Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem
This is a really good album from Lloyd Cole. I'm delighted that he's decided to go back to recording with a band and writing songs in his old style, because this album is genuinely reminiscent of Rattlesnakes and Easy Pieces and of a similar quality to those two near-masterpieces.

The album opens with California Earthquake - a surprising choice (to me anyway)...
Published 12 months ago by Sid Nuncius

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What Happened?
Nothing compares to Love Story! I played that album to death, but this one naa!! It just hasn't got it.
Published 6 months ago by Jared Rashbrook


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Standards Exceeds Expectation, 2 July 2013
By 
S. Archer (Cary, North Carolina, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standards (Audio CD)
The new Lloyd Cole album, Standards, is what many would call a return to form. Back is the sound of the Commotions and early solo work, gone, for the most part, are the folk and country songs that have been so prevalent on his last few albums.

Standards kicks off with a cover of John Hartford's "California Earthquake". Hartford is described as "an American folk, country and bluegrass composer and musician known for his mastery of the fiddle and banjo", so my expectations were not good. It turns out to be a fantastic song, and a great opener. I never would have believed it.

Song number 2, and potential the second single after the excellent "Period Piece", is "Women Studies" that could easily have appeared on Easy Pieces. It's lyrically sharp witted and punchy. For Commotions fans this is truly a return to form.

Other standout tracks include the aforementioned "Period Piece", which is slower paced, but still very catchy, as well as "Myrtle and Rose".

The song "No Truck" is a grower. It could sit comfortably on the Love Story album. But I'm still trying to figure out what the lyrics "She will have no truck with me" means. Curious. But pretty.

As with other Lloyd Cole albums, the closer on Standards, "Diminished Ex", is a gem; the guitars are superb on this track, and while lyrically we expect the subject of the song to be a person (an "ex"), it turns out to be short for "diminished expectations". Nice twist.

All in all, a great album. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standards (Audio CD)
It's like a brand new friend coming over for a lost weekend then goes the perfect skin because of the forest fire, simply Lloyd giving us some good vibes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb album, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standards (Audio CD)
This is a fine album from a top musician!! Its even better than his old stuff. Check out tracks Women,s Studies, Myrtle and the Rose and silver lake, Amazing songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Strong Comeback by Lloyd, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standards (MP3 Download)
Very listenable album, found it on my playlist for quite some time now.
Strong both musically and lyrically.
Well worth the investment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Michael Harwood (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standards (Audio CD)
This is up there with his best. Takes a few listens though. LC must be the most under-rated singer/songwriter around. Can't wait to go see him again later this month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full of great songs., 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standards (Audio CD)
I thought this was a strong album full of good songs and a nice rocky sound. I have already listened to the album many times and I am still really enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best Lloyd Cole EVER, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standards (Audio CD)
B rilliant! best Lloyd Cole EVER! In a vintage year this is the best. Cant wait for the next! Right on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Lp, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Alan S. Waldron "dustbowlsinger" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standards (Audio CD)
Every song on this Lp is of a superb 'standard' . I love the vivian westwood shirt you wear - why don't you ever let me wear it. great line - tongue in cheek lyric. hails back to the early 80's where the best shirts were blouses!

There are plenty more lyrics which resonate, are witty, clever and a delight to listen to. The melodies are really strong on each and a testament to the new energy the band format give the songs. I would say this record is better than broken record and for me Lloyd is peaking. Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars intelligent, melodic rock, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standards (Audio CD)
At a recent live show Lloyd Cole told the audience he'd surprised himself by creating such a loud rock album, in contrast to the more folky style of his solo sets. It's a classic of melodic songs and intelligent words. Track 4, Myrtle and the Rose, is a beautiful account of a doomed relationship (something of a Cole default setting). This characterful set of songs might appeal to fans of Neil Hannon (Divine Comedy).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best from Cole in recent years, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standards (Audio CD)
STANDARDS see Lloyd back in good form like the Commotions days - good songs and a really good rockin' band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Standards
Standards by Lloyd Cole (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews