Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and hypnotic singing and guitar, such wonderful lyrics too, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vagrant Stanzas (Audio CD)
Everything I have come to expect from Martin Simpson, he is getting better every album, or is just different and so continuously engaging?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good one, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vagrant Stanzas (Audio CD)
What can I say even if youve heard the songs many times before please give this a go it is heavenly traditional but very easy on the ear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Refined and earthy - brilliant, 9 Oct 2013
By 
B. Arthur "Brian" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vagrant Stanzas (Audio CD)
This collection shows Martin in his prime. It could be his best work to date.
His excellent vocal phrasing and expressiveness are spiritually wedded to the songs. As an instrumentalist he has a unique and refined touch. His Tone, range of timbre and dynamics are masterful. He plays finger-style accompaniments which are seamlessly woven into the vocals using guitar or banjo. He interpolates some exquisite slide guitar in places, sometimes plucking head-side of the slide.

There isn't a mediocre track on the CD and as I listen new favourites worm their way into my ears. A few highlights are 'Diamond Joe' with banjo; 'Delta Dreams', an atmospheric road song; an elegantly crafted reworking of a great Dylan song I had forgotten, 'North Country Blues' - plus ca change, plus c'est la meme chose.

I went to see Martin in duo with Martin Taylor at Ashington folk club on Sunday 06/10/2013. Now I'm a big fan of Martin Taylor, but here's not the place to praise him. The duo worked beautifully together and they plan to record a CD together so watch out for it. On the night Martin Simpson sang three songs from the deluxe version of this CD; a superb version of Dylan's 'Blind Willie McTell', 'Waly Waly' and his own song telling the true story of two heroes of Gallipoli, 'Jackie and Murphy', a Geordie and a donkey respectively, written at the insistence of June Tabor. They saved over 300 wounded under deadly fire. The donkey got a medal but the man was denied a posthumous VC for being nominated "under the wrong category of heroism." In the highly unlikely event that I was ever so brave as Jack Simpson Kirkpatrick, I'd rather have the song thanks.

I bought the CD on the night on the strength of this song alone. Do as I did, buy the deluxe limited edition with an 8 track bonus CD of equally wonderful material before it sells out. It's cheaper too on Amazon!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another superb collection from Martin Simpson, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vagrant Stanzas (Audio CD)
Martin has produced some very fine albums in recent years and this is another one. His skill as a guitar and banjo player is unsurpassable, he has an incredibly smooth technique, with an economy of movement on the fingers of both hands which is well displayed in a youtube clip published alongside the albums release. But what makes him one of the all time greats is the way he crafts his songs and arrangements. I was lucky enough to get the 'deluxe bonus' edition which has a second cd with an additional 8 tracks which includes a sublime reworking of a previously recorded ballad 'Fair Annie' and a Dick Gaughan inspired version of 'The Green Linnet' where Martin shows himself as one of the few folk guitarists who can really make the electric guitar work well with great subtlety in traditional music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vagrant Stanzas (Audio CD)
Bought it for my ex - he loved it and uploaded it for me too. It is a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martin Simpson - at his best., 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
His playing and voice are just increadible. Listened to it constantly over the past few days and it gets better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as usual!, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vagrant Stanzas (Audio CD)
Bought for my OH, who is delighted as ever with the music of this master of the guitar. And he's not a bad singer, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac6e59e4)

This product

Vagrant Stanzas
Vagrant Stanzas by Martin Simpson (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews