VERY exciteed about Catching Fire coming out :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hunger games, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i liked this film it had a good story line. I am glad I read the book first as the film story made more sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Mr M.F JONES (Milford, GODALMING, Surrey. U.K) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic --------- --------- --------- -------- -------- ------- ------- ------- ------ -------- ------- -------- --------- ------------ ---------- -------- ---------- --------- ----------
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 173 74 7595 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hunger Games [DVD]
The Hunger Games [DVD] by Gary Ross (DVD - 2013)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews