Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive step by step book
Great for those who wish to experiment in creating texture in their work.

The illustrations are inspirational and at the same time the book is a comprehensive 'how to' manual for both the beginner and the experienced artist who wishes to branch out into other methods of experimentation.
Published 12 months ago by ACD

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Step away from the elder!
A bit breathless and new agey for me; the book recommends that for inspiration I should try "stroking the wrinkled face of an elder".

Could be a useful book for someone new to art as it has step by step guides to creating works, some rather good, some abysmal (such as old buttons and dolls stuck to canvases). Happy accidents indeed.
Published 12 months ago by Mrs Book Pig


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Step away from the elder!, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit breathless and new agey for me; the book recommends that for inspiration I should try "stroking the wrinkled face of an elder".

Could be a useful book for someone new to art as it has step by step guides to creating works, some rather good, some abysmal (such as old buttons and dolls stuck to canvases). Happy accidents indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the idea of 'not being quite right', 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a bit too way out for me in the practice of it, but could relate to the theory. I now can look at things from a different angle now, perhaps that is what the book was intending to do. Most of the samples were based on encaustic paint, which means buying a whole selection of another media. But I will certainly use some of the ideas in my own work with the media and techniques I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive step by step book, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great for those who wish to experiment in creating texture in their work.

The illustrations are inspirational and at the same time the book is a comprehensive 'how to' manual for both the beginner and the experienced artist who wishes to branch out into other methods of experimentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wabi-Sabi Workshop, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book very different to the norm exploring the many aspects of Mixed Media Techniques.
Will thoroughly enjoy reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well illustrated, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit too American biased in my opinion, but gives the reader new ideas that may not have been thought of before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 10 May 2014
This is just another mixed media techniques book of which there are an abundance I was looking for more wabi sabi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book., 10 May 2014
By 
Hazel Vicary "Hazel" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an interesting book. I wasn't quite sure what to expect from it as I have only recently come across the wabi-sabi idea. It can be a little bit 'precious' in places but I think it is interesting to go through and I am glad I bought it and will doubtless turn to it now and again for the various techniques and ideas it contains. Don't expect deep and meaningful though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wabi-Sabi Art Workshop, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a star book! So much more than an art workshop - who has heard of wabi-sabi before? Beautiful poetry; different perspectives on creating art; being 'free' to follow your dreams plus, of course, some how-to instructions. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews